We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under 2 stars”
Review of Avithos Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Avithos Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Certificate of Excellence
Djakovica, Kosovo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Under 2 stars”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean, the staff is ok , but the distance to the Avithos Beach is more than 2km as said in the hotel website..Its a nice beach, but you have to pay 7euros per 2 chairs.. This place is for older people and not for teenagers, teenagers dont have what to do in this resort there is nothing interesting for them.

I also forgot, they have bad bads in the world, not appropriate for people who want to relax...No Sauna, the wake-up service dont work, no jacuzzi, NO THING INTERSTING,


So if youre going with family I dont recommend to you

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Argjend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikosAvithos, Owner at Avithos Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2011
Dear Visitor

Thank you for your criticism in our hotel, we do learn from your comments in we try to improve,it is true that our target group is not teenagers but families and couples.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    60
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
180
222
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2010

In general it is a decent, quiet resort ("resort" is an overstatement) but way too expensive, at least for what we greeks had to pay in August ("August" is the greek excuse for ripping you off) They are offering a good location, nice rooms (bed sheets were too short for the beds though), nice swimming pool, low quality breakfast, not very thourough cleaning and receptionists who would rarely turn their head to greet you when coming in or going out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meluAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Avithos Resort is a great place to stay in Kefalonia.We travelled from Athens and we stayed there for a week.The Resort is located in Svoronata ( which is in the middle of the island) and you can visit both South and North sides of the island. Avithos and Ai Helis beach are located very close to the resort and they both are great sandy beaches.
The staff in the resort is very friendly and they are ready to serve you at any time.The rooms are very carefully built and they are also very very clean.Amazing pool in the centre of the hotel,Nice Pool Bar and good breakfast in the breakfast area just next to the pool.
Ideal for families and couples.
You definetly need a car to go around Cefalonia which can be arranged though the resort and the friendly people working in the reception
Definetly going back next year...

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIke74Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece-Halkida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The location was close to Argostoli . Rooms very big ,we had a maisonete ,with two big verantas .Nice ,hapy and well done colors all around .Perfect gardens all around with litle paths .The pool very big and safe with very kind service from the stuf any time . Breacfast plenty boufet with fresh things . A very nice and big like livingroom with many lether sofa and a bar . Priice acording what we get .

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiorgosK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

We arrived at the resort to find the swimming pool had been emptied for cleaning and were told that it would take two days to fill. It actually wasn't ready for use for 6 days so we had one day of our holiday when we could use it. Also the "facilities" of snack bar and lounge bar were all closed. There was no apology or offer of a reduction in price. It was very quiet as only our party of four were in the whole resort. Wouldn't bother staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poopsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed in a 2/3 person studio, upper flat facing olive groves on the seaward side of the complex.

The first week in particular was very peaceful as only one of the other studios on either side was occupied.Studios are large and apart from a lack cooking implements,well equipped. The pool was large and never really crowded and the grounds well tended.

We found the tavernas around the spread out community cheaper to eat in, than seafront ones in Argostoli. Esperides in the orange grove provided excellent value. In the heat,a walk toAvithos beeach could be too much forsome,other beaches nearby definitely required transport available.

We liked the area as it was quiet,but if you need more diversions on site, this is not the place.If the weather is cooler there are little communities up the hill towards the main road,which have tavernas within walking distance, the nearest supermarket is a long walk away if carrying a packof water.

Apparently the Avithos Resort are not tied to Thomas Cook next year, they probably feel they can fill the rooms with internet bookings and tourists closer to home,some Greek visitors had obviously driven as had Swiss and Italian guests. We would go again; but the weather grew EXTREMELY hot, we witnessed three forest fires in the area during our stay and if we had the choice we would visit again inSeptember (as advised by a local), even although we have visited the island before at this time.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank reffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Svoronata
0.8 mi away
Astra Village Hotel & Suites
7.2 mi away
Apollonion Resort & Spa
Apollonion Resort & Spa
#1 of 11 in Lixouri
781 reviews
15.4 mi away
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Kefalonia Bay Palace
Kefalonia Bay Palace
#4 of 6 in Agia Efimia
259 reviews
3.8 mi away
Dionysos Village Resort
24.9 mi away
Emelisse Art Hotel
Emelisse Art Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fiscardo
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avithos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avithos Resort

Property: Avithos Resort
Address: Avithos Village, Svoronata 28083, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Svoronata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Svoronata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avithos Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avithos resort is an apartment style hotel built in the traditional Kefalonian style, set in spacious gardens and grouped around a large freshwater swimming pool. The resort is located in southern Kefalonia close to Avithos beach, 10km away from Argostoli. This is a lovely, fertile region where olive trees and citrus orchards abound. The coastline faces the tiny island of Dias and offers magnificent views to the island of Zakynthos across the channel. The resort's location makes an ideal setting for a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avithos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avithos Hotel Svoronata
Avithos Resort Svoronata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing