We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenace issues in refurbised hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Fontainebleau Ury
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ury
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was particularly attracted to us when we saw on the website a complete refurbishment had been done April 2013 and were dismayed corridors were being repainted also all doors adacent to the reception - why was this interruption to guests happening a year after a complete refurbishment?
2. We asked a lady at the front desk on the Sunday morning to reserve a restaurant in Ury. They were not open when we rang so she asked to call back later in the afternoon. We did this and spoke to an elder gentleman who said the only restaurant was not open on a Sunday and suggested we try Le Caveau des Lys in Fontainebleau and said we would not need to make a reservation. The restaurant looked very nice but we were most disappointed when told they were full and recommended ALWAYS to make a reservation. When returning to the hotel we told the same man we were disappointed and he said "sorry" That was 2 pieces of poor information.
3. We had 3 maintenance issues and only one was satisfactoraly fixed, this was the bedroom door did not lock - the maintenance man had to file out the hole in the lock striking plate to make it larger so it would engage, so clearly it had not worked previously.
We complained the air conditioning was not very cold and despite the maintenance man checking it, there was no improvement.
On the second day there was no cold water in the wash basin in the bathroom. It was better later in the day after it had been attended to while we were in the room, however the next morning it was the same warm or hot water, not cold.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0384GM, Directeur général at Novotel Fontainebleau Ury, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Your stay in my hotel clearly did not meet your expectations and you have highlighted certain issues regarding the services that we provided.

Firstly, please allow me to say how sorry I am that we did not meet your expectations.
I consider such matters to be extremely important, your comments have therefore been shared with my team and together we are working on solving these issues so that our service will no longer disappoint in this area.

To return on the painting of corridors, regrettably and in spite of the works, we are permanently obliged to maintain the hotel. Concerning your problems of information, I going to meet my front desk manager so that he makes sure that all the information given to the customers are right. To finish on your technical problems, once again, I am sorry and I am going to meet my technical service to know the reasons of these problems.

I do hope that, despite these issues, we will be able to welcome you again as a client of Novotel. Should you choose to stay in my hotel again, please do not hesitate to contact me. I will personally ensure that you get a room that will meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Cyril GAST
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

With a transilien train from Paris Gare de Lyon you get to Fontainebleau-Avon in about 40 minutes. Ask the hotel staff to get you a taxi to location for true relaxation with cycling, boule, tennis, etc. to not miss the open-door swimming pool - all in the area prefered by artists.

Room Tip: Select a room with an exit close to garden. Coffee served there is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waldemar_Schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0384GM, Directeur général at Novotel Fontainebleau Ury, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Fontainebleau Ury.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best Regards,

Cyril GAST
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had read mixed reviews of this Novotel but decided to book anyway as it was a one night stay. What as lovely surprise after a long drive to arrive at this semi- rural site ten minutes drive from the Chateau. The exterior is quirky but that shouldn't put you off because the inside has been renovated to a high standard. The rooms are simple and functional with good beds and bed linen. The bathroom is modern and very clean with good towels. We decided to eat in and we were not disappointed . The menu was good value for money and everything was well presented. We had a room rate which included breakfast otherwise we wouldn't have been happy to pay 31 euros for two breakfasts.
We were a little surprised that the breakfast buffet disappeared at 9.30am precisely despite the fact that people had only just started to eat. Breakfast is available until 9.30 but be there in time because it will be whisked away on the dot! Strange.
The car park is huge,the outdoor activities looked good and the spa was recommended too.Overall an excellent place to stay. Oh and the staff were nice too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0384GM, Directeur général at Novotel Fontainebleau Ury, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to answer our questionnaire.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Fontainebleau Ury.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Cyril GAST
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very clean and very comfortable room ( good bed )Very quiet place .the negatve point is the following : the breakfast could be either included or have an acceptable price which was not the case for us Unfortunately

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0384GM, Directeur général at Novotel Fontainebleau Ury, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Madam, Sir,
I thank you for these nice comments.
In the pleasure to welcome you again

Cyril GAST
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

One more time I was happy to have my copilote named GPS as coming from the back road at one point I felt I was going to harvest sugar beets!!!!! but eventually I did arrive at the hotel which is in the middle of nowhere. The rooms and bath room seem to be a carbon copy of the amenities of the Mercure hotels as they are part of the same accor group.This hotel is absolutely perfect when traveling from the south of France and departing from Orly airport the following day as the drive from the hotel to the airport takes only 45 minutes to one hour.
The breakfast is very satisfying and the price correct .

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor very close to the front desk and enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GCC-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wallydove
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank WJohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ury
5.7 mi away
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
Ibis Chateau de Fontainebleau
#2 of 12 in Fontainebleau
556 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
Mercure Royal Fontainebleau
#7 of 12 in Fontainebleau
288 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aigle Noir Hotel
Aigle Noir Hotel
#1 of 12 in Fontainebleau
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Les Pleiades
Hotel Les Pleiades
#2 of 3 in Barbizon
320 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#9 of 12 in Fontainebleau
147 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
Hotellerie du Bas-Breau
#1 of 3 in Barbizon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Fontainebleau Ury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Fontainebleau Ury

Address: Route Nationale 152 | Chemin de Melun, 77760 Ury, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Seine-et-Marne > Ury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ury
Price Range: £70 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Fontainebleau Ury 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Novotel Fontainebleau Ury was fully-renovated in spring 2013 and has 126 rooms located 6.2 miles (10 km) from Fontainebleau and its palace. The hotel has a restaurant with terrace, a bar and a spa with an outdoor swimming pool heated to 30 degrees year round. It also offers more than 10,765 sq. ft (1000 m²) of rooms for conferences, meetings and family events of up to 300 people. The hotel is accessible from exit 14 of the A6 and has free unlimited WIFI and an enclosed car park. Hotel highlightsGet some fresh air just 1 hour from Paris and enjoy a swim in our outdoor swimming pool, heated to 30 degrees all year round and accessible from inside our spa, it's just like being in the mountains! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Fontainebleau Ury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Fontainebleau
Ury Novotel
Accor Fontainebleau Ury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing