We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinarily Good”

La Table de Sorgues
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Sorgues
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$39 - US$62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: C’est dans notre maison que nous vous accueillons pour vous proposer une cuisine gourmande, dans une ambiance chaleureuse et détendue, pour se sentir un peu comme chez soi, dans un esprit « table d’Hôtes ».
Kincardine, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extraordinarily Good”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

From this trip and another one two years previously in the south of France, this restaurant was head and shoulders above any other restaurant we visited. The menu changes weekly, on Mondays. There are 2 menus, each with a couple of choices of entree and plat. On our first visit we were served about 8 - 10 different servings - amuse bouche, 2 or 3 entrees, 2 or 3 plats, dessert and the chef's thankyou after coffee. Every serving was beautifully presented and tasty. The owners demonstrated their experience from 17 years running a chateau hotel in central France in the impeccable service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    48
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner despite the unassuming location”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We planned to have 'a special dinner' to end our week vacation in Provence. In a last-minute decision we preferred La Table de Sorgues over Le Vivier in L'Isle sur La Sorgue. Boy are we happy with the decision! This was an amazing experience from start to end. The restaurant is located near the main square of the blue-collar town of Sorgues but once you get inside, the setting and atmosphere are very welcoming and romantic. We came on a Tuesday night and the place was half empty but we got a very attentive service. The food was truly sublime. Each course on it's own is small but since there are many courses, freebies and surprises beyond what's in the menu, by the end we were highly satisfied and more than full. Each menu includes a selection of cheeses from a huge cheese trolley (we counted over 20 cheeses !). The only negative comment is that the wine menu doesn't offer half bottles and most of the bottles offered are on the (very) expensive side. So we ended up ordering the 'by the glass' wine offered by the house (which was great).

One point to note is that the place has only two fixed menus (priced 38 and 52 Euro) without any selection in them. We ended up ordering one of each for the purpose of variety. The menus change weekly and they are published on the restaurant website so if you are a 'problematic eater', I recommend you check them out before coming to make sure you can find something to your taste.

Overall we had an amazing time and we highly recommended it for special occasions or simply when you are willing to pay a bit extra for a really great experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Yair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A beautiful midday break from touring CDP”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our guide booked a table for us here and we were in the capable hands of Sandrine. Had a lovely table in the front courtyard. Everything done here is truly thoughtful and high quality. Save room for the cheese cart and order a glass of the magical Clos de Trias "v. 2.0" Vieilles Vignes. Finish off with the sublime sorbet cerise. Brilliant lunch and fine service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank canoehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were able to arrange a lunch booking earlier this week after a strong recommendation from a Cave owner in Chateauneuf du Pape. What a great call. Made all the more interesting by its location (the nondescript village of Sorgues), this restaurant provided us with a very memorable lunch experience with two friends, and our 3 year old son. We sat outside in the courtyard as it was a lovely day, but also noted 2-3 sizable and very nice looking interior areas. The service was excellent, including the staff being very comfortable with us drifting between our modest (but improving French) and our native English. The food was outstanding, and not excessive despite the number of courses. The lunch menu was initially described to us as 4 courses, but we counted 8, with several very interesting insertions. A nice touch for us was their treatment of our 3 year old, who we didn't order for, but shared with from our plates, until they brought him his own special desert. Located midway between Chateaneuf du Pape and Avignon (10-15min drive from either), this place should be seriously considered when visiting either, particularly the former, where options are less. We have had several excellent meals during our 2 months living in Uzes, and this was right up there with the best.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best meals ever!!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were staying in Chateau Gigonan and they booked a table in this restaurant for us. What an amazing meal. One of the best meals that I have had in France or ever. This is Michelin quality with really reasonable prices. Cheese trolley to die for. Stunning wine. Would highly highly recommend. I would go back to Sorgues just to eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emma k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table de Sorgues also viewed

Courthezon, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-de-Gadagne, L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue, Vaucluse
 
Chateauneuf-du-Pape, Vaucluse
Vaison-la-Romaine, Vaucluse
 

Been to La Table de Sorgues? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing