We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schloss Muenchenwiler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munchenwiler
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very cute old castle with amazing restaurant. Rooms are like college rooms. Very minimal. Basically suitable for wedding functions ....cute little Swiss town that's not really worth visiting, but if you are looking for a place to hold a symposium.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Google Translation
Liebe Claire C

Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung.

Die Zimmer in unserem Gästehaus wurden vom Architekten als "klösterliche Herberge" gebaut, da das Schloss Münchenwiler ein cluniazensisches Priorat war, passt dies sehr gut zur Geschichte des Schlosses. Gleichzeitig sind wir uns bewusst, dass die Grösse nicht ganz dem entspricht, was manchmal erwartet wird. Da die Anlage so viel zu bieten hat, verbringt man meistens nicht sehr viel Zeit im Zimmer. Die Zimmer im Gästehaus sind klein, einfach und funktionell.

Es freut uns, dass Ihnen das Essen geschmeckt hat.

Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    23
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
27
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having made a table reservation in advance, we (three friends dining here on a hot summer evening) had to wander around the building to find someone to receive us and show us to our table. Not exactly the best of welcomes. The restaurant occupies two levels of a wing of this picturesque little castle. The lower dining area opens out to the garden and seems reserved for the hotel's seminar guests, while the ground floor restaurant (accessed from the formal driveway) was empty and devoid of any staff when we arrived. A couple of tables were in use on the terrace and one other table inside was eventually occupied by other diners. Once a waitress did turn up, we enjoyed drinks outside, followed by a satisfactory set meal indoors (four courses for CHF 58). We rejected the first of the Vully red wines we were offered (too young, was our waitress's comment) and this was willingly exchanged for a different Volly wine. The service, albeit friendly, was very slow indeed and the amuse bouche - a cube of potato tortilla - was stodgy and indifferent. The best touch was the use of fresh herbs from the Schloss's extensive herb garden to decorate our main courses.
It was a charming place for a leisurely dinner in beautiful surroundings, provided you did not mind the long waits - the service was extremely slow. Being set in a farming village it was probably inevitable that there were many flies buzzing around us until nightfall: no mosquitoes though, despite the large pool in the garden.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Google Translation
Liebe Kathleen M

Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung und danke, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben uns Ihre Eindrücke mitzuteilen.

Danke für den Hinweis betreffend der Wartezeiten und des langsamen Service. Es gibt Situationen, wenn eine grosse Seminargruppe am Essen ist, in denen es zu Wartezeiten kommen kann. Wir werden in Zukunft noch besser darauf achten, den Ablauf so zu timen, dass es zu keinen Wartezeiten kommen sollte. Wir gehen aber auch davon aus, dass die Leute am Abend Zeit haben und das Essen in Ruhe geniessen möchten. Falls dies nicht so ist, sind wir sehr froh, wenn Sie die Mitarbeiter direkt vor Ort darauf aufmerksam machen.

Es tut uns leid, wenn wir hier Ihren Erwartungen nicht gerecht werden konnten.

Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Historic castle in wonderful garden with huge old trees. Hotel rooms in guest house are basic, small and ok; they are fine when attending a meeting like i did, for vacation i would prefer a little bit more space and comfort, my room had only a small window. Bathroom is very small.
Restaurant is nice, airy with windows over the park, food was good, nothing exciting but fine. Breakfast was good with nice choice, better than mentioned in other reviews. Very friendly and caring castle-'boss' and staff make up for missing comfort in rooms. Very nice antic meeting room. For vacation i would rate the price a bit high for what you get in the room where i stayed, maybe the rooms in the castle offer more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 27 January 2015
Google Translation
Liebe gabrielaz123

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback und die Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben uns dieses mitzuteilen.

Gerne leiten wir Ihr Lob an unsere Mitarbeiter weiter.

Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It is now the third time that I visit this magnificent Hotel. Very friendly (not very Swiss...) clean, good food, good breakfast in a very nice, old "Schloss".
It is not easy to find but once you are there, you find a very peaceful, beautiful small casle.

Room Tip: If you want ot keep it cheap, stay in the annex. If you want a perfect stay, sleep in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 10 February 2015
Google Translation
Lieber MarcoB, Es ist wunderbar zu hören, dass sie sich bei uns so wohl gefühlt haben. Schön, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Gedanken mitzuteilen.
Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen.

Herzlich
Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel because we attended a wedding which took place in the wonderful little church and the restaurant that belong to the castle. We thought that, the rooms were ok, but nothing special. There were some mould traces in the shower, but apart from that the room was very clean. The hotel building is quite modern and does not quite fit into the castle ambience from my point of view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krizto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 10 February 2015
Google Translation
Lieber Krizto, Danke, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, eine Bewertung über unser Hotel zu veröffentlichen. Wir sind uns bewusst, dass unser Gästehaus (Nebengebäude vom Schloss) einen sehr einfachen und funktionellen Charakter hat, es wurde als "klösterliche Herberge" vom Architekten gebaut, der dafür einen Architekturpreis gewonnen hat. Wir finden es fügt sich sehr schön in das ganze Ensemble ein und wir denken, dass man gerade an einer Hochzeit nicht sehr viel Zeit im Zimmer verbringt und hoffentlich darum daran denkt das Ambiente der ganzen Anlage zu geniessen.

Freundliche Grüsse
Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed at at hotel for a wedding. The food and the ambience was perfect. I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff. I had a six month old baby at that time. While I loved the hotel, it is not suitable for a baby. There are not enough amenities to accommodate a baby's need. If you forget something, you need a car back into town. Walking is a lot longer than just 30 minutes. But I guess it depends on your pace. :-) the rooms are a bit small. The three of us, husband and baby, were cramped in a double room. Otherwise, a great castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVT113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 26 January 2015
Google Translation
Vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung.

Wir haben immer wieder Gäste mit kleinen Babies, welche sich hier sehr wohl fühlen und nichts vermissen. Natürlich sind wir nicht ausgestattet wie in einem Kinderhotel, doch wir verfügen über Baby-/Kinderbettli. Mit dem Auto sind es 5 Minuten nach Murten, wo man alles Nötige bekommt. Auch können wir auf Anfrage fast alles organisieren.... Bei den Babyphones kann die Distanz und die dicken Mauern zur Herausforderung werden. Am besten eigenen sich solche die über das Handy-Netz funktionieren.

Kinder sind mit Sicherheit willkommen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

I've always wanted to stay at a castle, which Muenchenwiler is, albeit a small one. It's nice and a little out of the way, so it is perhaps best suited for events spanning two or more days. The hotel is about 30-minute walk from Murten train station. There is also a bus from Murten to Muenchenwiler, Baeren, which stops quite close to the hotel. The downside is that the bus only goes about 5 times a day. Of course, there are always taxis, rental cars (and a helicopter service advertised on the hotel website if you are feeling fancy).

We had a two-day event there and had a chance to use their conference facilities, which were fine. The meals (dinner, breakfast, lunch) were also very nice. Typically they had a choice of two-three entrees (at least one vegetarian). They also were making rounds offering another helping at dinner and lunch. The breakfast was buffet style, diverse enough to satisfy my needs.

For a night thirst they have minibars placed on the floors where you can pick up a water or a beer, whichever you prefer (they're not free, of course).

My room was double, but it was long and narrow with beds forming a straight line, head to head, so it is absolutely unsuitable for a couple (I was staying there alone). They may have more couple-y doubles, but it pays to check.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank amorkuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigit L, Manager at Schloss Muenchenwiler, responded to this review, 26 January 2015
Google Translation
Diese Rückmeldung stammt aus der Zeit vor unserem Pachtantritt, darum möchten wir hierzu keine Stellung nehmen. Unsere Ära begann im Januar 2012.

Brigit Leicht und Heinz Blattmann mit Schlossteam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Schloss Muenchenwiler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Muenchenwiler

Property: Schloss Muenchenwiler
Address: Munchenwiler 1797, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bern Mittelland District > Munchenwiler
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Munchenwiler
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schloss Muenchenwiler 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Schloss Muenchenwiler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing