We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Countryside near Marseille”
Review of L'Etape Provencale

L'Etape Provencale
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'Etape Provencale
Ranked #4 of 4 Cabries B&B and Inns
Lithuania
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Countryside near Marseille”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Nice country hotel in the country, close to Marseille. Pleasant, quite, good small pool. Breakfast at extra price, good, but not worth the money (I mean breakfast). Better co to nearby Calas, buy s croissant at boilangerie and a coffee in the local cafe.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SauliusAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and didn’t want to leave.
Hosts Sylvie and Christophe were completely delightful, so very accommodating and friendly.
Our room was ‘Pivoine’ – beautifully furnished, spacious, comfortable, clean, good ensuite bathroom.
We had deck chairs on the grass outside our room, which we made good use of - sipping champagne and beer in the late afternoon sun before heading out to dinner. Some afternoons Sylvie brought around some home cooked pre-dinner snacks that she had made – yum!
Breakfast was very adequate, it included; Sylvie’s homemade bread, jams & preserves, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, cereal etc...
Sylvie very kindly did a load of washing for me which was a blessing. Sylvie doesn’t speak a lot of English however with my broken French and her broken English we managed just fine. Christophe does speak English quite well, he was very hospitable and extremely helpful.
Every afternoon, after we’d been out exploring all day, it was an absolute pleasure to come back to L’etape Provencale to relax and unwind.
L’etape Provencale is located in a 5min drive from the town of Calas which has a little shopping village where most supplies can be sourced (food, pharmacy, wine etc).
I’d recommend this B&B to anyone wanting the feeling of a country escape without being too isolated or far from a major city (Marseilles 30min drive, Avignon 90min drive).
I would definitely stay at L’etape Provencale in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms looked fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamLF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

This is a very quiet place, full of tranquility and peace. The room was good, with the new furniture and a great view on the nature. There are only few rooms in the hotel, so there are not many people around. The breakfast was very good. Safe place as they have the gates which open only with the code given to the guests. The owners were always very helpful. We want to thank them for everything.

The main disadvantage was that there was no housekeeping, the room was not cleaned while we were there (3 nights), even the garbage was not taken out. Another thing was that the door to the bathroom was difficult to open and it became quite annoying at the end of the trip. Another disadvantage as for me was that there was only one pillow for two (a long one). I just got used to have my own one and not to share it :)

It seems that the place is only reachable by car which should be considered by the future guests. The tv had only French channels.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alevtyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

After picking up our leased car in Marseille, we stayed at L'Etape Provencale this past May. What a great surprise. It was a fabulous B&B, with swimming pool, modern room and bathroom, wifi and best of all, the most hospitable hosts, Chris and Sylvia. We had dinner, made by Sylvia, with them and other guests, Martina and Phillip from Lyon on the outside covered patio by the pool. The food was delicious and the company was wonderful. They couldn't do enough for you. Sylvia even did our laundry and we both hung it out on the line to dry. How great is that! Another plus, was meeting and chatting with grandma, Maria, who is Italian (Sylvia's nana). I spoke with her in Italian and a little Sicilian and we got along marvelously. What a beautiful lady, who by the way is in her 90's. The b&b was actually built by Chris and his son's. They opened late 2009, and nothing was spared in the rooms.The decor is beautiful, modern, and the room was immaculate. I just wish we had more time to stay, but we were on our way to Sorrento to meet our friends, so we had to settle on this short, memorable visit. If you are anywhere near Provence, or on your way through, please do make arrangements to stay with Chris and Sylvia, even for one night. You will always remember a great time.

Room Tip: Newly built rooms, and modern bathroom and great shower., Very clean, with wifi at no charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabries
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arbois
Best Western Plus Hotel De L'Arb...
#22 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suite-Home Aix en Provence Sud
Suite-Home Aix en Provence Sud
#2 of 3 in Bouc-Bel-Air
88 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Birdy by HappyCulture
Hotel Birdy by HappyCulture
#39 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Domaine & Cie
Domaine & Cie
#1 of 1 in Les Milles
101 reviews
6.0 mi away
ibis Styles Marseille Provence Aeroport
4.1 mi away
Chateau de la Pioline
Chateau de la Pioline
#18 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Etape Provencale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Etape Provencale

Property: L'Etape Provencale
Address: 888 route de la Bellandiere, 13480 Cabries, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Cabries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cabries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Etape Provencale 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Etape Provencale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing