We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly, good pizza”
Review of Hotel La Reserve

Hotel La Reserve
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Niklaus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, good pizza”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Used this hotel for the first night of a KE adventure trip as the Group meeting point and first night stay, probably because St Niklaus is much cheaper than Zermatt!

Pros:
Warm welcome, helpful staff that speak English.
Dinner was tasty with good "make your own" pizzas or a meat course.
The Chef (owner?) "Peter" was very accommodating - coming out to speak to us and let us know where our guide had got to
Cheaper than staying in Zermatt and the mountain railway station is only a 5 minute walk (St Niklaus is not very big)
Rooms were large enough - ours had a big balcony as well (shared)
Rustic alpine bar with good local beer

Cons:
It is on the main road Zermatt and could be noisy although to be honest we didn't notice this
A bit of a walk from the station with bags - taxis are available but it si all downhill
Simple decor but tidy
Decent showers - but no bath in our room
Onyl English language channel was CNN (but when in Rome...)

Room Tip: Stayed in room 7 IIR - balcony, large easy chair, big double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our Haute Route trip. The decor is a little dated but everything is very clean and well maintained. The restaurant was very good and the staff were very helpful. It is a little way from the station and on a road, but I think this is reflected in the price. I think it would be a good choice for those staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while walking in the region and would highly recommended La Reserve. The hotel was clean and comfortable, with good food and very friendly staff/employees. We ate half board when available which is a recommended option- good value and plenty of food!

St Niklaus is a very pretty town, easily accessible by train. We preferred staying here over the busier, more touristy Zermatt. There are plenty of local walks to do with stunning scenery and Zermatt itself is half an hour away by train. The hotel is max. 10 minutes walk from the train station.

One of us has a food allergy and the hotel were wonderful in providing appropriate food- would recommend it to anyone suffering from food intolerances or allergies.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Three of us stayed here while doing the Haute Walkers' Route from Chamonix to Zermatt. We shared a room with a double and a single bed, a huge en-suite bathroom, TV and balcony. The hotel has a pizza-and-pasta restaurant (OK), and provided a good breakfast earlier than normal at our request. Although just off the main road up the Mattertal, the hotel was fairly quiet and we had a comfortable night before embarking on the rigours of the Europaweg! The "value" rating reflects the current high value of the Swiss franc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the last night of our Haute Route walk, I was ill when we arrived and the owner was so kind to me, lending us his car to take me to the hospital! The hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was lovely, a great selection at dinner and at breakfast. The staff were all friendly and I'd reccommend the hotel wholeheartedly - we hope to come back one day!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank nnefamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Two nights here, two rooms. Well situated just out of the centre, accommodation and food good, staff helpful and amenities all we required. Prices are quite good for the area but unless you need to stay at St Niklaus the "pull" of Zermatt just down the road is strong and offers a lot more alternatives

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaPoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Niklaus
0.0 mi away
Swiss Budget Alpenhotel Tasch
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bergfreund
Hotel Bergfreund
#1 of 5 in St. Niklaus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Victoria
Chalet Victoria
#3 of 5 in St. Niklaus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Reserve

Property: Hotel La Reserve
Address: St. Niklaus 3924, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > St. Niklaus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in St. Niklaus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing