We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cambridge Diaspora”
Review of Portclew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portclew House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Trouble free email reservation. Warm Welsh welcome.Very large room by modern standards,spotlessly clean,overlooking the front lawn & comfortably furnished. En-suite facilities complete.Breakfast served by Sarah on weekdays,husband Stephen on weekends - everything one would like (except porridge in the summertime) cooked to perfection.Attentive,unobtrusive service with a chat & radio4 in the background - "home from home" without the work! Faultless house-keeping.We wanted to extend our stay,alas, they they were fully booked.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cycl0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed in one of the self catering cottages at Portclew House, The Hen House, which is for a family of five.

The accomodation is first class, was clean, well designed and a fabulous place to stay for our holiday.
Our kids loved it, the owners were extremely helpful and freindly, and we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this property to anyone thinking of staying in it.

All in all it is fabulous accomodation, in a great loaction, in a fabulous part of the country

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed four nights in Bullpen cottage which was more spacious than the photos suggested. Very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. Weather was good but should imagine it would be warm and cosy out of season too. Nice to return to after a day out. Only drawback was not having a private sitting out area. We had our own seating but this was in the courtyard which was ahared with another cottage so not quite the same but didn't spoil things. Would definitely return and recommend and thought it amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Davina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This beautifully restored manor house provided fabulous accommodation which was tastefully furnished to a very high standard. The house is ideally situated as a base to visit the various beaches and places of interest in Pembrokeshire.

The dining room mirrors the high quality of the bedrooms and the beautifully cooked breakfasts were the ideal start to each day. Moreover the family who own and run the hotel take the opportunity when serving their guests to impart valuable local knowledge which can be used to maximise the day ahead.

I would thoroughly recommend Portclew House whether it is for a business trip, family holiday or weekend break; you are guaranteed to receive a professional and warm welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Stayed in this lovely b&b for 2 nights and we couldnt have asked for better.Very friendly and helpful owners,a lovely setting and a very good breakfast -what more can you want.
Would definately recommend to all.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobsmum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

This is a really cute b&b. Our room was really spacious and spotlessly clean. The decor was slightly old fashioned but inkeeping with the age of the house. Good location near to the beach and really quiet and peaceful. The family were very friendly and we were made to feel really at home. Exellent value- we would definately come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsW10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

We loved this place, the house itself has been beautifully restored and dates back to the late 1700s. The rooms are beautifully proportioned and the dining room has the most lovely high ceilings and tall glass windows and yet it isn't a bit stuffy, the owners are really helpful. Breakfast was substantial and beautifully cooked. I have never said this about anywhere before but I actually think the room rate is a bit on the low side compared to other B&Bs in the area. Only a few B&Bs are awarded "Great Liitle Places of Distinction, Wales" status but Portclew has deservedly so (http://www.little-places.co.uk/hotel.php?ID=8).

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ytrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portclew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portclew House

Address: Freshwater East, Pembroke SA71 5LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Freshwater East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater East
Price Range: £86 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portclew House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Mansion is set in 3 acres of grounds with five self catering cottages of varying size. The seven ensuite bedrooms all have tea/coffee facilities, TV, hairdryers, trouserpress etc. On more pleasant days the Aga cooked breakfast can be served on the balcony. We are situate just a stone's throw from the beautiful bay of Freshwater East and connecting the coastal footpath. This is an ideal location for families, couples or business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Portclew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portclew House Freshwater East, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing