We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cosy Cottage in a Beautiful Setting”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ankhitc
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Cosy Cottage in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely setting within the Cider Press Cottage Estate. Warm welcome by the owner, Sue. Since the time I booked the cottage on Trip Advisor, Sue has been very helpful. She called me straightaway to say hello on the phone. She emailed us with exact directions to get to this cottage as it can be tricky with the SatNav. We were welcomed with a nice welcome hamper and I must tell you all, that the biscuits she provided in that were amazing!!!

Cottage itself was very clean and we had no issues with anything. 3 large bedrooms with 2 double beds and 2 single beds. Sleeps 6 comfortably. Very easy to get to the Forest of Dean, local shops and pubs. Nice garden outside, with barbecue facilities, though we did not use that due to the weather. But lovely cozy inside, nice fireplace for the evening. Kitchen was fully equipped and like Sue said to us, only bring your food everything else is provided - she was correct. :)

We will definitely go back to this cottage and recommend it to our friends and family. Actually already planning to book this place next year, when my parents are down.

We only had one constructive feedback to give - the shower could be updated now as we did have a little problem with the water being very hot or very cold as the mixer was not very very accurate. However this is not a negative please. We had hot water throughout. Probably, just the way we used the mixer.

We look forward to going back again!! Thanks Sue. Appreciate your warm hospitality.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith And...
1 review
“Delightful cottage in relaxing peaceful setting”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Warm welcome, beautifully furnished and equipped cottage for six, family and dogs made to feel at home, wonderful forest walks from cottage and beautiful areas of the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley to discover

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Date of stay: June 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
basherbey...
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

6 adults and 2 dogs stayed in the cottage with plenty of room. We were met by the infamous sue (from
Other reviews) and I have to agree , what a lovely host , we had a cracking hamper to start holiday and was on offer for any further needs. We had a BBQ one night and lit the fire pit outside on most evenings. A wonderful relaxing stay, may even take the kids next time (or keep it an adult secret )

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
purdidevo...
devon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We certainly enjoyed time spent at The Cider Press Cottage. On arrival Sue gave us such a warm welcome. The cottage was very comfortable homely and amazing equipped, The garden was also really nicely set out. We all loved it also being well away from any traffic noise. We all also enjoyed beautiful walks near by especially Lara our Labrador. . Thank you Sue and Mike for an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YellowCat...
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely property, had everything we needed.”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We really enjoyed our stay.
The expanse of woodland next to the property was perfect for several walks during the day.
The enclosed garden was great for our dogs and the little things provided in the house like washing up liquid , tea etc. was much appreciated.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very Homely Property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vonw592
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the call to confirm our booking to waving us off it was a wonderful experience. Sue said we need bring nothing but food and clothes and she was not exaggerating! We wanted for nothing - there were lovely touches like biccies and tea and coffee to name but a few. Beautiful bed linen and fluffy towels all round. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and even though it is described as a cottage it is far from small! We were toasty warm and the kids and dogs had the run of a lovely secure garden. Mike directed us to some lovely walking spots also, they were so friendly. I cannot recommend it highly enough, we had a faboulous time and we hope to come back soon, Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So well equiped!
Liked least: We had to leave when our holiday was over! :O)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.