We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jammyjewe...
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Our teenage son is a 15 year old with Autism. As he gets older, it has become harder to find suitable properties that can accommodate his needs, but also provide a welcome break to enable us to all relax as a family. We had to move out of our house for a week whilst extensive home improvement works were being undertaken at home.

We can safely that Wibdon Barn and its owners, Sue & Peter; certainly fulfilled all our requirements. They welcomed us upon our arrival and our son was a little apprehensive at first, so stayed in the car until his was confident to enter the property; they were not phased by this at all and were quite content to leave him to come round in his own time.

The property itself has all the things you would expect in a rental, but then so much extra attention to detail has been put in over and above, you could really not want for anything else.

We could list endlessly all the little things that are contained within the property and in reality they aren't crucial, but because they are provided your stay is even more relaxing.

The owners had even taken the trouble to provide a personalised guide to the local area detailing specific events/fairs/markets that would be occurring during our stay. Unfortunately, the property was so comfortable and relaxing, we never left the whole week and just enjoyed the luxurious feel of the property's furnishings to make use of this guide.

The swimming pool was a major factor in booking this property as our son adores water and having a whole pool available to himself was akin to him being in utopia. The water was just at the right temperature and was available for our exclusive use for the whole time of our stay. It has easy stepped entry into the water and is a constant level throughout the length, so ideal for children or non-swimmers who could get a shock from a sudden change in depth. There were plenty of inflatable pool toys, water pistols and beach balls for use as well. It has a retractable roof, so I imagine in the summer months the roof draws back and it becomes an outdoor pool.

The grounds are immaculately kept, considering when we visited in December, the grass was lush underfoot and the extensive plot made for great gentle exercise whilst taking in the views across the Severn estuary, there are also some interesting little garden ornaments dotted around the gardens, which would be fun for kids to spot.

Within walking distance there is a great local farm shop providing a variety of fresh produce, so you can truly remain self sufficient whilst staying at Wibdon Barn. The property is also on an bus route, with stops located nearby and it is only a couple of miles outside of Chepstow, so having a car is not necessarily a requirement.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we will be returning in 2016 and hope to take in some of surrounding attractions in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean; but on the other hand, we may just out our feet up for another week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole property was faultless
Liked least: The only niggle was the weak internet, but this is a local issue and not something the owners can address. It was more of an issue for our son as he couldn't understand why his ipad wouldn't work in certain areas of the property.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2015
Gosh, guys .... what can we say?! Thank you so much for all the lovely compliments! It was a treat to see that M managed to relax quickly and great to meet you all. We would absolutely love to see you all again. Really hope that 2016 is a good year for you. Best wishes S & P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina-Lou...
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent holiday home for families in the Forest of Dean”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great holiday at Wibdon Barn. We were made very welcome by the owners who live next door and provided lots of information about things to do in the local area. The indoor pool is fabulous - we used it every day regardless of the weather as it was so warm and easy to use. The house itself has all the amenities you need and the full size windows in the lounge make it lovely and bright. There is a large supermarket within a few miles and the farm shop within walking distance is great for daily essentials. We took trips into Cardiff, Bristol and Gloucester aswell as the Forest of Dean attractions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: The main road was a bit noisy especially in the upstairs bedroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Pleased that, although the weather wasn't kind, you found lots of things to do near here and really enjoyed the pool! Hopefully we were worth the wait from December! Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah E
Lichfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A warm and friendly welcome.
Pictures do not do this place justice, the barn is home from home with everything you need and more.
My two children aged 8 and 5 were catered for with the Xbox and selection of DVD's. The pool is warm and clean and they played in there for hours. The grounds are kept beautiful you can see the time and effort they put into it.
We played in the gardens and went looking for the hares.
We visited Clearwater caves and the adventure climbing wall. Bristol was 30mins away.
We really enjoyed our stay here, felt very relaxed which is what we needed and will be recommending and already looking to return next year.
Thank you sue and Peter.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review! Sometimes all you need is to get away to somewhere you can run, shout and swim and just relax. Of course, there's lots to see as well close by ....... But ..... When the pool beckons.........
You would all be very welcome to visit again as it was really nice to meet you. All best wishes, Sue and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoPlaces5...
1 review
“Missing it already ”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned after an amazing 3 night stay at Wibdon barn. Sue and Peter made us feel so welcome from the very beginning. When entering the barn we were blown away with how lovely it was. It was so modern and clean it was just perfect. The grounds in which the barn is situated was over and beyond what we expected. The pool was just amazing. We are missing it already. We will definitely be back and we have already recommended this to friends and family. There is a reason to why it's a 5/5 it's just incredible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Gosh ... Well , thank you so much. We are so pleased the Barn was even better than you'd hoped! It is lovely to know that our guests have enjoyed themselves. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Best wishes, Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andymacma...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Plan”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Really beautiful place to stay with a lovely host. Our 1 year old loved pottering around the garden and surrounding grounds.

Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your comments! It was a pleasure meeting you all ..... do feel free to come and potter again! Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medders40
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place to stay. I stayed with my husband and our 22 month old daughter and we loved it from the second we got there. Sue (the owner) met us on arrival and she could not have been any more pleasant and welcoming. She showed us around the barn and the grounds. The attention to detail was brilliant. We received a welcome pack which also included a birthday card for myself, which was really sweet, Thank You :-). The barn was so clean and had everything you could think of in it to use. They had even left some toys out for our daughter to play with. The swimming pool was brilliant. Clean and just the right temperature. There was inflatables left out for us to use, which we did.
I would highly recommend Wibdon Barn. I have told all my friends and family about it. I would definitely go back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments .... I feel spoilt to have such lovely guests! I always try to tailor the toys and pool, and even the Barn itself, to suit the people coming and I'm really pleased you appreciated it! We would love to see you again. Obvs!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyAki
1 review
“Perfect place to relax!!!”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed for 3 nights to celebrate our son's 7th birthday. Our son has autism so we decided to rent out a place with private pool.
Wibdon Barn is perfect situated in 7 acres of land! What more can we ask! We are so lucky to have found this place. Sue & Peter are very nice, helpful and accomodating! The house is very beautiful and was spotless, complete with everything we needed. We dipped in the pool several times.They provided all the inflatables and swimming gadgets.
We would definitely book again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thanks R & A ..... so pleased you enjoyed a bit of R & R!! It was lovely to meet you all and glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing