We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oldwalls Gower
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairyhill(Reynoldston)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Culver House Hotel(Port Eynon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Miramar Hotel(Llanelli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vista Hotel(Llanelli)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
194
59
34
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
59
34
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuewedding breakfastbride and groombeautiful venuewonderful weddingson's weddingwedding receptionevening buffetunderfloor heatinglittle toucheswedding guestsfollowing morningwelsh breakfastdouble bedmulberry houseaccommodationmarquee
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights towards the end of November. The staff couldnt have been more helpful or attentive, from a free upgrade to exclusive use of the hot tub and sauna - it made an already special stay even more so.
The whole place was spotlessly clean and it really is the ideal location if you want to escape and relax with the Gower coastline's glorious beaches and fantastic views a short drive away.
The breakfast was brought to us in our room and was a feast fit for a king and queen, which is pretty much how we were made to feel during our stay.
The Greyhound is a short walk and is perfect for a quiet drink and some good home cooked food.
This is a perfect venue and i'm sure we will definitely return.
A thoroughly memorable few days.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ivy Cottage - perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed here a couple of weekends ago with our dog as we wanted a weekend of exploring the Gower and going on some nice long walks. I do worry a little when we take the dog as you never know what the "dog" accommodation will be like, but at Oldwalls it was lovely. You wouldn't have known that a dog had ever been in there. We had a lovely room which over looked a lake with our own patio area and outside furniture. We had underfloor heating which my dog seemed to love! The staff were lovely and very helpful, and the food at breakfast was very good. We went to the Greyhound for dinner one evening and took the dog but turned out we had to leave him in the car which was a shame as there was a rugby game on in the bar area was full, and dogs aren't allowed in the restaurant. Would highly recommend Oldwalls and would love to go back. We went on some stunning coastal and beach walks. We also saw the Marque set up for a wedding and it looked stunning. If I wasn't already married I would consider this for a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Gemma B

Thank you so much for your review - it was lovely meeting all of you and I am so pleased you found the rooms lovely. Extra care is taken with our pet friendly rooms.

I hope it wont be too long before we see you again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We booked with living social so it was cheaper than usual, we paid £99 for two for one night, due to difficulties by both parties, we had the dates extended and actually didn't use the deal for almost a year, however we eventually stayed last weekend, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, the place seemed to be newly built by the look of it, so it was very smart And modern, the breakfast was served in an adjacent room over looking a small lake, the usual cereal, toast, and cooked food was available, oldwalls is set in a pretty location with a tennis court and small wooded area, the greyhound pub is about a 10 min walk away and served great food with a good atmosphere, llangenith beach is about a 10 min drive away, so if your looking for a quiet weekend with a nice beach not far away this is a good choice. One annoying thing was the walls between the rooms seem quite thin and we could easily hear our neighbour talking at normal level thankfully they were just talking!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazyhorses111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Crazyhorses,

Thank you for writing your review, it is lovely to meet you both. We look forward to seeing you again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed here for the weekend . First impressions were great beautiful accommodation which was spotless, warm and comfortable . Staff were very helpful and sweet but they do need to move into the 21 century in terms of atttention to detail and response times .
Breakfast was a bit of a problem with a table that had not been cleaned, having to ask for crockery and then having to wait 45 minutes for breakfast. Not good considering that there were only 5 other couples having breakfast.The waitress checked to see if everything was ok while we were at the table but didn't clear the empty dishes away from the centre of the table. On the second morning no breakfast table prepared yet again and used dishes that had not been taken away on a number of tables. Surely they know how many guests they are expecting for breakfast ??? Not rocket science to do the numbers.Small details that could be rectified by a quiet word from management but make a big impact on customers . Would I stay again probably.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Gizzip,

Firstly thank you taking time to write your review and I have to agree our accommodation is beautiful and the setting is lovely.

With regard to breakfast, I am sorry you found yourself on a table that had not been set up. Usually we set up tables for all our guests and then stagger the breakfast times to ensure nobody is waiting. That said, we have altered our process and have an extra staff member aswell to ensure nobody is waiting for their table or breakfast.

We would be delighted if you visited again.

Warmest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is an unusual review since I haven't stayed at Oldwalls yet. A family member has a wedding reception at Oldwalls in November and we booked a suite ensuring there would be enough room for 5 of us. However, Oldwalls contacted us for payment and check on the numbers. I asked if the 'put up' bed could be placed where there would be space, only to be told they don't have extra 'put up' beds and could we bring an airbed. I was a little bemused by this but said yes and asked if the linen could be left in the room for the airbed, I was then informed that there would be an extra charge for this linen. When the room has a £175 price tag for 1 night, plus additional charges for an extra breakfast (which is 'par for the course' I suppose) this is very poor service and therefore I cancelled the room and will drive instead. I guess it's a fabulous area and lovely looking hotel, as long as you fit into their criteria (of 2.4 children and no elderly frail parent!).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ChelleyBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accommodation2000, Manager at Oldwalls Gower, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear ChelleyBabe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I must confess to being disappointed that you have written these comments without giving me the opportunity resolve your predicament.

We have a number of suite's available for all our guests but with our weddings, the rooms are allocated by our Bride & Grooms - perhaps you could liase with your Bride & Groom to see if you are able to swap to a suite that sleeps upto 6 people.

If this is not an option, we offer our guests the opportunity to bring an airbed . We already supply extra beds in the suite - which is built into the cost of the suite. As with most guests houses and hotels - extra beds are chargable, we are no different. However, to reduce the cost we offer our guests the opportunity to bring their own airbed and sleeping bag so they only have to cover the cost of the extra breakfast. If you would like to use our linen, we would request a small charge to cover the cost.

You will find most places will not offer this service and insist on a charge for the extra person. To date, we have never had negative feedback regarding this service, infact we have had the opposite reaction.

If you would like to contact me directly on 01792 391468 I would be happy to see if there is anything we can do to assist you. It would be a shame for you to miss the opportunity to share this very special day with the Bride and Groom, your family and friends.

Kindest regards

Jo-Anne Purnell-Rees
Accommodation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews