We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will use again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englos
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I found this a typical Holiday in meeting the standards of a midmarket brand and would certainly come again.
I had one or two small gripes that were irritating and that the hotel could easily put right, firstly in common with other Northern French Holiday Inn's they turn the personal air con settings off into May my room was very stuffy and opening the window allowed traffic noise that I would not have not noticed because of the double glazing otherwise. Secondly it was the first time I have rung reception about the pillow menu and it seemed a huge trial to them and we only got 2 out of 4 I asked for- don't offer the service if you don't want to deliver it! Thirdly they had plenty of English Language news cannels but no entertainment ones I realise there is probably a cost and the number of English speaking Guest's is the factor here but so close to the Belgium boarder they must have many Flemish customers who would find BBC 1 or 2 a advantage as well.

Room Tip: Maybe avoid odd numbers they face a slip road for the motorway that is not terrible does have traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

The air conditionning should be turn on from the front office to let you manage this one from your room. You should advised the reception from this.

Regarding the pilow menu, we offer this service and we apologize that reception did not deliver it good.

Be sure that we are working to offer you the best service.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you travel to Lille.

Asma, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

I last stayed in this hotel shortly before it was taken over by the Holiday Inn franchise. It still looks dreadful from the outside in its secure gated enclosure (a bit like a prison?). However, inside it's really good - fully refurbished with an excellent standard of equipment and décor. I liked the walk-in shower and the excellent bed. The TV's bolted to the wall so you cannot swivel it to see it from anywhere other than the bed. There was a complimentary mini-bar with 2 small bottles of water! What was really poor though are paper (not crockery) cups to make your tea / coffee in - horrible money / time saving niggle that lets the quality down. Also, the free Wi-Fi doesn't allow you to make calls over the internet (like Skype) - no doubt because the mobile telecoms company Orange provides the service - this is daft. The air-con did not work, but at least I could open the window. It is really well located for car travellers from the UK en-route another location, just a few moments from the AutoRoute, but if you would like to visit the local area, including Lille itself, you really do need a car as it's very isolated. Overall, good value, and better than its previous incarnation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

Be Sure that we are doing our best to offer you the best service.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you travel to Lille.

Asma, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great location to visit ww1 battlefields in northern france and Belgium. Essy access to shopping large area with fast food outlets, supermarkets etc. Room was comfortable and room service was friendly, some staff spoke english which made checkin/out easy!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

It is a pleasure to read this one !

We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you travel to Lille.

Asma, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Hotel looks a bit grim from the outside but inside it is quite decent. Rooms are big enough for family of 4 with 1 large bed and a 2-sleeper sofa bed. The main bed was exceptionally comfortable and I had a great nights sleep with the motorway noise not impacting at all (although my room overlooked the garden rather than the road).
Breakfast was a real mix of tasty croissants and pain au chocolates but ghastly cold pancakes. However no one went hungry.
Overall, this hotel is decent value and provides a convenient place to stay on the outskirts of Lille with ample free parking facilities and free wifi. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden/pool offer a nicer view than those overlooking the road or car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review.
We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again when you travel to Lille.
Anaïs, Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent three nights here and was disappointed.
Breakfast was a 'free for all' and the evening meals were not brilliant quality.
The room was in need of refurbishment. The safe did not work, the the toilet area was shabby and the previous occupants had managed to soak the bathroom floor which then soaked the bedroom area. As the shower head and attachment was u/s it was hardly surprising.
All this was pointed out to the staff - to no avail !
The location is not too good either as it is quite a way from the town area.
I expect better from Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 63Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review, I regret you did not have a pleasant stay.
The fact you reported the problem and we were unable to resolve it is very disappointing.
We certainly could have moved you to another room if one was available or assisted in some other way.
I will share your comments with every department and take the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
Anaïs, Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If you are used to big cities' Holiday Inn hotels you will find poor brother here. However If you just seek clean bed en route, this hotel will meet your expectations. If you booked it for comfort and experience of what sometimes stands behind this chain- you will be disappointed. Rooms are small and have very basic facilities inside. Ours had shower and no bath. TV was flat screen on the wall. Tea facilities with limited choice, small fridge, branded notepad but no pen next to it. One tiny shower gel bottle for family of three. I asked for a bathrobe and slippers, they do not have it at all. Our room overlooked the small pool and when window was closed we did not hear motorway noise. It was good, quiet night. Room was clean.

I recommend booking rate with dinner (133 euros) as food is actually good. Restaurant interior is not appealing but they cook good food and present it very nice. We had steak and scallops plus very decent starters and deserts. Coffee with macaroon and little cakes was a great concept. Cheesecake was average.

Breakfast had limited choice in all categories and nothing was appealing. I decided not to touch hot buffet. Coffee is from the self service machine and is terrible. I would skip breakfast if I knew what to expect. I have noticed the server (lady with short hair) dropping the fork on the floor and still placing it on the table. I wonder if she would choose to use such fork to put food to her mouth herself but she decided that someone else will...

Now to service. Staff does not really understand English. I had to rely on my very limited French at all times. Asked in their language if they speak English, everyone replies "no". I just gave up at occasions as I could not achieve much in terms of communicating our specific needs or preferences. If they do not understand you, ignoring is the solution. At check out young receptionist gave me someone else bill to pay... They are not rude, they just do not have skills to serve international clients accustomed to this chain.

To finish on the positive note: as a IHG gold member I got voucher for a free drink- I chose glass of champagne and it was gladly served.

Would I stay again: only if I really have no other option.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank pekao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize.
I will share your comments with every department and take the necessary steps to ensure this does not happen again in the future.
I remain at your disposal.
Anaïs, Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here as a leader of a school group touring Europe. This was a really nice hotel. There's not much to do in the immediate area so you'll want to use this as a place to sleep and that's about it.

I went to work out in the "fitness centre" but opted instead to just go for a run outside. It wasn't much of a workout room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DidierNicolle, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your review.
Kindly note, close to the hotel, there is a big commercial centre Englos les Geants where you will find many different shops, 5-10 minutes walking distance.
Anaïs, Guest relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Englos
2.6 mi away
Ibis Lille Lomme Centre
1.7 mi away
Kyriad Lille Ouest - Lomme
3.3 mi away
Campanile Lille Sud - Chr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Premiere Classe Lille Ouest - Lomme
2.8 mi away
La Ferme Blanche
La Ferme Blanche
#1 of 1 in Lompret
62 reviews
3.8 mi away
Adagio Access Lille Vauban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos

Address: Autoroute A25 Lille Dunkerque | Impasse Bertha Sortie Englos, 59320 Englos, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Englos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Englos
Price Range: £54 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lille Ouest Englos Hotel Englos
Accor Lille Ouest Englos
Novotel Lille
Englos Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing