We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect, you have to stay here!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Old Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill
The double height kitchen/dining area with its fine timber work The large, very light upstairs sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Old Mill
The double height kitchen/dining area with its fine timber work
The large, very light upstairs sitting room
The dining area at The Old Mill looks out onto the patio and garden beyond
The main entrance through double doors into the kitchen/dining area
The double height kitchen/dining area
The dining table has seating for up to 10 guests
The fully fitted kitchen includes an island unit
The large, very light upstairs sitting room
The light and very spacious upstairs sitting room
The sitting room leads out onto a small, glass-fronted balcony
The upstairs sitting room overlooks the kitchen/dining area
The upstairs sitting room overlooks the kitchen/dining area
The twin bedroom
This double bedroom leads out onto the patio area
The other double bedroom
The main bathroom
..... and ensuite shower room
The lake in the meadow adjacent to the cottages
The Old Mill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wiggylev
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just perfect, you have to stay here!”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The Old Mill is just perfect. We have just returned from a weeks stay and we are so please we found this place. You really won't be disappointed if you stay here! The owners Ben & Kelly were great, so helpful and accommodating. We had contact with them a couple of times before our holiday and nothing was too much trouble. We were met by Ben on arrival and his introduction to the property was great. The welcome pack was just so kind & thoughtful, we really appreciated it. The property is well equipped and perfectly caters for children. This is a beautiful, peaceful, safe location.

It's a perfect location for visiting so many places. We went to Gloucester, Cotswolds- Bibury (beautiful!!), Burford, Bourton on the Water and Stow in the World, all worth a visit, can't beat the Cotswold. We also went to to Cotswold Park Farm, great day out for the kiddies, highly recommended! We also went on the GWR steam train trip too, again definitely recommended.

To eat out locally, we can certainly say both The Red Hart in Blaisdon and The White Hart in Newnham we super! Good good, very friendly and accommodating. Make sure your hungry though!

Ben and Kelly, thank you again and hopefully we'll be back one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2017
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at The Old Mill. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed making the most of your time exploring everything this lovely area has to offer and that you were well looked after by the owners. We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tededmund
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“beautiful place to stay ,owners left us everything we could need .”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The place was perfect in every way ,
,the owners left us everything to make a perfect break .
We will definitely go again ,Highly recommend a visit .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Thank you for your very positive comments about your stay at The Old Mill. They will be very helpful for future visitors looking to book this accommodation. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were well looked after by the owners. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan P
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb holiday”
Reviewed 22 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The standard of the property was outstanding. The Old Mill had been refurbished to a very high level with excellent workmanship throughout. On arrival we were met by Ben who showed us round and how everything worked. A comprehensive welcome pack was provided..
The surrounding area is beautiful with lots of things to do and see. Facilities are suitable for all ages. We visited the Cotswolds,Bath and Gloucester Docks and Cathedral being our favourites. Altogether a memorable holiday. Added bonus the weather was good..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Accommodation and surrounding facilities.
Liked least: Mattress in bedroom opposite the stairs (we're in our eighties,could feel sprigs)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John N
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply Wonderful”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great welcome from the owner Ben. The pictures do not do this place justice. The attention to detail is very impressive. An old building fabulously restored and finished to such a high standard giving a great feeling of luxury. Opening the fridge to find bread, eggs, milk, butter and orange juice and even a bottle of wine to welcome us was terrific. And as for the huge coffee cake....delicious. So many thoughtful touches such as the toiletries, boxes of tissues etc
From the moment we drove through the electric gates and down the driveway to the house we just knew this was something special .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feed-back about The Old Mill. We're glad you received such a special welcome from Ben & Kelly and enjoyed your stay. We wholeheartedly agree with your comments about the accommodation. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic stay!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we steeped in the door we knew that we had found a gem!! A fantastic barn in a beautiful location only made better, by what can best be described and good old English hospitality from Ben and Kelly, who own the barn.
Barn was keep impeccably clean throughout our 5 week stay and information on what was on offer in the local area was all on hand.
We just had the best time ever!!! Dear Ben and Kelly thanks you so much and we hope to see you guys next summer!! We better book early!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feed-back. we're glad you had such a fantastic stay at The Old Mill and were so well-looked after by the owners. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G
Tring, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed at the Old Mill for a week and had a fabulous time. The property is gorgeous, beautifully decorated and very well equipped. Sort of place you wouldn't mind having a rainy day in - it's so cosy, immaculate and beautiful. Ben and Kelly left a fab welcome pack (which included cake and wine, best welcome pack we've ever had at a holiday rental place) and were very helpful and welcoming. Well kitted out for kids too, with toys, books, plastic plates, cups etc. Ben made my son's day by giving him a ride in the tractor and he was able to watch them making bales. All in all, highly recommend this place - best holiday place we've ever rented and we've been to quite a few. Would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2014
Thank you for your kind and positive feed-back about The Old Mill. We're glad you had such an enjoyable stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incey3
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage, Gorgeous surroundings. Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We celebrated my mums 50th here and it was such a great weekend. Ben and Kelly were the perfect hosts, so helpful and even showed us around their farm. The cottage is absolutely perfect for a group of 6. Plenty of cutlery, lovely white towels and modern decor. Its all very well thought out. We used the BBQ 2 nights in a row as we were very lucky with the weather and it was great. Would highly recommend, especially if its for a special Occasion. We loved it and would certainly return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The BBQ, The lovely lawns outside and the beautiful large kitchen
Liked least: I didn't like that i couldn't stay longer :-)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your comments about The Old Mill, which will be very helpful for future guests planning a holiday here. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hideaways Reservations team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing