We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean, with good hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Portclew House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portclew House
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Simple, clean, with good hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

the hotel is great, the rooms are well kept, and the breakfast is quite generous and well cooked

the couple (apologies i forget their name) who run the house are also very helpful and informative

my only issue staying here was the distance from the beach and being without a vehicle i really should have stayed somewhere else.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
37
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penarth
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a really very good quality & extremely comfortable B & B in a great location on the edge of Freshwater East. The whole accommodation has been superbly renovated with good size rooms including excellent furnishings. Very comfortable beds offering a great night's sleep.
The breakfasts are full of local produce & sets you up perfectly for the day.
If you visiting the area you will not find a better B & B around.
Sarah will make you very comfortable.

Room Tip: We were on first floor & enjoyed the balcony area in the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

I stayed here for just one night. It was lovely. The family who run it were all very pleasant and very helpful. The room was spacious, clean and light. We were given good instructions as to where to visit, and how to find our way - which wasn't as easy in the dark coming home, but we made it eventually.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms probably have a good view over the lovely pastural landscape. Perhaps at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flitzaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albans
Level Contributor
134 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed in the Coach House and the Dairy (four and three bedroomed self-catering accommodation). We had four adults and children ranging from 18 to 6. The accommodation is very high quality, comfortable, and well equipped, although not at the luxury end of the market.

The self-catering cottages are set in the grounds of the main house which acts as a B&B. The cottages were all full when we were there but there is no sense at all of being on top of other guests as the arrangement of the cottages (in old outhouses converted by the owner) is such that there is always a good level of privacy, and the area is very quiet and rural.

Freshwater East is within a short distance of the most beautiful beaches in Pembrokeshire (Broad Haven, Barafundle, Freshwater East itself) as well as close to both Tenby and Pembroke. There is excellent walking and cycling in the area.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomGSt_Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

If you want a quiet & peaceful B&B on the south Pembroke coast Portclew House is ideal, it's close to one of Wales' best kept secrets Barafundle Bay plus other sandy beaches perfect for families. The bedrooms are large & airy with lovely views, the bed was comfortable, bathroom as you would expect and the breakfast nicely presented.
Nice to see swallows & house-martins catching insects. The weather was hot & sunny which helped enjoy our stay. For evening meals Stackpole inn & Lamphey hall are good value & near by.
Hospitality was very friendly

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We have been to Portclew House on two occasions and have found both to be fantastic in terms of quality and location. The B&B is a short 15minute walk to the beach and to a fantastic little pub with excellent food. The overall ambiance is one of old Welsh charm and is perfectly run by a husband and wife team. Nothing is too much of an issue and they are excellent sources of local knowledge and can advise on the best places to go and see.

The breakfast quality far outstrips any of the hotels I have stayed in before with a good array of yogurts, cereals and lovely cooked breakfasts. As it's all cooked to order it's done how you like it.

Overall this is another place I would highly recommend for peace and quiet even with a small family! The wonderful location and local attractions make this part of Wales the best!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent a week in the Hen House cottage at Portclew after friends has raved about it for several years and continued to return again and again.
What can i say, we had a fabulous week. The weather was lovely, as was the setting and the activities available locally for the kids. There are several pretty beaches within a shortish drive, including freshwater east beach itself.
The accommodation itself has all the facilities of home, there really isnt anything you else you could wish to have. The owners Stephen and Sarah are friendly and amenable, and made every effort to resolve the one issue we did have during our stay.
We will be returning here next summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsOggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater East
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamphey Court Hotel
6.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
6.8 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portclew House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portclew House

Property: Portclew House
Address: Freshwater East, Pembroke SA71 5LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke > Freshwater East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portclew House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand Georgian Mansion is set in 3 acres of grounds with five self catering cottages of varying size. The seven ensuite bedrooms all have tea/coffee facilities, TV, hairdryers, trouserpress etc. On more pleasant days the Aga cooked breakfast can be served on the balcony. We are situate just a stone's throw from the beautiful bay of Freshwater East and connecting the coastal footpath. This is an ideal location for families, couples or business people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portclew House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portclew House Freshwater East, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing