We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going back in time”
Review of Hogbo Brukshotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hogbo Brukshotell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2009

The hotel website promised sheep grazing - "the estate's own silent lawn mowers" - the reality was a noisy mechanical grass cutting machine outside our ground floor window at 7:30 am. And that just about summarised the experience for us. This hotel was like going back in years to our college halls of residence, and not the luxurious experience we were expecting. Specifics: old fashioned decor with two single beds pretending to be a double; bright yellow walls, bedspreads and furniture giving the impression of being trapped in a giant banana; vinyl - yes, vinyl - floors, grey metal doors; plain white tiled bathroom looking more like a hospital bathroom than a hotel one; no fridge or minibar; no individually controlled heating or air conditioning in room; no cable or satellite TV; the ironing board attached to the wall like a weird decorative feature; cheap looking soap dispenser (why? If for environmental reasons, then why the separate six mini bottles of shampoo etc.); the nasty cheap shower attachment. The public areas weren't much better with cheap looking furniture and quarry tiled floors reminding us of a student refectory. The restaurant was undergoing refurbishment, so we had breakfast looking at chipboard hoarding and listening to drills. They were quiet (wonder why?) the night we were there, and had limited staff covering the bar, reception and the restaurant. We ate in the bar (no English translation available of the bar menu) and had beef and potatoes - surprisingly good. However, our dinner plates had not been cleared from the bar 4 hours after we had finished!

It was probably as well that we had been woken by the grass cutter as breakfast service finished at 9:00 and checkout is by 10:00 - we had no problem with that as it happens!

Apart from the meal, other good points included free and quick internet access and the staff who, whilst not numerous, were friendly and extremely helpful. However, overall, the effect is institutional and certainly not luxurious. And at about £185 per night including a bar meal, we expected more.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PotterMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mystefanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Agneta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sigfús K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sofiaee488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Annikawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anders B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas l, Hotelldirektör at Hogbo Brukshotell, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandviken
3.7 mi away
Stadshotellet Princess
Stadshotellet Princess
#2 of 2 in Sandviken
63 reviews
11.4 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Gavle
11.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Winn
Clarion Hotel Winn
#1 of 5 in Gavle
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Scandic Gavle Vast
Scandic Gavle Vast
#4 of 5 in Gavle
384 reviews
11.4 mi away
Scandic CH
Scandic CH
#3 of 5 in Gavle
312 reviews
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Norrgarden i Sandviken
#3 of 5 in Sandviken
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hogbo Brukshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hogbo Brukshotell

Address: 5 Hans Hiertas Vaeg | P.O. Box 136, Sandviken 811 92, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Midnight Sun Coast > Gavleborg County > Sandviken
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sandviken
Price Range: £153 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hogbo Brukshotell 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hogbo Brukshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing