We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mini break”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portclew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portclew House
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great mini break”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Family short break. Lovely surroundings , great welcome ,very handy for the beach.
Will be back perhaps for longer next time.
Family room was big enough for two adults and two children.
Only suggestion that could improve facilities would be are to wash/dry area for wet suits?

Room Tip: Free wi fi is always a bond these days
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Have stayed at Portclew House for the second time. Was just as good as last time. A really friendly welcome by all members of the family. The breakfasts are superb. Perfectly placed for all the stunning Pembrokeshire beaches. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Bartolomeu de Messines, Portugal
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed last weekend due to a friends birthday being held locally.
Lovely place - fab welcome and would definately recommend. Not far fom the beach - if you like to walk up hill - but worth it! Staying here you are near pembroke and Tenby with loads of other places to see to enjoy the wonderful countryside and coast of Pembrokeshire. - Enjoy

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueBridgend_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

This guest house could never be described as dirty. I recently sayed in this extremely quaint guest house for 2 nights with my family in the family room which accommodates 5. We were extremely happy with the cleanliness of the room, the view over the garden and fields, the breakfast and what must be the best laid out tea & coffee tray we've ever seen! It's just a short walk to the loveliest bay and the grounds are beautiful. The owners are very friendly and we are already planning our next weekend there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollypops70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

During May Day weekend my husband and myself took my mother to Pembrokeshire for the weekend on a trip down memory lane as she lived near Haverfordwest until she was 8. Two other relatives joined us and I booked Portclew House for our stay. What a beautiful house and the welcome we received was so friendly and the owners are so helpful and friendly. Our rooms were beautiful, large, extremely well decorated and spotlessly clean. My mother had a single room which was small but her view more than made up for that. The breakfast was plentiful and there was something for everyone. We will definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Very beutiful in great location. Stephen's a very nice gent and Sarah is a tiger. I lost my phone and she got it back. She's sweet as can be, but a tiger so don't get on her wrong side :) Great place!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

A lucky chance find, as the venue we initially tried was fully booked. As it turns out, we were very pleased, and somewhat relieved, as we visited the 'other place' and could immediately sense that we had a lucky escape.
The room was large. clean and well-decorated. The en-suite was a good size and well equipped. The owners were welcoming and friendly and the breakfast was generous and freshly cooked.
I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkCommonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater East
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
6.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
6.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,143 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portclew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portclew House

Property: Portclew House
Address: Freshwater East, Pembroke SA71 5LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Freshwater East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portclew House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Mansion is set in 3 acres of grounds with five self catering cottages of varying size. The seven ensuite bedrooms all have tea/coffee facilities, TV, hairdryers, trouserpress etc. On more pleasant days the Aga cooked breakfast can be served on the balcony. We are situate just a stone's throw from the beautiful bay of Freshwater East and connecting the coastal footpath. This is an ideal location for families, couples or business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portclew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portclew House Freshwater East, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing