We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel with good location for Bromo sunrise”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Lava View Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Probolinggo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lava View Lodge
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple hotel with good location for Bromo sunrise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Very simple hotel which is fine for the location to visit Bromo and see the Sunrise. Restaurant is not so bad and food is ok . Luckily shower gives hot water .Breakfast is also acceptable. Clean but no luxery at all. Good it's for an early wake up at 3.30 in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    120
    187
    85
    32
See reviews for
104
175
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had booked and paid for this hotel's down-market companion, but ended up staying at this hotel (for $70 for the night!). Why? Because Mt. Bromo is very misty and sometimes there is visibility - and sometimes there is none. So you need to stay here to have a good chance at seeing anything. The room was not well maintained, and dirty. There was not heating and it was COLD inside. Service was minimal. The restaurant was pricey and only so-so. And we paid more than twice as much for this hotel than for any other one in our two-week stay in Indonesia (10 hotels).

But there is really no alternative if you want to stay in the area to see the sunrise from the high poin (huge crowds, but still beautiful). BRING WARM CLOTHING!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Probolinggo hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

It's not easy to book this hotel. Not many online bookings offer this hotel.

We arrived late night. It is small lodge, I felt like staying in one of villager houses. Furniture and fixture are simple and cheap material, and don't expect a designed room. It is just a simple room.

The area is very cool so aircon is not needed. This area is the closest to Mt Bromo so far so the scenery is good. We can see the mountain from the hotel. But when I stayed there, it's mostly foggy.

Woke up at 3am to get ready to the mountain. Back to the hotel at 10am to catch our breakfast as the breakfast closed at 10am. Food is just simple with very few choices.

I consider this lodge as expensive for the quality and service provided. Probably the area is an expensive area with limited choices of hotel. Surprisingly they said this lodge is almost always fully booked. I can get new four star hotel for the money I paid this lodge.

I don't suggest to stay here if you arrived late, only have a short stay to Mt Bromo and will check out at 12pm next day. We hardly had time to enjoy the scenery outside the hotel, which I believe why we have to pay that expensive. The price we pay is really only for the scenery and closeness to the Mt Bromo.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YardleyYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms were very old and could do some reno job. Hot shower is good. However the beds are comfortable. My room can't be locked properly because there's a gap between the door lock and the door frame! Coffee house is ok and breakfast is average. However considering the lodge is located at a remote area, we can't complain too much.

Has a great view of the volcano just in front of the lodge.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannylp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Lava View Lodge is where we chose to stay before our trip to the scenic Pananjakan for watching sunrise and climbing the stairs to the peak of Mount Bromo.
The room is small for triple-sharing, luckily we were only there for a few hours. However, the cafe serves delicious Indonesian food. We had Gado-Gado, Nasi Goreng with satay, Soto ayam and Chap chye(mixed veg). Besides the yummy food, live country music liven up the place. Singer surprised and entertained with his terrific voice. Shower was a torture. The place was cold yet one of us insisted on a shower and regretted because the heater was just not working well. Another yucky point was that creepy crawlies such as spiders were found in the room. However, that's quite unavoidable in that mountainous environment.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Grayee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

nice place..beautiful view from my room. you can see the mountain , you can see sunrise n sunset from here. amazing... but bbbrrrrrr so cold, you must be prepare well.
24 hour service, refreshing water in bathroom...welcome drink is so well...

Room Tip: when you stay at upper room you got the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indrawati_hartono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

The first room allocated to us on our Exodus tour was room 106 which was appalling. Dismally dark, dirty looking, damp and a bathroom with a water heater which looked lethal. We paid the extra to upgrade to another room which was marginally better....at least it had a window and the bathroom was slightly better. It is very basic, no mod cons but at least it had hot water.
It was worth putting up with the accommodation for the location as it looked straight over the sand sea and Mount Bromo. Amazing view and a 20 minute walk down a steep road to the sand sea. We walked about 300 metres beyond the hotel to watch the sunset high up on a hill which was lovely.
The food was reasonable and in the evening they had a guitarist playing in the restaurant who was very good, great personality and added some real atmosphere to the place. Recommend you stay here for the view and location but be prepared for pretty basic accommodation and don't have the bottom end room which they call 'superior standard' as it's far from superior!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PinkFloydCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Probolinggo
0.3 mi away
Bromo Permai I
Bromo Permai I
#8 of 12 in Probolinggo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.0 mi away
SM Bromo Hotel
SM Bromo Hotel
#4 of 12 in Probolinggo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.2 mi away
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
Bromo Park Hotel Probolinggo
#1 of 12 in Probolinggo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Clover Homestay
Clover Homestay
#2 of 12 in Probolinggo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jiwa Jawa Bromo
Jiwa Jawa Bromo
#1 of 2 in Sukapura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
41.6 mi away
Cottage Wisata Paiton
Cottage Wisata Paiton
#1 of 11 in Probolinggo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lava View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lava View Lodge

Property: Lava View Lodge
Address: Cemorolawang, Probolinggo, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Probolinggo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Probolinggo
Hotel Class:2 star — Lava View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Also Known As:
Lava View Hotel Probolinggo
Lava View Lodge Java/Probolinggo, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing