We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Dog Restaurant - CLOSED

The Black Dog Restaurant
Price range: US$13 - US$51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Very sadly this restaurant is now closed, and will not be re-opening its red door in its current form.
Briston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Sunday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We escaped the madness of Bungays Christmas street market and found ourselves going through the red door into an airy dining room full of content customers and delicious aromas. What followed was one of the best Sunday lunches I've ever had the pleasure of eating. Service was both unobtrusive but attentive, the food was beautiful both in presentation and taste, we hardly spoke! Caroline seemed to be everywhere, greeting new customer, advising on wines and generally making us all feel very welcome. My favourite place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to register on TA to leave a review about your visit to us on Sunday. It was certainly a very hectic day, and it was lovely to see Bungay so busy on a Sunday. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience, it was lovely to see you , and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    15
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Back for a 2nd Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Well after the last visit with my Partner, I decided to arrange a Birthday Meal here for us and close friends, I knew i could expect excellence to impress our friends. and as I expected Caroline and the Team delivered again.... This is by far our best place to dine.. And with that we have now booked a 3rd meal and will be taking our parents and trying the Sunday Roast Menu.. lets see what it brings... excellence again I hope...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear Andrew, thank you so much for another lovely review from you. We are delighted to learn that we met your expectations, and I very much look forward to seeing you both here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch set menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The set lunch for£14.50 today at the black dog was an absolute treat. The waitress was helpful and efficient ensuring that each course was served with enough time between courses,she wasn't pushy with drinks and showed concern regarding our satisfaction throughout. The menu offered a choice of 3 dishes for each course with enough diversity and interest to please.portion sizes were just right and both felt comfortably full at the end of the meal. A real pleasure and definitely worth a trip out of your way .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie6746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Julie, thank you for making time to post a review about your visit to us for our prix fixe lunch menu. It is always pleasing to read such positive feedback, and I am very pleased that you found us to be worth the trip, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lyon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Caroline really makes you feel special!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

From the apéritif through the meal to the coffee, we were made to feel really special by Caroline, the owner, Lydia the smiling barmaid and all other staff. We particularly appreciated the attention to detail, the quality of the food and especially the variety and quantity of super-fresh vegetables! We were made to feel like real friends by very professional staff. Fantastic food, excellent value for money and surprisingly modern design & decoration in a Suffolk village - we will return :).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Mandy, thank you for your lovely review, we are all very pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience, and vegetables(!) with us. Guests are very special to us here at The Black Dog; after all, without them we would not last long! We look forward to being able to welcome you all back again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent food and wine and an elegant dining room where the tables are set with crisp white linen. The service is good, but never overbearing or intrusive. However, what really lifts this restaurant above the rest, is the warm welcome that all customers receive from the owner, this really set the tone for the rest of the evening.
We had a lovely, relaxing time and will certainly be returning very soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineSeaman, Owner at The Black Dog Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Kitty, thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed a relaxed evening with us. It always amazes me when people comment on their enjoyment of a warm welcome from us, as I was always taught by my many marvellous mentors that it is the cornerstone of the business to be pleased to welcome guests to the establishment, and part of the pleasure of hosting is to be be able to do so! We look forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Dog Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing