We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bungay
Certificate of Excellence
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked all four rooms at The Castle for the weekend of our wedding, and also booked a table for Sunday lunch the same weekend.

We stayed in the rear double room, which had a walk in shower and silk hangings. It was clean and comfortable, and the fizz left for us to say congratulations was a lovely touch. All our others guests said that their rooms were nice also.

Breakfast is all locally sourced and was plentiful and filling. Coffee is freshly made and delicious. As a market town inn, it's definitely a good one!

Sunday lunch...the normal Sunday menu wasn't on due to a busy street market, but food was, again, not a disappointment. We had a bottle of (again, local) wine which was reasonably priced and very drinkable, and a variety of main meals - the hot roast beef sandwich was lovely.

Overall, lovely staff, good prices, honest food.

Room Tip: The 4 poster room is at the front so perhaps not best for light sleepers. The two front rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lieselkirkpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    37
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
67
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Réthimnon, Rethimni, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

As soon as we walked in, my husband said: "they know what they're doing", and he was right. A nice, atmospheric old inn given a classy modern overhaul with meticulous attention to detail whether in the excellent food or the generous toiletries in the bathrooms. A very professional operation but with the personal touch of the owners, who succeed in creating an atmosphere of relaxed competence - just what you want for a weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel stands on the main high street. All around are perfectly preserved buildings (particularly banks) with much history to them.
We received a lovely welcome from the owner and shown to our room. Very comfy four poster bed and a small sitting area. Everything very clean and fresh. Smartly fitted out bathroom with excellent top quality towels.
The food was Michelin recommended. ( Last year I think )
Our stay included a 3 course meal in the restaurant which we enjoyed very much.
Breakfast was tasty, especially the little sauté potatoes.
We were given a packed lunch which was included as part of our walking holiday and it was very nice,lovely organic pear juice, slices of cake, but the bread was rather strange, it sort of crumbled a lot.
Very nice overall stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

We went and had dinner as a group of four on a Friday evening, lovely surroundings and everyone thought that the food was really good. The only slightly off-putting element was we felt the staff were 'going through the motions' rather than being attentive and caring towards us. However, that said, we'd go back again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Nine of us descended on The Castle Inn for Mothers' Day lunch on Sunday and as usual were served a fabulous meal. The restaurant was full, but each course was delivered by ever attentive ( but not annoyingly so) staff at perfect intervals which meant that we could all enjoy a wonderfully relaxing time.
We are lucky enough to live just a few miles away from Bungay, so we feel blessed to have such a superb restaurant nearby.
Thank you Mark, Tanya & Staff for such a lovely afternoon

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were on a cycling tour late last autumn. (2012)

Reception friendly and great location in the market town. Rooms tidy with good quality fittings and fixtures.

Excellent dinner with good beers and wines.

Great start to what turned out to be a great cycling break.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick31Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ufford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Have had lunch there on three occasions and every time it's been very good, both quality of food, friendly service and decent price. A special mention for the homemade fish fingers in door stop bread, takes you back to your childhood! A the chips are some of the best I've ever had (influence of Heston?)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suffolksailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bungay
5.4 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beccles
520 reviews
11.1 mi away
Ivy House Country Hotel
Ivy House Country Hotel
#1 of 10 in Lowestoft
454 reviews
5.3 mi away
Waveney House Hotel
Waveney House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beccles
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Waveney Inn
Waveney Inn
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
36 reviews
6.9 mi away
J.D.Young
J.D.Young
#1 of 1 in Harleston
95 reviews
12.8 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Property: The Castle Inn
Address: 35 Earsham Street, Bungay NR35 1AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Bungay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bungay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle Hotel Bungay
The Castle Inn Bungay, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing