We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Portclew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portclew House
Hoechberg, Germany
1 review
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Wonderful historic building, spaceous rooms, conveniently close to the beach, quiet location, excellent breakfast, very warm and welcoming atmosphere and a lovely old dog to guard this gem :) Sadly we were touring Wales and couldn't stay longer but we'll definitely stay there once we're in Wales again. Cuddle Jet, the dog on our behalt, when you're there :)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Found this B&B 9 years ago and vowed to return (usually a no-no for us) when next in Wales.
Not disappointed with same warm hospitality from Sarah and her son (didn't see Stephen this time). Spotlessly clean, superb buffet breakfast (everything on offer), PLUS cooked course to order. Traditional property; not modern; grand but very homely. Car essential, esp. for evening meals. Very helpful tips for local walks/visits - we have to agree with Sarah's choice of favourite beach: Broadhaven via the lily ponds and allow time to do the circular walk (clockwise is best) to the beach. Use the coastal shuttle buses if walking the Pembs Coast Path - tip: ride to START point and walk towards your hotel/car. We found amongst our 7 hotels (not B&B) in 2 weeks' touring, standards were iffy and this was our best value stay, having a real "feel good" factor. (Can't comment on the self-catering side in separate farm-style buildings).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve41Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed some days there in Freshwater East with our son who has his own very small room. Our room was very clean and spacious, sadly without a table to sit and write some cards.
But nice enough to return after the whole day out...Unfortunately there was no sitting area outside, we missed some deck chairs to relax in the sun, we only could sit on our beds...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Trouble free email reservation. Warm Welsh welcome.Very large room by modern standards,spotlessly clean,overlooking the front lawn & comfortably furnished. En-suite facilities complete.Breakfast served by Sarah on weekdays,husband Stephen on weekends - everything one would like (except porridge in the summertime) cooked to perfection.Attentive,unobtrusive service with a chat & radio4 in the background - "home from home" without the work! Faultless house-keeping.We wanted to extend our stay,alas, they they were fully booked.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycl0ps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed in one of the self catering cottages at Portclew House, The Hen House, which is for a family of five.

The accomodation is first class, was clean, well designed and a fabulous place to stay for our holiday.
Our kids loved it, the owners were extremely helpful and freindly, and we wouldnt hesitate to recommend this property to anyone thinking of staying in it.

All in all it is fabulous accomodation, in a great loaction, in a fabulous part of the country

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed four nights in Bullpen cottage which was more spacious than the photos suggested. Very clean and well equipped with everything we needed. Weather was good but should imagine it would be warm and cosy out of season too. Nice to return to after a day out. Only drawback was not having a private sitting out area. We had our own seating but this was in the courtyard which was ahared with another cottage so not quite the same but didn't spoil things. Would definitely return and recommend and thought it amazing value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Davina2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This beautifully restored manor house provided fabulous accommodation which was tastefully furnished to a very high standard. The house is ideally situated as a base to visit the various beaches and places of interest in Pembrokeshire.

The dining room mirrors the high quality of the bedrooms and the beautifully cooked breakfasts were the ideal start to each day. Moreover the family who own and run the hotel take the opportunity when serving their guests to impart valuable local knowledge which can be used to maximise the day ahead.

I would thoroughly recommend Portclew House whether it is for a business trip, family holiday or weekend break; you are guaranteed to receive a professional and warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater East
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
6.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
6.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portclew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portclew House

Property: Portclew House
Address: Freshwater East, Pembroke SA71 5LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Freshwater East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portclew House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Mansion is set in 3 acres of grounds with five self catering cottages of varying size. The seven ensuite bedrooms all have tea/coffee facilities, TV, hairdryers, trouserpress etc. On more pleasant days the Aga cooked breakfast can be served on the balcony. We are situate just a stone's throw from the beautiful bay of Freshwater East and connecting the coastal footpath. This is an ideal location for families, couples or business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portclew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portclew House Freshwater East, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing