We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three days in a wilderness paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sacacomie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sacacomie
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Three days in a wilderness paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We arrived at Sacacomie Lodge feeling a little apprehensive after reading some of the reviews on here.We had booked three nights here as part of a self drive tour through Ontario and Quebec.But
we really needn't have worried, from the moment we arrived we found the reception staff friendly and helpful.The hotel itself is a beautiful construction of huge logs in a cabin style and is very appealing, with interesting taxidermy and polar bear skins on the walls.
Our room, sadly not a lake view but a forest view ,was clean ,basic but very comfortable.There was no air conditioning but a fan was better than nothing.
The food was amazing, beautifully served and presented with friendly professional staff. The sauces and main courses were some of the best tasting food we have ever experienced.They accommodated my vegetarian requirements without any difficulty and nothing was too much trouble.The hotel was very busy during our stay but they seemed to cope well with this. The drinks terrace had a breath taking view , but it was here that we had our only gripe, the young female staff seemed to ignore us and we spent ages waiting to get attended to.They seemed to busy themselves doing anything but serve us!On other days the male staff were very efficient and friendly. Use of the spa pool was very expensive ($40 each) and the free pool was small and indoors ,limited to 10 people only.
True, there is a long walk down to the beach with many steps but the walkways give you a chance to catch your breath before the next set of steps and it is quite an experience .The beach side and lake is truly beautiful and we loved the freedom of grabbing a life jacket and whatever boat was available on the lake edge and go off kayaking or canoeing or even pedalo boating.Motor boats were also available but not free of charge.We could always find a vacant beach lounger and there was plenty to watch, boats,people swimming, sea planes or just to doze off in the sunshine and relax.
We enjoyed several adventure trips, beaver and bear watching , and the commander buggies.These were excellent with well informed and friendly guides who made sure we had a real adventure.Expensive but unmissable,we saw two huge black bears and whole family of beavers in one evening,
We would love to return here again to enjoy a winter experience,the skidoo trails look as if they would be brilliant and it has a lot to offer any season of the year.

Room Tip: Lake view and balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fujismum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We will be pleased to welcome you again during winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    317
    197
    82
    46
See reviews for
311
507
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

the setting is beautiful, the beach is small but nice, swimming and boating are great. Long walk to water front.
The only other thing to do without paying extra is hiking but the hiking trails are not maintained, overgrown, not in sync with maps and signage is poor. In the evenings there is not much to do: no cards or games available, no bonfire by the beach (like 3 years ago) Some of the rooms are small and not too clean. Service at bar was poor and unfriendly.

Room Tip: pick lake view rooms with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovingcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. They will be given to the concern department for a follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

One night trip to Sacacomie to escape the city. We enjoyed the quietness of the hotel even though it was quite busy. We were able to sleep with the patio door open and were not bothered by any noise.

We had a lakeside room on the first floor but our view of the lake was shielded by trees. Rooms on the same floor but farther from the restaurant have a better view. The room was a bit too small and dark and the tub in the room was not very inviting. The bed was comfortable. Carpets everywhere in the hotel could be cleaner.

Dinner was included in our package and was actually quite good. Our starters were a bit disappointing (foie gras is not worth the extra charge and the ris the veau was boring). The main courses were a lot better (we had wapiti and cerf). Our waiter was really nice and professional. The maître d'hôtel however looked stressed out and was not very welcomy. Breakfast was chaotic but the food was very good. The eggs/omelette staff was suprisingly efficient.

We were impressed by the variety of activities offered. We went canoeing, spent some time on the beach and hiked. We are used to spending our vacations deeper in the Quebec woods and much farther from civilization but Sacacomie is a good option for a short trip.

Room Tip: Pick lakeside, second floor and away from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Yes we loved it really. Amazing view from our room, great beaver and black beer watching, great food, excellent staff.
Even though we experienced a roof lick in the corridor to our room with associated work noise for half a day, we would recommend Sacacomie greatly as it is a true experience of life in a Wild environment.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Oloeillot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for those great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Unless you've got more money than sense don't go near this hotel!
The manage was extremely rude and ignorant towards us. He argued that their website is not confusing- even though I as the customer was saying it was.
We were assured on arrival that the package we had attempted to book online had been booked and all food was included. However on checking out they added another 467 dollars to our bill- having already paid over 500 dollars- in total over £600 for 2 NIGHTS!!!
The manager was not interested in hearing we'd been fed misinformation on arrival or that they had failed to confirm by email our request of a package.
Overall a very expensive mistake and we certainly will not be returning or recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales and marketing assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
We are very sorry your stay was not as you expected it. Your comments were send to our deptment for a follow up. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoenderloo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Hotel sacacomie is a fantastic location, a wooden hotel overlooking a beautiful lake.
Until we arrived at the hotel we were a little disappointed about nature in this part of canada.
There is still a lot of civilisation and farming in this region , but for the really wild you have to go farther north.
We took part of the bear and beaver excursion, which is quite fun, you see the mammals in their natural habitat, The beasts were feeded so it isn't really rough but you have the possibility to see the animals in the wild.
For 40 dollars you can enjoy the spa for a whole day/evening and it was really relaxing.
In the lake you can freely use the canoe and watercycles of the hotel.
I suggest to take a room at the lakeside, they are more expensive but you have a balcony with a beautiful view. Service is good, the food is not really special compared to the standard of the hotel. Overall quite expensive but it is worth a lot.

Room Tip: Pay something more and take a room at the lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskarenerika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine P, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Thank very much for your comments. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel is fully made of wood and is a great experience. It is beautifully located in the woods next to the lake. It is a great place for outdoor activities, especially hiking and canoeing.

Some reviews say it is not 4 star. Well, this is not the typical 12-in-a dozen hotel. The rooms are basic, the shower is not fantastic, there is no tv in the room, there is no aircon. And yet it is a great experience that you will certainly enjoy. Don't expect luxury, expect a great experience. Plenty of All is so relaxed. No forms to fill, no credit card deposits, no waivers, no key cards. Plenty of stuffed animals in the lobby, it is just great.

The food is good and reasonably priced. The canoeing is just absolutely fabulous, The canoes are just available at the beach and you can use whatever you want. Don;t miss the opportunity!

Unless you are really fanatic, I would recommend this place for a 2 max 3 days stay.

The walk from the hotel to the lake is a long steep path with stairs. Nice work out!

There are some musquito's but not as bad as I had anticipated. Rooms are musquito free. Bring some repellent creme though!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeendertVis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviane G, Sales assistant at Hotel Sacacomie, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Hoping to see you again in winter!
Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
11.9 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
5.0 mi away
Auberge des Pins Rouges
Auberge des Pins Rouges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.4 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
Pourvoirie Du Lac Blanc
#1 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Serenita Spa Auberge
Serenita Spa Auberge
#2 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite & Chalet
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite &...
#3 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacacomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacacomie

Property: Hotel Sacacomie
Address: 4000 Yvon-Plante Road, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sacacomie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacacomie Lodge is a door to nature. Nestled in the heart of the forest and bordering the Mastigouche wildlife reserve, it overlooks a majestic lake whose shore extends for more than 42 kilometres. In this enchanting site where nature reigns supreme, the log-built blends in harmoniously with the scenery offering amazing hospitality. Rustic outside and welcoming inside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sacacomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacacomie Hotel Quebec
Hotel Sacacomie Canada/Saint-Alexis-Des-Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing