We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food,staff and setting”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bungay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food,staff and setting”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Out for a ride on the Harley and came across this pub/resteraunt at lunch time. It looked inviting from the outside and did not disappoint inside. Super food, reasonably priced and lovely staff. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsmikeharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    36
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
63
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Monday the last day of our December break see us heading back to Essex via the north Suffolk town of Bungay and our last pub lunch at the Castle Inn at 35 Earsham Street. We were all three coursed out after our weekend blowout so we settle for two courses of a real Christmas Lunch of Free range Norfolk black turkey, sage and chestnut stuffing, chipolata wrapped in bacon, Brussels sprouts, honey roasted root vegetables, duck fat roast potatoes and a rich turkey gravy. Followed by Christmas pudding flamed at our table with brandy butter and Marybelle double cream. This meal was a delight and was a fitting end to the break, service and cooking was excellent. This was our second Christmas visit and we were not disappointed. Just a short walk towards the town centre there is a card shop with an enormous range of specialist cards, we got our six grandchildren their 3D Christmas cards there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The Castle Inn has a 'family run' feel to it. It's small & cosy and situated perfectly in Bungay with a car park at the rear.
The staff are very welcoming and the rooms a fantastic.
I recommend eating in the restaurant as the food is of a very high quality and it has a nice atmosphere.
The breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We have just had a delicious meal The Castle Inn. The starters of mussels with bacon in white wine sauce and mini toad in the hole were wonderful. These were followed by steak and chicken supreme which were equally good. This certainly ranks as one of the best meals we have had in a very long time.
The restaurant was recommended to us by Jan and Andrew at Fox Cottage B&B where we have stayed for the last 3 nights http://www.foxcottage.org.uk/foxhole/
If you are looking for a B&B that is centrally located in Suffolk then this is the place for you. The room is wonderful and you won't want anything else to eat after the fabulous breakfast until you go The Castle Inn for dinner in the evening!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We ate lunch here and decided not to return to London but to stay the night and have supper - a great decision. The lunch of home-made fishfingers and fat, perfectly cooked chips with tartare sauce and green salad for one and creamy locally produced moules were perfect. A light clam chowder followed by slow cooked shoulder of lamb and aged steak were delicious with a decent bottle of claret. Actually nicer than the £450 dinner at a 3 star Michelin the night before. Simple room which worked and the full English for breakfast, all for £160.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Firstly let me state we didn't stay in October 2011, but June 2009 (I forgot to review at the time). Living locally it's very rare that we'd spend the night anywhere within 10 miles from home but we made an exception for a night here to celebrate our aniversary.

The room itself was well priced, clean and with all the expected amenities. It was nothing spectacular, but comfortable and good value for money. We ate in the restaurant which we consider a real find locally and definitely the best in town - a great seasonal menu using local produce and turning out well cooked tasty dishes. The full english breakfast was cooked to order and tasted delicious.

Altogether a very homely welcoming feel in a small but very well run hotel / restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpianBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

popped into the castle after a day in Cromer thinking it was a traditional pub but was delighted to step into a cosy restaurant/pub setting, we were early for the evening menu but enjoyed a glass of lovely Suffolk cider while we waited for the chef, Mark, to arrive, having checked the menu while we were waiting we ordered our meals of red mullet and Lowestoft fish (cannot remember the posh name) fish which were both served within 20 minutes and tasted fresh and very, very tatsy, no small portions and the fish and vegetables were worthy of the Michelin star the castle has, we were holidaying in Bungay but will make another trip later in the year and probally stay in the B & B above the castle and if the accomodation is as good as the food then we will be in for a treat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tezlahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bungay
5.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
5.3 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lowestoft
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
13.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
22.5 mi away
The Brudenell Hotel
The Brudenell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Aldeburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 35 Earsham Street, Bungay NR35 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bungay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bungay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bungay
The Castle Inn Bungay, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing