We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Head and Queens Jules Bungay”

The Kings Head Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bungay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Bungay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 September 2013

After searching on the net for a Hotel in Bungay I came across the Kings Head and Queens Jules. The home website made it look a perfect choice for a pleasant place to stay overnight while seeing "Pure Floyd" at the Fisher Theatre. At £85.00 including breakfast I thought that this was acceptable for a Saturday night and the picture of the rooms on the website convinced me that I had made a good choice. After all they claim to have been on Channel 4 "Four in a bed"
O how very wrong I was! As soon as I entered the Pub/Hotel I knew I had made a terrible mistake. The décor was tired and looked neglected and the stench coming from winding stairs to the 3rd floor room was very off putting to say the least ! The owner said that the drains were blocked. Once in the room it was nothing like the pictures on the web site and that smell was following us into the room. The owners answer was "I can put some bleach down the drains"
We left and were very lucky to get the last room at The Castle Inn just down the road. What a difference! very clean and friendly and the room was amazing, So if I were you give the Kings head a miss and go for the Castle Inn you wont be sorry !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenjules, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

We are sorry the stay was not a pleasant one due to circumstances beyond our control - a sewer collapse under the road. However we are also disappointed that the visitors felt it necessary to write a trip advisor review about this after we were happy for them not to be charged for the booking despite our written policy to charge for cancellations of less than 24 hours. The problem was clearly one that would have marred their stay. If the problem had been one with the room we would have been happy to provide a free upgrade as we often do anyway if the hotel has spare rooms, although the room is the one with the largest shower which the visitors needed.
The rooms are exactly as shown on the website and we are surprised that if they looked them up they did not book the room they wanted online or specify it when booking over the phone. And for the record we were on Four in a Bed and came second.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We wanted to stay in the castle pub around the corner but this was fully booked .. I was very apprehensive about booking this as the reviews was very negative .. We was staying in Bungay for the night for a friends garden party so wasn't to fussed just wanted to be close enough to walk round to our friends house as apparently there's only one taxi driver in the village of Bungay ..

We arrived around 5 pm on the Saturday and was shown our room which I must admit was a lot better than what I had been reading about on trip advisor .. The room was very clean and tidy .. Bathroom was more than adequate for a quick shower ..

Staff seemed very friendly to and efficient ..

I do thi k that this hotel is slightly overpriced for where it is located but the village of Bungay was very nice ..

Breakfast in the morning was amazing we had preordered the night before and was given a sheet with various items to fill out and also various time slots which was very good as we went down at the time requested and breakfast was ready for us and very tasty it was to ..

I would defiantly stay here again no it's not the ritz and I do think some people's reviews of this pub/hotel are very negative and these people are very unfair to the owners who are very nice and friendly . I would most defiantly stay here again if I was visiting Bungay , thank you to everyone for a pleasant stay ...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxineclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Me and My Fiancé held our Engagement party here as it is a great location for all our family and friends to get to easily and most of them walk. We had a fantastic evening in the large ballroom with disco and karaoke. The land lord and lady are always so accommodating and friendly! They even made us a special cocktail of our favourite drinks :)

The music was brilliant and if we had a sudden inspiration of wanting a song we need only ask and they would find it for us! We went through many genres of music (rock, pop, r'n'b, rap, golden oldies and proper cheese) and if we couldn't remember the song title they even google the lyrics we remember to find it for us :) nothing was too much!

Me and My Fiance went on to stay in the four poster room which was decorated beautifully! I used to work in this very same hotel when I was younger and I was shocked just how much it had changed since the new ownership! There were even beautiful pillows on the bed with 'Love' and decorative hearts which just made me smile :)

In the morning we were welcomed by the land lord Tim and the lovely Stephen who made us a brilliant breakfast!

All in all a great party venue and a very comfortable hotel with very welcoming service with a smile :D definitely recommend the Kings Head!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T_Indie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

got to the hotel only to be told by a local that the hotel didn't open on Mondays (guess what? It was a Monday we had booked to stay!!). The place looked as though it had been shut down! tried to get some attention round the back, eventually had to hammer on the front door really hard. when the door was eventually answered we said 'we are booked in for the night' we were greeted with the answer 'oh are you!' Not a good impression to give guests!! The room was so hot when you opened the door it took your breath away, we had to open the window all night and then couldn't sleep because of the passing traffic. The shower had two sprays of water that just sprinkled out. Jug of milk was left outside of the room which was a bit stupid because there was no where to keep it cool! This was a trip with friends and we stayed at a few hotels over a week, this was one of the dearest and nothing to back the price up except the breakfast. Needs a lot of work to justify the prices. Would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if you want good food try Pepe's across the road it is a small bistro owned by a husband and wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sglynn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Having recently returned from a two night stay at the Kings Head and the Queen's Jules, we are more than a little disappointed.

Upon arrival we were allocated our rooms (we had booked 2), one which at first glance was satisfactory and the other that was dark, dingy and well below our expectations.

The first room, featured an exposed brick wall which show cased the damp and the decaying bricks in all their glory. The bathroom, was basic, with an old carpet on the floor and a jug for the shower!!

The second room was dark, with old net curtains hanging, an ancient lampshade and a tiny mirror. However, this had a much more luxurious bathroom - no bath but a shower! Although the trickle of water made showering less appealing!

Additional problems – noise levels outside (had to check twice if the window was open!). The place is also cold, the old heater has seen better days and we saw a spark from this, needless to say, we chose to leave it off and slept in extra clothes instead!

Also, the fact that the owner was shocked by our disappointment in the bedrooms does not leave much hope that there will be improvements in the future.

On the up side, breakfast was the only saving grace! The food was basic, but hot and edible with a coffee machine and jugs of orange juice.

It is also stumbling distance from all the drinking holes which you will need if you decide to stay here!

I don't think we'll be returning in a hurry!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuesday112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queenjules, Owner at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

We are disappointed that this reviewer was not satisfied with the rooms they stayed in. To correct some facts, we offered a change of room when they said they were not satisfied, although choice was limited as they were part of a large wedding party that had booked out all bar one of the rooms. This was declined. There are no net curtains in the room in question and three mirrors - two full length. The room is bright and has a view of Bungay Castle. There is some street noise from traffic - this is a problem with staying in the centre of a town rather than at an out of town Holiday Inn (whose prices are a lot higher than ours, as are all the other hotels in the area). The wall mentioned is deliberately exposed as it is one the surviving pre 17th century features of the building. The "ancient lampshade" is one made by Julies mother to match the handmade curtains, cushions and bed throw.
There are some things we can and are changing - if they had expressed concerns about the heater we could have provided an alternative. We would like to upgrade the bathrooms but making that investment is difficult in the present financial climate.
There are some things we can't change. The building is in the centre of town and its status as a Grade Two listed building mean the options for double glazing, changing original features and other upgrades are difficult. Wetherspoons have just finished renovating a Grade Two Inn in nearby Beccles which has taken three years to negotiate the changes and cost millions of pounds.

We are especially disappointed as the rest of the wedding party who stayed seemed delighted with their stay and the extra things we could and did do - provide a warm welcome, good hospitality in our bars, and try and give everything they asked for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

I was meeting for a date and having no clue where and what anything was in Bungay it was pot luck. Having initially met in the Castle just along the road and not realising it was more restaurant than pub, and having been kicked out as they were closing early as no people in there apart from us for a drink we decided to walk along a bit and this is what we found.
The bars at the front were all closed (it was a cold quiet Wednesday night) so we made out way to a closed door at the back. When we walked in the locals all looked round and I had a little surreal 'American werewolf in London' moment as they looked as if to say 'you're not from round here' and I did feel a little anxious- however, they were fine, they were playing some music and playing darts and food was brought out for them.
Staff were friendly enough and drinks were a good price. The music wasn't too loud that you couldn't hear yourself think which is always a bonus.
Facilities were clean, albeit, toilets were cold!
So don't be put off by first impressions, it was clean, friendly and good price, just that initial walk in right through to the back was a bit strange.
Will return and see what the front bar is like. ;-p

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Teresa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We visited the Kings Head and Queen Jules for an overnight stay on a Saturday, as we were attending a Christening the next morning. We decided to splash out for the 4 poster room, and were surprised when a £20 surcharge was added for a Saturday night stay in October ... I used to live in the area and Bungay is not a top tourist destination!

When we arrived the Hotel (which I could remember from 35 years ago) turned out to be a typical old English coaching Inn that had seen better days. The carpets are worn, plaster is missing and wires are exposed on the walls. The carpets are worn, stained and have definitely seen better days. Having arrived at 16.00 on a Saturday we expected some life in the place, but not a bit of it. The Bar was closed, and we only gained access to the Hotel by luck. We were told that nothing opened until 7pm.

The room itself was a good size, but so many little touches that don't need money to get right were missing/wrong. For example, glasses had been left out for use but the insides were encrusted with dishwasher salt - we couldn't believe that the person putting them out had missed how dirty they were. The shower room was small, and the shower had a note on it saying that it was a cold feed and to make it warmer turn it towards the off position ... when we actually used it the opposite proved to be the case, with the effect of making me very wet and cold. The complimentary tea and coffee was provided in tupperware tubs and milk was provided in a jug, to sit all night unrefridgerated. Whats wrong with using the usual sachets? The furniture had seen better days except for the new flat screen TV.

The bed proved a disappointment. Although it had a very good quality mattress (very deep) it was a soft style and was uncomfortable. Furthermore the sheets were just a bit too small and subsequently I awoke in the middle of the night with the sheet having ridden up and me lying directly on the mattress. I hate that in a hotel! The curtains were also hopeless. The Hotel faces onto the market square, directly opposite some sodium streetlights. Consequently the room was not in darkness all night. If the owners tries sleeping in the rooms they would ensure that proper blackout curtains were installed.

Breakfast was pre-ordered the night before by completing a form. We spoke to the chap and emphasised (as well as writing on our sheet) that we needed breakfast promptly at 8am (the earliest it was available) so that we were at church on time. The next morning we went downstairs to find the Hotel in darkness. No lights were on, doors were locked and there was no table set for breakfast. After waiting 15 minutes I rang both owners mobiles (no reply) and knocked on the door marked private (again no reply). Finally the chap arrived puffing saying he had failed to set his alarm. I cant believe that any place that aspires to be a hotel can have no one on duty at all by 8am.

Breakfast when it arrived was very tasty, but ruined for us because we had to eat quickly and go straight on - we arrived at Church with precisely 1 minute to spare. Not the start to the day that we had hoped for - we should have stayed at home, driven up on the morning and saved £105!

The theme of the Hotel being a bit of an abandoned Marie Celeste continued on Saturday evening. Returning at 10.30 pm we found the Hotel bar again locked and only the music venue at the back open - all we wanted was a quiet nightcap so more disappointment. Clearly this Hotel will be a huge project for the owners to lick into shape, some of which will cost a lot of money and will take time. There is a lot they could do now in terms of organisation etc that would make it much more acceptable. We wont stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms fronting the market square face the streetlights - try to avoid this if you are a light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bungay hotels
1 mi away
The Old Grain Store
The Old Grain Store
#1 of 3 in Bungay
31 reviews
1.6 mi away
Earsham Park Farm
Earsham Park Farm
#3 of 6 in Bungay
5 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Castle Inn
The Castle Inn
#1 of 1 in Bungay
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: Market Place, Bungay NR35 1AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bungay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bungay
Price Range: £36 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Head and Queens Jules is a 17th-century coaching inn and 19th-century ballroom and entertainments centre offering 13 rooms on a bed and breakfast basis. As well as a bar, restaurant and snug it has regular entertainment at weekends and some weekdays. All rooms are en suite with flat screen digital tv and some are character rooms with original 17th-century features. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Kings Head Hotel Bungay, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing