We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the area”
Review of Hotel Longarone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rio Hondo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Longarone
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio Hondo
Reviewed 8 November 2011

There are not many options for many miles. But this is a nice enough place, pretty clean too. They have a GREAT pool, and is next to a small water park (price not included in hotel to go to water park). The food is great, and the BEST coffee I have ever had in my life. Seriously there coffee is amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BellaFella82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Longarone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2010

Hotel Longarone - Italian for 'reminds me of my homeland' This was a safe compound, dark inside and had the bare essentials. The restaurant and grounds were awesome - make sure you enjoy the fresh heart of palm salad - the best ever.

Stayed: February 2007, travelled on business
4  Thank ToniH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

July of '09 was my 4th stay at the Longarone. I have stayed there when I am on church mission trips. The rooms are spacious, the staff is very accomodating, the pool is terrific, the dining room has excellent food, the laundry service is reasonable and reliable, and their restaurant menu has a lot of variety. I have found that the staff's English is a bit limited, but while they may lack in English, they make up for it in their helpfulness. Occasionally the internet service offered in the lobby is a little unreliable. Seems that whenever it rains, their service is down. This is a great place though, and I will be there for the 5th time in November.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
5  Thank Arriba627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

I stayed here on Oct 29 2008. Room was ok as far as Guatemala goes. I was quoted 338Q for the night. I ended up coming back the next night on my way back from Poptun. I didn't ask for a price. The next morning they charged me 507Q that's way to much for that type of property. I argued about it but to no effect. I won't stay there again. If you do stay get a quote first.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CentraAmericaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Our first family stay was over Christmas 1975. It became a family Christmas favorite for this Canadian family for several subsequent years. I recently returned solo after more than 20 years and found Hotel Longarone to be in excellent shape, with many improvements, such as a new dining room and a new reception area. The units were spotless, with effective air conditioning. The rates were very reasonable by international standards. All in all, a delightful stay. Would recommend it highly

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Yukonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2007

I recently went on a Medical Mission to the Zacapa area. This is a desert like area but during the rainy season in which we went it is not only hot but humid. After a long day working in opressive heat, you can't imagine the joy of returning to this lovely Hotel.
The rooms are quite clean, the air conditioners work wonderfully, good TV with some English channels and the staff was very nice, but wait! The best part was the totally awesome pool. Nice and cool, with 2 diving boards in the deep end (about 16ft.) and a water slide that the kids will love. I stayed there for 5 days and really looked forward to that pool at the end of each day.
I thought the restaurant had the best food out of 3 in the area we tried. The price of the stay was very reasonable.
The downsides: no one speaks any English so speaking Spanish is a must. The showers were sometimes short of hot water.
All in all, it is a great hotel for a remote area of a 3rd world country. If anyone ever has a need to stay over in that area of Guatemala, do not hesitate to stay in this wonderful hotel. You won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JHBRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elymaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Hondo
0.0 mi away
Grand Caporal Hotel
Grand Caporal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Chiquimula
30 reviews
13.6 mi away
Resort y Parque Acuatico Valle Dorado
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Cruz
Hotel Santa Cruz
#2 of 2 in Rio Hondo
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hostal Casa Vieja
Hostal Casa Vieja
#1 of 6 in Chiquimula
11 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Longarone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Longarone

Address: KM 126 Ruta Al Atlantico | Rio Hondo, Rio Hondo, Guatemala
Region: Guatemala > Zacapa Department > Rio Hondo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rio Hondo
Number of rooms: 74

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing