We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and cramped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barbara Studios Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small and cramped”
Reviewed 29 October 2008

We stayed at the Barbara studios in Svoronata.When we arrived there was no reception, we were not asked our names and were shown to a room in which another women was using.The room was very small. It had three beds,one small sink with two cooking rings and a fridge underneath.With such little utilities,this meant we were eating out every night, an added expense, although the restaurants were very reasonably priced. There were three adults in my party and we found it very difficult to share the small space, sleeping and eating in one compact room.The shower was so small you could'nt turn around,although you always had hot water. Luckily we were situated on the first floor and had a balcony, the guests on the ground floor had to sit outside their apartment door if they wanted to escape their small, badly lit room. Our balcony was very spacious and private, so you can imagine we spent most of our time reading and relaxing there. We were giving clean towels upon arriving at the apartments, however they were not changed throughout the entire duration of our stay.

The good side to our holiday was the incredible island. It was beautiful and the beaches were fantastic and the clear blue sea was so inviting. The boys running the bar on the beach were very friendly. The restaurauts offered a wide range of dishes each of which we totally enjoyed, the service was good and the people very friendly. Staying at the Barbara studios has not put us off returning to this beautiful island, however we will certainly be staying somewhere else.
If you have visited the Barbara studios website, which we had, unfortunately the apartments do not remotely resemble those shown on the website.

  • Liked — the private balcony
  • Disliked — Small compact room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    55
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
130
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

Just come back from Kefalonia. Allocated appartments on arrival and ended up in Svoronata. This location is basically next to the airport.
First impressions wrere not good, it seemed that there were only 2 or 3 restaurants and a couple of hotel bars.
Dont despair if you end up there. I was in the Paradise appartments. Great rooms and nice pool. There is a network of footpaths and you will soon discover some lovely rtestaurants and Tavernas. Check out Crazy Georges bar for a great night.
Chris Ash

Helpful?
7 Thank villafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2006

We have just returned from 2 weeks stay at Barbara Studios in Svoronata. The pool is gorgeous and the surroundings delightful. However, the first week we were put into one of the ground/basement level rooms and we were not at all happy - there was no balcony or private outside sitting area - we could only sit outside the door and the only window had people walking by to the pool so no privacy. Other people who were placed in these rooms also complained. Fortunately we were able to move to the first floor for the second week and we were extremely content now that we had a triple aspect balcony. Another downside was that we found the toilets in both apartments rather stained, so we bought bleach and resolved that problem. Also the fridges in both apartments were not working effeciently because they were so choked up with ice, so we defrosted them. I hope the people who followed us in to each of the studios were grateful!! I also felt it was about time they renewed the towels. Another point to make is that you really need a car in Svoronata, if you want to visit other parts of the island - we had a good deal from Greekstones.

  • Liked — Pool and surroundings
  • Disliked — ground floor studios
  • Tips/Secrets — make sure you ask for a studio with a balcony on the lst or 2nd floor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trishabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay at the barbara studios. Yes the rooms are a little small but we had 3 adults per room comfortably. The showers were lovely and hot and powerfull. The pool area is lovely and the bar served basic snacks and cold beer in frosted glasses. The restaurant next door Porto Hellis was the best in the resort. The beach a mere 10 minute walk were the sea is crystal clear and remains shallow for a long way out, also a beach bar and a couple of pedaloes. 6 euros for 2beds and a parasol. The mozzies and flies were sadly far too many and got badly bitten and needed treatment on my return home, but please dont let this put you off. I would gladly return. Friendly, relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable.

  • Liked — surrounding area
  • Disliked — mozzies
  • Tips/Secrets — beware the mozzies
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank L.Mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2006

Barbara Studios are a good budget accomodation. Barbara and her family were very helpful and always eager to please. In short, service with a smile! Rooms are basic, but clean and offer all the essentials for a self catering vacation. The pool is not realy suitable for very small children, but there are two beautiful beaches just a short walk away, though Hellis beach, with eighty five steps, is not for the faint hearted!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Billypooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 March 2006

Since our first visit in 2000 we've been back twice, always around the Whitsun holiday period (late May/Early June) when the season is just starting to pick-up.

We originally picked Svoronata because of it's location off the beaten path and Barbara's suited our needs and budget perfectly, particularly because the village is so quiet and because of the lack of activities for kids doesn't tend to attract families. This is perfect for us as we just look to get away from the noise.

Choice of local restaurants is excellent (3 within two mins walking distance and more a little further off), particularly "Fois" which is found down the sideroad opposite the appartments in the direction of the Helis beach.

As for the appartments, they are named after the owner who works very hard and is very proud of her property. She can appear to be a little brusque but don't let this put you off as she has always been very friendly and greets us like long lost friends when we go back.

The rooms are indeed small (as mentioned in other reviews) but as the appartments are generally graded 'Unclassified' you would be right to expect basic facilities - which is what we did, so we were not disappointed. We have always found the rooms to be clean

We have heard neighbours criticise the lack of light in the rooms but, to be honest, this is perfect for controlling the temperature of the room in the middle of the day when it gets hot.

One point to note, again in line with other comments, is that some of the rooms have windows which open onto the pool side of the appartment block. These rooms are likely to have more problems with Mosquitos than the others on the ground floor.

The Bar/Restaurant/Shop next door has most you will need for self catering and the owners are great. The supermarket up the road offers more fresh produce but the best choice (if you have a car) would be found in the shops in the capital Argostoli. For car hire try Greekstones (5 mins walk up the road) and ask for Rubina.

Best beach is a 40 mins walk! Certainly worth it though and it helps offset the effects of all the fantastic food we tend to consume. We usually get a car for three or four days in the fortnight in order to explore the usual haunts. Much better than the coach trips which are very slow. The rest of the time is on foot getting away from it all.

We would absolutely recommend this for a no-frills escape to a fantastic island. I am only a little hesitant because of our temptation to keep it a well kept secret just for us!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 October 2005

My husband and I stayed at Barbara Studios for the last two weeks in Sepetember. As most of the accommodation in Greece is basic that's what we expected. We found our apartment clean but basic. Linen and towels were changed twice a week which I thought was very good. We waged a war on the mosquitoes and flies! This is the first time I have been seriously bitten by mossies and I found them a real nuisance!
We didn't spend much time round the pool area but the little time we did we weren't impressed by the bar service. All in all we had a wonderful holiday and Svoronata is so peaceful and quiet - just the place to recharge your batteries. Kefalonia as a whole is the most beautiful of the Greek Islands and we will be visiting again in the future.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.4 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Irinna Hotel
Irinna Hotel
#6 of 7 in Svoronata
139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#39 of 140 in Cephalonia
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baha Ammes Apartments
Baha Ammes Apartments
#3 of 7 in Svoronata
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avithos Resort
Avithos Resort
#1 of 7 in Svoronata
479 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sotiris Studios
Sotiris Studios
#1 of 5 in Svoronata
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbara Studios Svoronata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbara Studios Svoronata

Property: Barbara Studios Svoronata
Address: Svoronata | ai-chelis beach, Svoronata 281 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Barbara Studios Svoronata 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Barbara Studios Svoronata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barbara Studios Svoronata Cephalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing