We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs much improvement”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
thessalinoki
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs much improvement”
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I just came back from staying there.Its location is good,close to the airport.The biggest problem was the bed.It wasn't a normal double bed,it was smaller.Two heavier types than us wouldn't sleep.The breakfast was NOTHING.Some bread,strawberry jam and... that's quite it.You had to pay to use the A/C another 5 euros per day.So that's 35 euros a week extra.Towels and sheets change,as they say,every 3 days-we stayed there for 7 days and they changed it only 1 time,so that's more.When we got there the toilet paper was used and it was already half.When it finished no one bothered to replace it so went to the reception and asked some more and they did gave me.ONE-only one.But it was clean.....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Kefalonia is a great holiday island with the perfect mix of activities for any would be holiday maker. We stayed at the Blue Horizon hotel in Svoronata due to booking a last minute deal based on the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. We understood this to be a quiet resort as flagged by the numerous reviews here, however this does not tell the whole story. The whole area of Svoranata is quiet due to a heavy decline in tourists coming to the area. This is predominately on account of the recession - one restauranteur told us he would employee 7 waiters in peak season, this has been reduced to just 3.

Given the lack of tourists visiting the area it is almost as if the hotel staff at the Blue Horizon have given up. At one point of the holiday we were among four rooms in use, surely with so few rooms to maintain clean towels could be provided each day (given the heat you tend to take more frequent showers and it is a little disappointing to use the same towel multiple times) in the week we were there the towels and sheets were changed just once.

One of the features of the hotel is a large swimming pool, which to the hotels credit is very clean, granted it does not get much use but it is diligently maintained with the wasps and moths fished out by staff. What is disappointing is the disused pool bar which is situated beside it. In my view the hotel would make more money through using this and offering drinks to guests by the pool. The staff seem to make an effort not to interact with guests (something some visitors may like) but I think the atmosphere could be lifted if the staff were a bit more interactive - they could certainly make more money if they offered drinks to guests by the pool,

Our final gripe with the hotel is the standard of the breakfast. Understandably, we were not expecting luxury, but the bread on offer we found to be stale, the processed ham and cheese off-putting and the stale tea/coffee undrinkable. In the rooms, breakfast is priced at €4 per person per day and the offering does not give you value for money based on local competition.

Deals aside the standard room rate including air conditioning (+€5/night) is €60 a night. The Ammes located down the road with rooms twice the size and aircon included is only €50 a night peak season.

In summary the Blue Horizon Hotel has the potential to be a good hotel, with it's lovely coastline views and clean pool, but the level of service could be drastically improved.

For most resorts on the island car hirer recommended to see the true beauty of the island. We managed to get a good deal with Greekstones in Svoranata but there are plenty of hirer companies so shop about if you have time. As mentioned in previous reviews when flying home it is worth arriving early to the airport and checking in your bags, then making the short walk to the Ikarus bar just by the airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We booked this trip last minute and this hotel because of the excellent price and previous reviews. We are regular travellers to Greece ( first time to Kefalonia) so we knew what to expect and weren't disappointed. The previous post was added while we were away - so we must have overlapped there. Just goes to show how people's experience and expectations differ. Anyway, the hotel is airy, very clean and Kosta and Nikos very friendly. Kosta in particular would join us for lively conversations in the late afternoon after returning from the beach. The hotel was quiet -but we spoke to quite a number of other guests over breakfast, for afternoon drinks and in the evening and heard no complaints. The location is a bit off the beaten track but our room had a lovely view to the sea and it was only a ten minute walk to Ammes beach and five minutes to Ammes restaurant and pool bar. The Pool bar does excellent lunchtime snacks and baguettes to take away ( useful for the beach and the trip home). In the evening we ate at Ammes restaurant and Muses piano bar which is about a 20 minute stroll up to the village- special mention here as Muses was excellent value at 20 euro for a delicious meal with a litre of wine! For evening drinks La Calma/La Loca does great cocktails and we even took part in a Salsa dancing lesson. The hotel bar is empty in the evening as guests go up to the village or down to the Ammes pool bar. However we often returned for a nightcap and a chat with whoever was around. In all an excellent, peaceful relaxing week. Just a few tips - hire the aircon ( 5eur a night) - no mozzies and an excellent nights sleep. Taxis to and from the airport were 15 euro - even though it's only 5 minutes - couldn't haggle them down. You are very close to the airport here so if you worry about low flying aircraft it's not for you. To us - we found it fascinating. There weren't that many flights and none in the night. Breakfast is very basic, but at the price we paid we can't complain - if you need a full english then stroll down to Ammes pool bar. On your return to the airport, the trick is to check in 2 hours before, but don't go through to departures. It's a tiny airport with limited facilities - look on the board at the ETA of your incoming flight then stroll up the road to the lovely little hotel about 100 yards outside the airport gates and have a drink on the balcony and watch your flight come in , then go back to go through passport control and security, you should have enough time for last minute duty free before you walk straight through and out to the runway. We had a 2 hour delay coming back so we were really glad that one of our fellow guests in the Blue Horizon told us this - or we'd have been stuck in departures for four hours instead of an extra afternoon in the sun with lunch and drinks. Would we go back? Definately.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Great location for travelling the Island. One beach not to far to walk to the other is further and you will need to be able bodied as there are approx 65 steps to the beach. Nice pool at the hotel although very hot with no breeze and only 1 of the 3 pools are up and working. Rooms are typical basic Greek rooms, were cleaned daily, beds were most uncomfortable we were told that these were being changed though. Stunning views from your rooms. Breakfast was fine a typical Greek continental. Staff were friendly enough and helpful when you needed them. It is a family run hotel 2 brothers and a brother inlaw who do shifts from morning untill the eve the hotel was not open untill late as it was very quiet. This suited us and many of the guests staying.

We booked our deal independently on the Internet and got a very good deal for the money we paid we were not dispapointed and we had spare money to hire a car. A tip if you do greekstone car hire are near the super Market they are a fraction cheaper and have a web site to. They will meet you at the airport with a car on your arrival or meet on your departure. You
may do as we did hire the car for the later part of your holiday and drive yourselves to the airport. This saves you 15 euros and enables you to get to the airport when you are ready.

The island is stunning in some areas and we never got to see others. Svonronata was lovely as a retreat and a break however I would not say beauty as some of the Island offers.

The Blue Horizon was a great deal for basic needs at a great cost surrounded by blue sky, blue sea, great walks, nice places to eat and friendly people so book it!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BacardiKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
international globe trotter
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Clean, basic and uncomfortable beds. Hotel looked empty on arrival, and was only one third full with few guests. Pool area, although clean, was bare and characterless, that is no plants or colour of any kind. Pool bar abandoned! Breakfast consisted of stewed coffee, bread and melba toast with one type of jam, we gave it a miss as local Bakerys are a treat. Island is beautiful and so we only slept in this hotel and spent as much time away from it using the car we thankfully rented. No one was unfriendly nor was anyone friendly. Bar empty at night but no surprise as no character whatsoever and no eating facilities. Big let down with this hotel, but beautiful Island to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taco-gonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Svoronata hotels

Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked our holiday at the Blue Horizon several weeks before travelling & had some great advice & tips from another TA member. (Thank you Nicky)
The hotel was as we expected, clean & basic & the staff were extremely friendly & helpful in every way they could be.
The big surprise for us was that we were the only two people staying at the hotel!! In fact the hotel would have closed for the season on the day we arrived had it not been for our booking.
I must stress that at no time did the staff make us feel like this was a problem for them... but for us it was very different to any other holiday we have been on. Unique in fact... to have an entire hotel to ourselves... and we certainly had undivided & individual attention!
The Blue Horizon is well situated for walks to tavernas, restaurants & beaches all of which we found to be lovely. The area is peaceful & relaxing & a great base to tour this beautiful island.
We enjoyed watching the planes coming & going from our balcony... They were not so frequent as to be a problem.
Breakfasts could possibly be improved by some variation, but were as expected.
Transfers (by taxi) were a bit of a rip off!! We paid 17 euros from the airport & 20 to go back!! (3 kilometres max) Next time we would hire a car to collect from the airport for the duration of our holiday, as everywhere is easy to find & the roads & hotels are (fairly) well sign posted. Greekstones car hire were very helpful & can be booked in advance on their website.
Finally, in summary, we had a great holiday!
I think that being the only two guests meant that we got to know the staff, particularly Costas, who was our evening host, really well & we enjoyed our late night conversations with him & thank him for his hospitality & humour.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, value for money, location of hotel.
  • Disliked — Nothing major to dislike.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catford
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Me and my boyfriend spent a week at Blue Horizon and I would definitely recommend it.

On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a very friendly Nikos, who then showed us to our room. I had booked a twin room with a sea view, and had emailed Nikos prior to arrival to confirm we had a room with a sea view. His prompt reply told me he had reserved a double room with a sea view, and when we arrived, we were not dissappointed.

The room was large enough, and the shower was ample. The view from our balcony was great. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is fairly close to the airport, so we had planes flying past our balcony. This did not bother me in the least, as I love planes!!

We booked a hire car from Hertz in England, and collected it at Kefalonia airport. Cost for 8 days was £145.00, and then you pay 50 euros for a full tank of fuel. A car is recommended, as Kefalonia is a beautiful island to explore. We went to a different beach everyday, starting with Myrtos beach, which is beautiful.

All in all, I would recommend Svronata for a relaxing holiday. Its a great base, whether you decide to drive around the island, or just spend your time lazing around the pool. There are two beaches within walking distance, Ammes and Ai Helis, both good beaches. The planes fly over Ammes beach, which didnt seem to bother anybody on the beach. If you havent guessed, I loved it.

We also visited Makris Gialos beach which is near Lassi, I would say this was my favourite beach.

We didnt eat at any of the local tavernas, choosing to drive into Lassi and try different tavernas. On our first night, we went to Butlers House. The food was ok, but we didnt visit that one twice. Our favourite place to eat was called Faidra (spelt Phaedra), and we ate at two other restaurants nearby to Faidra, but I cant remember what they were called. The fod was good, and the staff friendly in all the tavernas.

There was no entertainment whilst we stayed at Blue Horizon but that didnt bother us, as we were returning quite late every evening, and sitting on our balcony. We went to the hotel bar once, and it was a good atmosphere. The other people in the bar are regulars and we didnt feel left out. Again, Nikos was helpful and when I asked for a spare pillow whilst I was drinking my wine, he went and got me one straight away.

This hotel suited my boyfriend and I perfectly, as it was quiet, with great views. Also very relaxing. I would definitely stay there again, and I would recommend it to anyone. If you need any questions answered, please do contact me.

  • Liked — Great view and location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky40Catford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.0 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.0 mi away
Karavados Beach Hotel
Karavados Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Karavados
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
492 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barbara Studios Svoronata
Barbara Studios Svoronata
#1 of 12 in Svoronata
222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ammes Apartments
Ammes Apartments
#4 of 12 in Svoronata
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: Svoronata 28100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing