We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden jewel”

The Mermaid Balti House
Ranked #16 of 30 Restaurants in Bungay
Cuisines: Indian, Balti, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden jewel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have visited The Mermaid a few times, when it was a quirky roadside pub and painted very pink on the outside! But I hadn't been for quite some time until a friend told me it was now an Indian restaurant well worth visiting. He wasn't wrong!

It still looks pretty much the same inside as in days gone by, but it is a very pleasant place to satisfy your "ruby" needs, with well cooked and spiced food, very good service from welcoming staff and all good value to boot!

I will definitely be returning and will also be recommending The Mermaid Balti House to my friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AleDrinker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    12
    6
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Been there for a romantic night I found the food and the service excelent. Everything was outstanding. Very tasty and prepared in detail. The waiter was amazing and always make me laugh. Definitly recommend and it will be one of my first choices for a meal out. Don't miss it you won't regreat it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

For my birthday I was treated to dinner here with my family. Lovely, service was polite and efficient whilst still being friendly. Food was great, even cooked off the menu for me.
The lamb phal is to die for.
Great meal, great service and they deliver!
Will definitely return and recommend to friends

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Am260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Acceptable curry but not the real thing”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After hearing lots of good recommendations about his place I was looking forward to something special. We had a table early Friday evening and on arrival it was already nearly full. Promising start.
I should mention that the location is on a road between villages so its impressive that it was very busy. The mermaid used to be a rural pub which served great real ale, I was hoping this would have continued but alas, the usual bland suspects; cobra and ipa smooth flow...where does it say that all indian restaurants should serve generic, flavourless lager? This restaurant is surrounded by countless real ale breweries in Norfolk and Suffolk so no excuses. My partner had a watery house white wine.
Being a 'Balti House' I tried a balti dish. It was nice but not authentic. Balti should be aromatic with earthy spices. This tasted like a typical curry from typical indian restaurant. Serving it with a naan bread does not turn it into a 'Balti' dish. As I said, it was tasty but if you have made the real thing or been to a real balti house then you will be disappointed. My partner had king prawn tikka, nice big prawns, tasty but hard to get wrong.
We did not fancy dessert so I asked for a masala chai. Unbelievably, none of the waiters knew what this was. Indian spiced tea? Come on guys! So easy to make but not on the menu so could not do.
All in all I would say this was a reasonably good indian restaurant on par with the better ones in Norwich, but certainly not the best curry house outside of brick lane. They do a lunch buffet, maybe the dishes are more authentic at this time.
The waiters were very attentive and pleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MD1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant! A Indian Gem In The Countryside”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Been coming to this restaurant now for quite some time and i just cant fault it !
It is by far the best Indian restaurant in the area i know because we have tried them all and the mermaid is just that bit better!.
The Staff are awesome friendly and treat you like family the minute you walk in the door! every time we go we book and every time we get into the restaurant it is always very busy! a sign that it is obviously doing well!.
They run a buffet style service which is great value and there menu is stacked with choice.
The deserts are without question the best i have ever had in any Indian restaurant not your usual tasteless banana and icecream.
Will be going back very soon for another great meal with friends!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlosuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mermaid Balti House also viewed

 

Been to The Mermaid Balti House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing