We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff is not inviting at all...”
Review of Hotel Sacacomie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sacacomie
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I went to Sacacomie for a drink on the terrace and also to take the pulse as to know if we would spend a few days there. There is no way we would spend money in that place, we'll gladly go somewhere else, It took forever for the waiter to come outside and take our order while there was hardly a handful of people sitting there. He arrives without a Hello or any welcoming words, took our order, a gin & tonic and a margarita, and left. We waited for quite a while and he comes back, puts it on the table and that was it... How rude! For an awful Margarita made with chemical lime flavor, he could have at least smiled. A couple arrived and sat next to us. They kept looking at the door to see if someone would come. They both looked fed up while waiting for the server to come and take their order so the man got up and went to fetch their drinks... The only ones who got served quite quickly were 3 pretty young women lightly dressed... So we'll let the Sacacomi server serve young people accurately and we'll spend our money in another place where people are treated as they should be, no matter what age they are.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank helenev224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is awesome as well as the surrounding lake area. The view from the room and the hotel terrace was breathtaking. Great room with two double beds and large bathroom. No TV, but this was for the better. A small lfridge would nice though, Nice trails for walking or btt, and incredible lakes for kayaking or swimming. Very good breakafast.
The buts: restaurant, spa and non-included activities are expensive (we did the bears and beavers activity which was great but a bit expensive) and the worst aspect is the horrid decoration of the halls and common areas based on stuffed animals and bear skins. PLEASE REMOVE THEM, IT IS DISGUSTING!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Myself & my fiance just came back from 3 wonderfully relaxing days staying here. It really is wonderful. It is, as most reviews say, an expensive place to visit, the rooms themselves are expensive & once you are there you can only eat and drink what they have to offer - unless you have a car to get around, but it is worth it.

I must say that I'm somewhat confused by the bad reviews on here of this hotel as we found the staff to be friendly & more than capable of communicating in English - in fact we went on a bear & beaver trail & as the only ones there who didn't speak French, the guide explained everything in both languages perfectly.

It's a peaceful place to stay and the spa they have there is wonderful. The food is of a very good quality - yes, expensive, I would recommend that people buy the full board or at least half board before going, we didn't and wished we had as it is good value.

All in all, basic but good quality rooms, great food, very relaxing environment with lots of activities on offer if you want a more active stay here. I would most definitely recommend this hotel if you're after something different that will relax & recharge you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I can see why someone would highly rate this place. The views are unique and the place could easily qualify as "Luxury Camping". For those seeking quiet time, it will do the trick but given the price paid, the actual rooms are quite underwhelming


What I liked: The food offering is definitely top, given the remoteness and the lack of nearby options - it would be easy to provide a subpar experience to a captive audience but they know they have to cater to tourists or business groups that will want the best so they do deliver in this area. It is definitely an oasis of quietness, with a couple of interesting activities available onsite. Lots of walking / hiking trails. Perch on the side of the hill, you have great views of the nearby lake. The wood lodge style is appropriate and the common areas add to the charm of the place.

What to watch for / could be improved: Rooms are actually quite small and the room layout not very functional. Bathroom amenities are quite basic. This place is a bit of a wilderness retreat so no TVs in most rooms and cellphone reception will be spotty at best, depending on carrier (Bell and Telus seemed to fare OK, not as good with Rogers/Fido). This is great if you want to be disconnected from the rest of the worls, but not ideal if you are there as part of a business retreat. With the poor cellphone reception, this means that everybody tries to hop on the wifi, and this service is also spotty at best (probably not enough capacity). Bed was not really comfy.

Another big factor that is somewhat impacting my review is weather. Although totally outside of the control of the hotel, in unfavorable weather, this place will not be as enjoyable. It rained heavily for 3 consecutive days while there so... My biggest thing is that for what I consider to be "Luxury camping" there are more affordable (and comfortable) options available. However, if you are coming from another part of the world, looking for the Canadian/Quebec wilderness factorwhile being somewhat midway between Montreal and Quebec City, you will likely be charmed and amazed (and price won't be as much of an issue due to favorable exchange rates!!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ottwatrvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A superb position for a hotel - totally away from the hustle and bustle of city life but with all the conveniences that you might need - just a shame that things like the spa and the sauna etc were chargeable extras to your bill and the pool was almost small enough to be a large bathtub. Nevertheless we had a great two nights here - especially the bears and beavers trip - food and service were excellent and the peacefulness of the whole area is fantastic - just do not forget to bring a mosquito net for for head and a DEET spray or cream if you are going to go outside in the summer. Rooms are protected with mossie screens so we did not suffer during the night, only when we went outside.
We had a really relaxing stay - thank you Hotel Sacacomie!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWD1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Enchanting site, excellent service and food, friendly staff, superb lakes and trails, children's activities like grooming a horse and riding, trout fishing, swimming, etc. In one word OUT-OF-THIS-WORLD!

Michèle DD, St. Bruno, Quebec

Room Tip: All rooms are well located with a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mich_le_d_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you want easy access to miles of remote trails plus a four-star hotel service overnight, this is the place to head for. The accommodation is superb. A massive log cabin style hotel surrounded by some lovely lakes linked by trails that go through deep forests, over boulders and alongside waterfalls. The accommodation is impressive. There is a spa and pool (which we didn’t use), free wifi, a spacious bar selling local draft beer, and a good selection of wine, bar snacks, a great restaurant, generous buffet breakfast. The food in the restaurant is excellent. We went for the half-board option which includes a four-course evening meal for $45. Good portions, in fact we struggled to finish. Quiet and peaceful at night. We slept really well here and managed to hike to four of the local lakes. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
11.9 mi away
Le baluchon Eco Resort
Le baluchon Eco Resort
#1 of 1 in St-Paulin
381 reviews
5 mi away
Auberge des Pins Rouges
Auberge des Pins Rouges
#3 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
31 reviews
22.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Shawinigan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
Auberge du Lac-a-l'Eau-Claire
#2 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
526 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite & Chalet
Chaumiere des Tourelles - Gite &...
#3 of 5 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
67 reviews
5.6 mi away
Serenita Spa Auberge
Serenita Spa Auberge
#2 of 4 in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacacomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacacomie

Address: 4000 Yvon-Plante Road, Saint-Alexis-des-Monts, Quebec J0K 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Saint-Alexis-des-Monts
Price Range: £262 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Sacacomie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacacomie Lodge is a door to nature. Nestled in the heart of the forest and bordering the Mastigouche wildlife reserve, it overlooks a majestic lake whose shore extends for more than 42 kilometres. In this enchanting site where nature reigns supreme, the log-built blends in harmoniously with the scenery offering amazing hospitality. Rustic outside and welcoming inside! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sacacomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacacomie Hotel Quebec
Hotel Sacacomie Canada/Saint-Alexis-Des-Monts, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing