We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting but...”
Review of Hotel Sacacomie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sacacomie
Reviewed 6 August 2013

the setting is beautiful, the beach is small but nice, swimming and boating are great. Long walk to water front.
The only other thing to do without paying extra is hiking but the hiking trails are not maintained, overgrown, not in sync with maps and signage is poor. In the evenings there is not much to do: no cards or games available, no bonfire by the beach (like 3 years ago) Some of the rooms are small and not too clean. Service at bar was poor and unfriendly.

Room Tip: pick lake view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovingcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. They will be given to the concern department for a follow up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 1,202 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

One night trip to Sacacomie to escape the city. We enjoyed the quietness of the hotel even though it was quite busy. We were able to sleep with the patio door open and were not bothered by any noise.

We had a lakeside room on the first floor but our view of the lake was shielded by trees. Rooms on the same floor but farther from the restaurant have a better view. The room was a bit too small and dark and the tub in the room was not very inviting. The bed was comfortable. Carpets everywhere in the hotel could be cleaner.

Dinner was included in our package and was actually quite good. Our starters were a bit disappointing (foie gras is not worth the extra charge and the ris the veau was boring). The main courses were a lot better (we had wapiti and cerf). Our waiter was really nice and professional. The maître d'hôtel however looked stressed out and was not very welcomy. Breakfast was chaotic but the food was very good. The eggs/omelette staff was suprisingly efficient.

We were impressed by the variety of activities offered. We went canoeing, spent some time on the beach and hiked. We are used to spending our vacations deeper in the Quebec woods and much farther from civilization but Sacacomie is a good option for a short trip.

Room Tip: Pick lakeside, second floor and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you had a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Yes we loved it really. Amazing view from our room, great beaver and black beer watching, great food, excellent staff.
Even though we experienced a roof lick in the corridor to our room with associated work noise for half a day, we would recommend Sacacomie greatly as it is a true experience of life in a Wild environment.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Oloeillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for those great comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unless you've got more money than sense don't go near this hotel!
The manage was extremely rude and ignorant towards us. He argued that their website is not confusing- even though I as the customer was saying it was.
We were assured on arrival that the package we had attempted to book online had been booked and all food was included. However on checking out they added another 467 dollars to our bill- having already paid over 500 dollars- in total over £600 for 2 NIGHTS!!!
The manager was not interested in hearing we'd been fed misinformation on arrival or that they had failed to confirm by email our request of a package.
Overall a very expensive mistake and we certainly will not be returning or recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

We are very sorry your stay was not as you expected it. Your comments were send to our deptment for a follow up. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel sacacomie is a fantastic location, a wooden hotel overlooking a beautiful lake.
Until we arrived at the hotel we were a little disappointed about nature in this part of canada.
There is still a lot of civilisation and farming in this region , but for the really wild you have to go farther north.
We took part of the bear and beaver excursion, which is quite fun, you see the mammals in their natural habitat, The beasts were feeded so it isn't really rough but you have the possibility to see the animals in the wild.
For 40 dollars you can enjoy the spa for a whole day/evening and it was really relaxing.
In the lake you can freely use the canoe and watercycles of the hotel.
I suggest to take a room at the lakeside, they are more expensive but you have a balcony with a beautiful view. Service is good, the food is not really special compared to the standard of the hotel. Overall quite expensive but it is worth a lot.

Room Tip: Pay something more and take a room at the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oskarenerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank very much for your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is fully made of wood and is a great experience. It is beautifully located in the woods next to the lake. It is a great place for outdoor activities, especially hiking and canoeing.

Some reviews say it is not 4 star. Well, this is not the typical 12-in-a dozen hotel. The rooms are basic, the shower is not fantastic, there is no tv in the room, there is no aircon. And yet it is a great experience that you will certainly enjoy. Don't expect luxury, expect a great experience. Plenty of All is so relaxed. No forms to fill, no credit card deposits, no waivers, no key cards. Plenty of stuffed animals in the lobby, it is just great.

The food is good and reasonably priced. The canoeing is just absolutely fabulous, The canoes are just available at the beach and you can use whatever you want. Don;t miss the opportunity!

Unless you are really fanatic, I would recommend this place for a 2 max 3 days stay.

The walk from the hotel to the lake is a long steep path with stairs. Nice work out!

There are some musquito's but not as bad as I had anticipated. Rooms are musquito free. Bring some repellent creme though!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeendertVis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane G, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you again in winter!
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I go to this Hotel every year, and every time we can. We love the amazing scenery, friendly staff and room comfort. The first time we stayed there, we had just suffered the loss of our long time pet, we needed to get away from the house. We drove to Sacacomie at 2 am, they gave us a balcony-view room. We crashed on the bed exhausted. The comfort of the beds are just amazing, we never wanted to get up the next morning. We love that there aren't any TV's or anything else distracting. Its just nature, and you.

I also recommend getting a massage and spa treatment. Very worth while. I look forward in visiting again this summer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank captsha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane G, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you so much for your comments. We will be pleased to see you soon!
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
11.9 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
381 reviews
5 mi away
Auberge des Pins Rouges
Auberge des Pins Rouges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
31 reviews
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
526 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite & Chalet
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite &...
#3 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
67 reviews
5.6 mi away
Serenita Spa Auberge
Serenita Spa Auberge
#2 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacacomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacacomie

Address: 4000 Yvon-Plante Road, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Price Range: £264 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sacacomie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacacomie Lodge is a door to nature. Nestled in the heart of the forest and bordering the Mastigouche wildlife reserve, it overlooks a majestic lake whose shore extends for more than 42 kilometres. In this enchanting site where nature reigns supreme, the log-built blends in harmoniously with the scenery offering amazing hospitality. Rustic outside and welcoming inside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacacomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacacomie Hotel Quebec
Hotel Sacacomie Canada/Saint-Alexis-Des-Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing