We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Econolodge level of luxury but very pretty and a great pool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel El Atlantico

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio Hondo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Atlantico
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Hondo
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Econolodge level of luxury but very pretty and a great pool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at Hotel Atlantico and had a nice stay. Our room was one half a duplex and was basic, pleasantly decorated and clean. The pool area is awesome. The food at the restaurant was excellent but we spent nearly as much on dinner as we did on the room. This is a great place to overnight if you are headed too Copan and don't think you can make the border crossing. (It's about two hours to the ruins. )

Our only complaint were the roosters crowing at night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    14
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
6
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were on a family trip on June 22, good that we were able to make reservations on time,
the Front Desk clerk was able to keep our luggage in a little storage room and when we came back from Chiquimula, they had 4 rooms all together. they all are almost the same. The weather is HOT and dry. The swimming pool and the restaurant service by the poole are great.
They have late check out fees between US$10.00 and US$40.00
Nice gardens, nice birds all around.
Bring your beach towels.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertousky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions while doing medical mission work in Zacapa Guatemala, each stay was about 7 nights. While my experience may have been slightly different because I was part of a large group that uses the hotel often, I have really enjoyed my stays. The rooms are nice and large and have AC. The new complex is especially nice, even with hot water which the cabins lack. The grounds are a quite nice, with well-kept gardens and a flock of birds they keep (including a peacock for some reason).The pool is a gem to have there, but the surface definitely needs to be cleaned more often. The food is good, the drinks are OK, but overall, you won't find anything better outside of Antigua or Guatemala City in the country.

Room Tip: The new complex is better than the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I had to stay one night in this hotel on my way to Quirigua. My experiences were varied: the hotel is located in a really strange place: outside the gate is dust, heavy traffic, a stop for all kinds of buses and lots of cheap comedors, inside it's a lovely garden with bungalows, a huge pool and two small ones, and shaded outdoor seating. The girl at the reception couldn't care less (and her attitude was especially strange in Guatemala where people usually are very friendly). My room in a bungalow (no 11) was quite basic, and soundproofing was bad as usual, I could perfectly hear my neighbours watching tv at 2.30 a.m. There was a birthday party in one of the conference halls, but they also placed a loudspeaker outside the building (god knows why, the party was all inside), so the tranquillity of the place was totally ruined. When I complained, they turned down the volume a little. However, the restaurant staff was very friendly, the food was good, and the pool was great, huge, just the right temperature and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiloptaelanevemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Try not asking for a dinner 15 minutes before the chef leaves the hotel. The food they will serve you will be cold!!!! terrible experience. The worst is that the people at the front desk and the waitresses did not care.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2010

A couple of friends and I got the tradition of coming to this hotel every end of the year. Every December we would pack our things and drive for two and a half hours in a heavy traffic just to get here. Why? Because it IS good.

This place is the perfect getaway to cut all connections with everyday life and just enjoy a day of swimming, relaxing and a couple of beers while in the beautiful swimming pool, the nice restaurant, or the great rooms.

I'm so sad we haven't been able to come back with my friends, but I sure will with my wife and post something again.

P.S. The BEST Seafood Soup I've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

I stayed at the El Atlantico while on a mission trip with Hearts in Motion. The rooms were basic, but comfortable. the pool was a little cloudy, but since I was scared to death of getting sick from the water, I stayed out of it. Some of my colleagues went in and found it refreshing. The bar was fine, the smoothies were very refreshing. Most of our food was provided and and generally acceptable, my one recommendation is to avoid any beef. Guatemalan cows are skinny and the meat is tough. The seafood and chicken were delicious.

Anyone traveling to this area of Guatemala needs to be prepared for the lack of hot water.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank girthjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Hondo
0.0 mi away
Grand Caporal Hotel
Grand Caporal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chiquimula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
62.6 mi away
Hotel Mansion del Rio
56.5 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#3 of 14 in Coban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
89.1 mi away
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
Amatique Bay Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Puerto Barrios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
13.8 mi away
Resort y Parque Acuatico Valle Dorado
62.3 mi away
Banana Palms Hotel Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Atlantico

Property: Hotel El Atlantico
Address: Km 126, Ruta A La Atlantico, Rio Hondo, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Zacapa Department > Rio Hondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rio Hondo
Number of rooms: 84

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing