We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serenita Spa Auberge
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sacacomie(Saint-Alexis-des-Monts)
US$390
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$379
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Motel le Saint-Alex(Saint-Alexis-des-Monts)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Normandie(Louiseville)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge des Pins Rouges(Saint-Alexis-des-Monts)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Auberge Le Flores(Grand-Mere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
69
11
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
11
2
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We visited Serenita over the Labour Day long weekend to celebrate our first anniversary and had a great time. We plan to return in the not-too-distant future.

The food is the best thing about the place. Edi, the co-owner, is a great cook and the breakfasts are delicious, and the five-course dinners are even more outstanding (and an outstanding value at $35, taxes included).

The location is the second-best thing. It's right on Lac Bélanger, which is a beautiful, quiet lake that is a great place for a peaceful kayak ride or to just hang out on the dock and read a book. There's also a hot tub just up the hill from the lake. The auberge is also about a 40-minute drive from Mauricie National Park, which is a very worthwhile day trip (the owners rent out bikes, but there isn't a big variety and they were too big for my petite wife, unfortunately). The auberge was a nice 3-3.5 hour drive from Ottawa, yet seemed much further away.

Next is the value — at $110 a night, it's a good deal.

There are three *minor* downsides:

First, the shared bathrooms. We don't normally stay at places without ensuites, and it's nice to have your own, but it turned out to not really be an issue.

Second, Serenita only accepts cash or cheque, something I wasn't aware of before our visit, which prompted a last-minute trip to an ATM in town in order to settle up. I'd be willing to pay a bit more in order to use my credit card.

Third, sound travels a bit between the rooms. It wasn't an issue when we were there because they weren't fully booked and our neighbours were relatively quiet, but if you had noisy neighbours I could see it becoming an issue.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karpa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edy53, Owner at Serenita Spa Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about Serenita. We very much appreciate your comments. We noted the point regarding credit cards, unfortunately, unlike yourself, many people don't want to pay extra in order to be able to use their credit cards. Since there are many hidden fees that people don't realize, commissions to companies such as Booking.com, Travelgia, etc. If we had to pay an extra fee to credit cards, we might as well not be in business. Therefore we prefer to spoil our clients with little extras like organic and locally grown produce (which is more expensive) and not charge the extra fees to be able to use credit cards.

Have a wonderful autumn and looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Edy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Everything that you need for a great stay in Quebec is there. Serenita is beautifully placed at a peaceful location by the lake. Edi and Louis-Pierre are great hosts that will make you feel like at home. Do not miss their 5-course dinners. Edi is a great cook, and an expert massage therapist. Some may find shared bathrooms as an inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night in August 2013.Hotel only has 4 rooms none ensuite but with 3 excellent bathrooms no real issues .Bedrooms clean comfortable & very cosy,we paid $110 per night for double room.
The auberge is located on the edge of a beautiful lake, quite isolated but enchanting.We had a superb 4 course gourmet meal which we pre booked @ $35 per person, wine was $20 bottle. Auberge specialised in spa treatments but due to time constraints we did not partake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edy53, Owner at Serenita Spa Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your thoughts on Serenita and our services. It is truly appreciated and we hope to be able to spoil you and/or friends again in the near future. Be well and have a great rest of the year!

Edy and Louis-Pierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This gem is hard to describe in words. The location is truly serenity per se - St-Alexis-des-Monts is a cozy little township nestled in rolling hills rich in lakes and about an hour's drive away from the La Mauricie national park, and Serenita is a few hundred meters deep into a forest at the shore of a romantic little lake. The historic wooden house is lovingly decorated, with an incredibly cute dining hall and ample public areas for reading and enjoying the magnificent, serene view from the panoramic windows. There are plenty of bathrooms so that sharing is no problem at all. And then the absolute high-light - the hosts Edy and Louis-Pierre are so charming, and it is hard to decide what is more spectacular: Edy's cooking skills (5-course gourmet meals - made from organic ingredients, this elegant home cooking is equally delicious and healthy) or Edy's massage skills (she used to be a massage instructor and has truly magic hands). One really wishes that time would stand still and one never would have to leave again... A gem!!!

Room Tip: both queen and double beds are available - but reserve in advance as there are just 6 rooms in total
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biz_world-traveler_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edy53, Owner at Serenita Spa Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to put your comments on Trip Advisor. We hope to see you again and wish you the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at Serenita for a weekend. The food was spectacular. The setting is spectacular, and the hosts are very warm and welcoming. Lots to do - cycling, kayaking, walking. I'm saving the treatments for next time. A big 'thank you' for a peaceful, tasteful and relaxing weekend in the middle of beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edy53, Owner at Serenita Spa Auberge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Thank you for your comments. We strive very hard to make each client's experience at Serenita, one to remember positively. We think of you often and look forward to one day seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews