We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The great escape”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Acorns

The Acorns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed Hot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
The Acorns
Main bedroom, WC & wash basin ensuite, superking size bed
Hot tub
Lounge with wood burner
Kitchen
Dining area
Family room
Main bathroom
Private enclosed patio
View from the drive
View from the garden
View from garden and main bedroom.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clive m
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The great escape”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wanted somewhere cozy and close to my family who live in the local area.Acorn cottage was ideal. The cottage is great,well furnished and comfortable. The bed in the master bedroom is huge! The hot tub was a great way for everyone to unwind in the evening and the mad dash to get in front of the log fire after was rather entertaining.
If mobile phone contact is important then be aware that the only provider that could be relied on for a signal was Vodafone whilst in the cottage. It was actually nice not to have a signal , the supplied board games were a great source of entertainment. Thoroughly recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb L
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful a Home from home”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a short stay at The Acorns which we enjoyed a lot. We arrived late but that was no problem for Sarah and Carol.
The property had every thing you could need with a little bit more! We had a Grocery pack that was very nice,we did not expect to get that as we only stayed 3 nights.
There is lots to see and do in the area,we visited Clear well caves,Symonds Yat rock,the Butterfly Farm and maze,all of which I would recommend .
Last but not least the Hot Tub was a wonderful treat after a long day of exploring the area.
Nothing was too much trouble for Sarah and her Mother Carol,a lovely family and a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purbeck20...
Dorset, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet holiday with added bonus of fresh eggs & a hot tub.”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Acorns during the Easter School Holiday. Sarah was away that week but her mother Carol was very helpful. The house was lovely, 2 good sized bedrooms and the kitchen was stocked with everything you need. The fresh eggs were lovely. The only thing that would have been good to have is the use of a vacuum cleaner.
My youngest son was very impressed with all the toys in the hallway. The wifi worked ok in some places in the house. The log burner was very nice and warmed the house very well and the hot tub in the garden was a nice bonus. Our kids loved the two dogs who frequently visited and joined us on our walks through the forest which is just at your doorstep. As we had problems with our car we weren't able to explore the area much but the house was very nice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsat...
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Travelled with husband and friends. A warm welcome was given by Sarah after we had found the house. It was comfortable and supplied all our needs, hubby particularly enjoyed the hot tub. However we would recommend that the outside area could do with some TLC as there was nowhere to eat outside except a picnic table with benches which although suitable for children was not really what people in their 60's enjoy sitting at and the hedges were rather overgrown. However this would not deter us from recommending the property as it was central to our travelling

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and views
Liked least: Lack of outside comfortable eating facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeidiBoon
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“simply loved it … perfect family get away”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank you so much Sarah and family.
We had a great time with you last month.
The house is perfect - a great location, peaceful setting and very well equipped.
We travelled with the children from 16-10 years and my parents too!
Hot tub a real bonus and it was simply divine in the evenings, relaxing after a days hiking and enjoying the scenery.
Sarah is so fabulous and replies quickly to any emails. We will be back!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vic_VDB
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real home from Home (only better)”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

From the moment we arrived this place was everything we could have asked for. The welcome was great (loved the eggs, butter, bread and Jam) and the facilities met our every need. It felt like a home rather than mere accommodation and this helped us to relax as well.

The family were brilliant - Thank You Carol, Sarah, Ryan and the boys - and our two dogs loved being out in the open with other friendly dogs to run around with! Truly a holiday which catered for the whole family (two and four legged together).

The hot tub was great and the Dog and Muffler, everything that it promised to be. The only complaint we had was that the weather was so good we didn't get to use the wood burner in the lounge area.

This is somewhere we will certainly return to - a great all round experience indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was great so have to say 'everything'
Liked least: That we had to come away from it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
874H_B
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place To Stay!”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We spent a week at the The Acorns recently and thoroughly enjoyed it. Thank you to Sarah and Ryan who were so helpful. Lovely accommodation, comfy beds etc with everything there we could need. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing