We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special but Beggars Can't Be Choosers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stadshotellet Princess
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nothing Special but Beggars Can't Be Choosers”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have stayed there on numerous occasions. The rooms are okay with a fast internet connection. The furniture is starting to look old and scratched. It's the only hotel in Sandviken that is central so it is a bit of a monopoly. Their are better and cheaper hotels further from the centre.

On the last 3 occasions the hotel has put a huge reserve on my credit card that was not cleared when I paid my hotel bill at the end of the stay. I had to wait for my CC company to clear it a few weeks later.

All in all, I would not choose to stay there, but it is usually booked by my company so I have no choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killamarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
9
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Not the best place in Sandviken to stay. The ventilation system is very noisy and cannot be switched off - it goes off at 10.30 pm and turns on at 5.30 am. During this stay, they changed a water tube during the night and the following morning only brown water came out of the taps.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danske1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

there is not much choice in sandviken, princess is located in the city center nearby some restaurants and pubs to spend an evening. the hotel ihas been renovated partly during the last years. Most of the rooms have been redecorated as well, but have still old style furniture. Business rooms offer best value for money and are quite comfortable for a f ew nights. There is a sauna and pool in the basement avalaible, also the restaurant living room. Breakfast is ok but unfortunately offers no variations if you stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseLeidenschaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

I stayed 5 nights at the hotel. The hotel was good (albeit expensive). Rooms were comfortable and clean. Typical European approach: minimalist. A couple of remarkable items:
- The Internet connection was FANTASTIC!!! I think it was the best Internet connection I have ever had in a hotel.
- Breakfast was enjoyable with a good selection of food.
The hotel was also close to inexpensive restaurants and even a very large supermarket. All were within a few minutes' walk.
In addition, the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BudgetBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I have been in that hotel several times in my life before. Last week I stayed there again.
this place is for sure not the best place to stay in that area. If you have the option in that area select other hotels in "Gävle".
Also the price in Gävle are lower, for even better hotels.
Princess hotel gives you free broadband internet. Free parking. Gym is located a 300m outside the hotel. You can get a special key at the reception.
Rooms and Interieur of the hotel is rather old and outdated. Proberbly not that many refurbishments done in the last 10 years.
There is a restaurant connected to the hotel with the name "Living Room". Proberbly thats one of the better restaurants you can find in that area. Very excellent food.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thefrogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandviken
3.7 mi away
Hogbo Brukshotell
Hogbo Brukshotell
#1 of 2 in Sandviken
566 reviews
11.1 mi away
Scandic Gavle Vast
Scandic Gavle Vast
#3 of 5 in Gavle
345 reviews
12.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Winn
Clarion Hotel Winn
#1 of 5 in Gavle
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Scandic CH
Scandic CH
#4 of 5 in Gavle
279 reviews
13.1 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Gavle
0.7 mi away
Alsens Hotell AB
Alsens Hotell AB
#1 of 5 in Sandviken
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadshotellet Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadshotellet Princess

Property: Stadshotellet Princess
Address: 19 Smedsgatan, Sandviken 811 39, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Sandviken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stadshotellet Princess 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Stadshotellet Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing