We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer holiday 2014”
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Summer holiday 2014”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

4 ladies from Norway at the age from 15- 71 year. Stayed for a week at this wonderful place. The place is wery clean, silent and beautiful.

One of us got sick with a cold and feber on sunday. The young wonderfull staff gave us free medisin that helpt. Thanks for this, it helpt us a lot.

I hope to come back sometime

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sissel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    59
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
176
214
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Outstanding resort. On arriving, we only just mentioned that we were on honeymoon and immediately steps were taken to make our stay extra special. They upgraded our room with wine, flowers and canopy over bed. We were treated wonderfully. The staff were so friendly and Nikos went that extra mile to help us in every way. From the maid to the gardener to the lovely Christina on reception, everyone was so nice. The apartment had a very beautiful garden, with excellent air conditioning. The kitchen had everything you would require and if it was not there the staff would get it for you. It is a very quite resort, which we wanted for our honeymoon. The nearest shop is 10mins walk, as is the nearest restaurant. "Esperadies" which is in the middle of an beautiful orange grove, which sells its own special marmalade which has won a silver award this year. We obviously bought some for family back home. A 20mins walk to Avithos Beach which is quite to which is lovely for us, as don't like crowds with another two excellent restaurants. As we didn't hire a car, due to us wanting a completely relaxing holiday, Nikos even offered to take us to the beach for a meal and bring us back. We actually only had a lift to the beach once, as we like walking. There is no ATM there and the nearest is at the airport but Nikos will exchange currency at a very reasonable rate. Its that good that we are going back in September 2014

Room Tip: We didn't see a bad one. Didn't hear any complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed here for a week in June 2014 – and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

The accommodation was very comfortable (we booked a standard double room) – it had a handy well equipped kitchenette stocked with all the basics that you need for self catering. The room also had a nice balcony with lovely sundown views in the evening. The whole resort is spotless with a really nice pool and poolside bar.

But what I found set Avithos apart in particular was the friendliness of its staff. On our first night we arrived tired and hungry after a long Ryanair flight. Nikos (who manages the hotel) kindly gave us a lift to the nearest restaurant. Throughout our stay all the staff, from the cleaners to the hotel receptionists were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Avithos beach is only a ten minute walk away (it's a nice sandy beach with two beach side restaurants – both of which are good although the food in the higher up one is better!).

Argostoli (the main town) is only a 15 minute drive away (the shops seem to shut for a large chunk of the middle of the day – so go in the evening when the pedestrianised streets come to life with locals out socialising.)

We had a great time in Kefalonia – we went looking for a nice place to relax in the sun and that is exactly what we found!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got one looking out the back of the resort which was great because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoppyAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My partner and I have just returned, we booked for 10 nights. This place is faultless!! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel really welcome - it's the little things that Avithos sets apart from other hotels; the personal tour by Cristina as we arrived taking us into our room showing us the facilities and features. The accommodation is excellent we stayed in a standard room/apartment which was was spotless!!! Well equipped kitchen, bathroom with great power shower, fixtures are clean new and immaculate the standard of cleaning here is the best I have ever experienced in Greece. All the staff cleaners, maintenance, bar staff are friendly, going out of their way to make sure all your needs are met. The location is remote which suited us fine as we hired a car, the beach is clean and about a 15 min walk. We were so impressed that we have decided to book again something which in nearly 20 yrs of travelling all over we have never done. Special thanks to Nikos the Owner who provided advice, lifts, car hire, travel ideas! ice, basically everything and more. Highly recommended, this is an exceptionally well run Hotel - gardens, pool, location make it 10/10. Would not hesitate to return.
Thank you for a lovely holiday Elisa & Neil

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank em7001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great place to stay for a relaxing break, but if you want to explore the island and don't have a car, it might be rough.

Location: Located in a tiny village near Svoronata. 15 min walk to beautiful Avithos beach, along which you will find 2 tavernas offering affordable and delicious meals. About a 5 minute car ride from Argostoli and the airport. That being said, the hotel is far from nearly everything else. There is no public transport or buses of any kind running from Svoronata, so if you don't have a car and want to explore the island, I wouldn't recommend it. That being said, if you just want to relax by the pool or beach and not explore, the hotel is great.

Beach: Avithos beach is one of the few sandy beaches. The other ones are rocky. The water is crystal clear and stunning, perfect for families and adventurous swimming alike. The beginnings of the beach are pretty touristy (you can use 2 recliner beach chairs and an umbrella for 7 euros/day on the beach) or camp out with your own towels in an area a little bit up the beach which is more remote. Avithos beach is about 10-15 minute walk from the resort.

Nearby businesses: Since you're basically staying in a village, you won't have access to a ton of restaurants and businesses without a car. That being said, there are 2 great tavernas right at the Avithos beach entrance, one on top of the other, walking distance to the hotel. We ate at the higher one for all 3 nights and it was amazing. The owner of the restaurant makes his own wine, which was fantastic. All dishes were homemade. There's also a small convenience store/country mart about 10 minutes away from the resort where you can purchase sunscreen, cereal and other essentials.

Resort: The resort is beautiful and offers a ton of amenities. Great outdoor lounges, a nice pool, pool-side bar and other social areas. Even though there were families at the resort the pool area was generally quiet and free of commotion. The rooms had individual kitchens with all necessary supplies for making quick meals, everything was clean, bathrooms were immaculate and beds were comfy. Everything seemed to be planned to create a relaxing stay.

Service: Concierge is more than helpful in helping organize excursions around the island and regularly uses the resort car to pick up resort guests from various restaurants and attractions in Svoronata. Super helpful if you don't want to walk back in the dark (the roads have very few streetlights. It is a village.)

Overall: Great value, beautiful rooms and amenities. Everything looks new and clean. Convenient access to a gorgeous beach and a couple superb local restaurants. Not the best place to stay if you're planning to explore the island without a car as the resort is pretty remote, but if you have a car booked, you're all set.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ysolovyova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We’ve just returned from a fantastic holiday staying at Avithos Resort. I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kefalonia.

The rooms are fantastic, we stayed in a superior studio which was the most basic of the room options but it was still a very large room with a large terrace area, a lovely bathroom with a proper shower not just a hole in the floor! The room also had a kitchenette, sofa bed, dressing table, desk, tv etc. The rooms were spotless and the cleaners kept the rooms so clean throughout our stay. From speaking to other guests at the hotel I believe that all of the rooms are beautiful!

The people working at Avithos Resort are all a huge asset to this hotel; the cleaners, the bar staff, the reception staff and the hotel owner Nikos. Every one of them is so genuinely friendly and cannot do enough for you to make your stay perfect.

While we were staying at the hotel they upgraded their wifi and it now seems to cover a larger area – we could get good wifi in our room.

The swimming pool is the cleanest pool I’ve ever seen, it’s very large and perfect if you want to swim some lengths. There are a range of sun beds round the pool with umbrellas and there were always sunbeds available even when the hotel was quite full as people tend to also go to the beach or out sightseeing, so no need to go out with the towels at dawn!

We loved the location of the hotel, as it was really peaceful and the local beaches were some of our favourites – Avithos beach and Ammes beach. I would recommend anyone staying there to get a hire car though (which can actually be booked through the hotel, we didn’t realise this and had already booked one) to make the most of all the wonderful restaurants in the local area and to enable you to go around the island. We were recommended some restaurants by other guests at the hotel and they were all amazing - Elionas near Spartia, Avithos Taverna (also known as Preview), O’Milo’s on Ammes beach, Dum Spiros – on the main road in Svoronata, Butlers House in Lassi. Sto Psito also in Lassi.

There is a mini mart nearby which sells a large variety of food and drink for you to stock up your fridge for breakfast and lunch (if you choose not to go B&B) and there are also plenty of shops in Lassi which sell food and drink out the back behind the souvenir’s and beach bits.

We visited the following places in the car and I would recommend them all –
Argostoli (if you go to the harbour around 10am when the fishing boats come back there are huge loggerhead turtles around the boats)
Assos
Myrtos Beach – we didn’t go directly on the beach but took photos from the viewpoint on the road, very beautiful!
Fiscardo
Agia Efimia – we hired a speed boat from here using yellow boat hire which was great – bear in mind that the price they quote is plus fuel, they usually say people tend to us 20-30 euro of fuel.
Drogarati Caves and Melissani Lake – 5-6 euro entry for each one and well worth the visit.
Mount Ainos – the view from the top is breathtaking.
Antisamos beach
Makris Gialo’s beach in Lassi
We loved Ammes beach as the beach is fine sand and sea is beautiful and really shallow quite far out also the runway is right at the end of the beach so the planes go right over you, quite entertaining!

I definitely intend to come back to this hotel in the future, it will be very hard to match it if I was to go elsewhere! I can see why many of the guests return each year as this hotel gives you everything you could possibly wish for!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VickyB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

This was an excellent place to stay as a base. The staff could not do enough for you and the cleaners kept the place one of the cleanest I have stayed in.

Now for some reality checks here amonst all the positive reviews...it is located in the middle of nowhere so unless you have a hire car forget it. It is quite a walk to the nearest supermarket in the heat of the day. The best restaurants are at the beach..(only 2 there) ....another trek.

I am partially sighted so can't drive and the roads are poor for walking along.The hotel had no handrails up the open stairways to the upper floors and were difficult to manage especially when It rained and the steps became lethal.

Families with children and teenagers mentioned that they were bored so if you want a quiet holiday this is definitely for you...I like quiet but I also like to have somewhere to go within walking distance.

Not for me I m afraid.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank JLT3411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Odyssey Hotel
Odyssey Hotel
#1 of 6 in Agia Efimia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leivatho Hotel
Leivatho Hotel
#36 of 140 in Cephalonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Property: Avithos Resort
Address: Avithos Village, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing