We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location, lovely property”

Review of Chequers

Garden and sea view from raised deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden and sea view from raised deck
Chequers from the garden Open Plan Lounge/Kitchen/Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Garden and sea view from raised deck
Chequers from the garden
Open Plan Lounge/Kitchen/Dining Area
Lounge
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Bathroom (with thermostatic showerbath)
Bathroom
Shower room (with thermostatic overhead shower)
Enjoy your meal or let the children play whilst you soak up the views
Raised Deck
Steps from garden onto extensive enclosed deck
Yes, those blobs are rabbits!  See if you can drag your kids away from watching them - we can't
'Pixie wood' at bottom of garden. Great for Easter Egg or treasure hunts!
Freshwater East Bay
Carew Castle and Tidal Mill
St Govan's Head
St Govan's Chapel
Broad Haven South Beach - ideal for families
Stack Rocks on the Castle Martin Peninsula
Carew Castle
Freshwater East Beach just a short walk away and perfect for families
Castle Martin Peninsula - a beautiful section of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path
Enjoy tea and cake at Stackpole Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater East, Pembroke, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JoannaFar...
Warten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Fabulous location, lovely property”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Chequers is a delightful bungalow in a lovely location. Surprisingly spacious, particularly the kitchen, which is normally very small in these places. The kitchen was also very well equipped. Very nice living room space (important to us, as it was February - in the summer you would be out on the very large deck mostly!) and a lovely big dining table. Two bathrooms is a definite bonus. And the enormous garden was super for my eleven year old to play in on the few occasions when she wasn't down on the beach (five minute descent to the dunes). Very thoughtful of the owner to provide such a wide selection of books and dvds, catering to all tastes. No need to bring anything to read or watch with you - honestly! I have only two slight negatives. 1 The mattress in the back double bedroom really needs replacing. I woke with backache from the pronounced dip in it. 2 Slightly softer cushions on the dining table bench would be nice, particularly as there is no back. If you're over a certain age (!) it gets uncomfortable quite quickly. But these two points are totally outweighed by the many postives. I would definitely recommend this property and I would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location!
Liked least: Mattress
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Chequers and glad you had a lovely stay and found everything you could need. We do try to make it feel like a home from home and were very sorry to hear about the mattress. We were not aware of a problem with it until you brought it to our attention after your stay and will most certainly resolve this. Regarding the bench seating at the dining table we are in the process of trying to source suitable cushions. We realise there are no backs to the benches and we did add two oak dining chairs with backs on last year to cater for those who would find this more comfortabe. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you to Chequers again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dconvey
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic property, fantastic location and things to do for children”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic property, fantastic location and things to do for children

We went to five different beaches, two were absolutely amazing and the other two were good two.

Two local castles were great too and Folly Farm ideal too.

The property is really very good

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property and location.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horse2311
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“U cannot fail to b impressed & feel at home at Chequers”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

With storms forecast Sue contacted me to ask if I'd like to postpone our visit, but we came anyway. The car broke down just a mile or 2 from the finish line.... Ed rescued us and helped us limp to Chequers. (The car was taken back to Coventry on a relay wagon after the holiday.)
From the moment we stepped through the front door it was like all the troubles and cares of the world were lifted from us. Well appointed, warm, cozy, clean, so well organised and thought out. Sue had even put a fresh pint of milk in the fridge. Though it's a few years old now, it felt like new home specially designed for us, and this was our first nights stay.
Clearly it has been loved and cared for not only by Sue & Ed but also by every family that has had the pleasure of staying here over the years...
Though we did venture out for an hour or 2 each day ..... And all the way to the beach..400 yrds, not just to the pub next door. (Real ales & local cider ;-)
It was nice to know we had a warm safe haven to retreat to, to view the storms and waves through large south facing windows.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartonAla...
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Pembrokeshire”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Very difficult to add anything to all the other good reviews - they have said it all. Would thoroughly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious living area.
Liked least: Sofas a bit too soft for my bad back!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The newness of the decor and furnishings
Liked least: Lack of sea view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wiltshire
Reviewed 31 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing