We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try harder!”

The Kings Head Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bungay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Bungay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We visited the Kings Head and Queen Jules for an overnight stay on a Saturday, as we were attending a Christening the next morning. We decided to splash out for the 4 poster room, and were surprised when a £20 surcharge was added for a Saturday night stay in October ... I used to live in the area and Bungay is not a top tourist destination!

When we arrived the Hotel (which I could remember from 35 years ago) turned out to be a typical old English coaching Inn that had seen better days. The carpets are worn, plaster is missing and wires are exposed on the walls. The carpets are worn, stained and have definitely seen better days. Having arrived at 16.00 on a Saturday we expected some life in the place, but not a bit of it. The Bar was closed, and we only gained access to the Hotel by luck. We were told that nothing opened until 7pm.

The room itself was a good size, but so many little touches that don't need money to get right were missing/wrong. For example, glasses had been left out for use but the insides were encrusted with dishwasher salt - we couldn't believe that the person putting them out had missed how dirty they were. The shower room was small, and the shower had a note on it saying that it was a cold feed and to make it warmer turn it towards the off position ... when we actually used it the opposite proved to be the case, with the effect of making me very wet and cold. The complimentary tea and coffee was provided in tupperware tubs and milk was provided in a jug, to sit all night unrefridgerated. Whats wrong with using the usual sachets? The furniture had seen better days except for the new flat screen TV.

The bed proved a disappointment. Although it had a very good quality mattress (very deep) it was a soft style and was uncomfortable. Furthermore the sheets were just a bit too small and subsequently I awoke in the middle of the night with the sheet having ridden up and me lying directly on the mattress. I hate that in a hotel! The curtains were also hopeless. The Hotel faces onto the market square, directly opposite some sodium streetlights. Consequently the room was not in darkness all night. If the owners tries sleeping in the rooms they would ensure that proper blackout curtains were installed.

Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before by completing a form. We spoke to the chap and emphasised (as well as writing on our sheet) that we needed breakfast promptly at 8am (the earliest it was available) so that we were at church on time. The next morning we went downstairs to find the Hotel in darkness. No lights were on, doors were locked and there was no table set for breakfast. After waiting 15 minutes I rang both owners mobiles (no reply) and knocked on the door marked private (again no reply). Finally the chap arrived puffing saying he had failed to set his alarm. I cant believe that any place that aspires to be a hotel can have no one on duty at all by 8am.

Breakfast when it arrived was very tasty, but ruined for us because we had to eat quickly and go straight on - we arrived at Church with precisely 1 minute to spare. Not the start to the day that we had hoped for - we should have stayed at home, driven up on the morning and saved £105!

The theme of the Hotel being a bit of an abandoned Marie Celeste continued on Saturday evening. Returning at 10.30 pm we found the Hotel bar again locked and only the music venue at the back open - all we wanted was a quiet nightcap so more disappointment. Clearly this Hotel will be a huge project for the owners to lick into shape, some of which will cost a lot of money and will take time. There is a lot they could do now in terms of organisation etc that would make it much more acceptable. We wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the market square face the streetlights - try to avoid this if you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I've just spent 2 nights at the Kings Head Hotel in Bungay with my other half as we were attending a bash in the area. Even though it's an old building our room was spotless and the bed incredibly comfortable. The en-suite shower room was also spotless and the complimentart his and hers toiletries packs plus the additional vanity & sewing packs was a fantastic touch. We were given a form when we booked in asking us to pre-order our breakfast and also pick what time (between 8am & 9.30am) we wanted to eat so we wouldn't have to wait around. The cooked breakfast we had on both mornings was fantastic, very good quality produce.

Jules and Tim are so warm and friendly and we had some lovely chats with us. They were also able to recommend walks in the Bungay area for us. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tryphena_Penswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed for one night on 4th February, we found the host's very friendly and did everything they could to make us comfortable. As we had very bad snow that day our rooms were very cold and they found 2 portable heaters to help us out.
The rooms were very clean and the bedding immaculate and breakfast was very good.
This hotel is very well placed in the center of Bungay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teresaags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Stayed here with the family for three days and enjoyed every moment of it. Great service, excellent breakfast, most enjoyable atmosphere. There was a blues concert scheduled one evening and we were invited (and the kids loved it). The hotel has a nice atmosphere and you feel that the owners simply love to look after their guests needs. Nice sitting area and dining area. Stayed in the family room which is comfortable ans was clean. The host carried the luggage and even brought us a jar of fresh milk for the tea. Whenever we'll pass there, we'll definitely would stay there again. Filip and Ann from Roeselare, Belgium.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Filip_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed for 5 days after travelling to Bungay at a moments notice, Jules and Tim were happy to help us above and beyond the normal service expected. The personal touch from both Jules and Tim were 2nd to none, the room and bathroom were cleaned daily, the complimentary toiletries are a nice touch, hot water was always available. Breakfast was of a high standard, and always on time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed for one night with friends for a birthday party nearby. Great pub , spacious, clean and comfortable room. Lovely breakfast in the morning. We particularly appreciated the toast and tea after the party. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hockeyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

when i booked, i asked for a quiet room, the owner put me on the second floor overlooking the car park which was indeed perfectly quiet. being an old building, the windows are not double glazed. The room was a little average and the bed a bit worn but the bedding was immaculate. The bathroom was very clean and contained some quality hosspitality packs. The shower worked and was hot, the towels were clean and nice quality. breakfast was a masterpiece, quality bacon, butchers sausage etc cooked perfectly. ive stayed at a lot nicer hotels for the money so i dont think its value but wish the owners luck with their continuing renovations

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stickymicky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bungay hotels
1 mi away
The Old Grain Store
The Old Grain Store
#1 of 3 in Bungay
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earsham Park Farm
Earsham Park Farm
#3 of 6 in Bungay
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Market Place, Bungay NR35 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bungay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bungay
Price Range: £37 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head and Queens Jules is a 17th-century coaching inn and 19th-century ballroom and entertainments centre offering 13 rooms on a bed and breakfast basis. As well as a bar, restaurant and snug it has regular entertainment at weekends and some weekdays. All rooms are en suite with flat screen digital tv and some are character rooms with original 17th-century features. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Bungay, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing