We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT FAMILY HOME” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Club Katinkulta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vuokatti
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FAMILY HOME”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

we had visited the this fabulous resort in may with a 3-yr old. a welcoming family home, very child-friendly. we had a 2 bedroom house, with a big lawn.
amenities are very good. bicycles were provided, barbecue machine, washing machine dryer dishwasher, fully equipped kitchen.
it was an excellent holiday thhanks to vuokatti.
theres a children's park right behind the cottage and the lake is close by too.
well connected to sotkamo kajaani as well.
the angry birds park is just a kilometre away. so all in all time well spent especially if you kids.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isha2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    46
    24
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
24
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First, thanks to: close to nature and beautiful environment, the requirement for the same level of the hotel, and great customer service. Special thanks to Caddie Master's Office, and a poolside bar. Then the criticism: the aggressive club membership sales, closed a nightclub and restaurant, and infront of the works. Superior rooms are more spacious and rooms in the old part at least to date. I recommend to ask for rooms with views of the golf course, only the front-facing rooms overlooking the road and the back of the houses. Each room includes a nice sized balcony, which will bring more space to feel. Baths need updating in some places, but we are the guidelines were agreed to. Golf courses offer a suitable challenge for everyone, so do not forget to try out. This spa is definitely worth trying, not a luxury but also not a sheet. Come on!

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the golf field
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZorroF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karkola
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We visited Katinkulta in March 2014. Normally there is lots of snow in that time, but this winter was exceptional and lacked snow in Finland. So the cross-country skiing tracks around Katinkulta were not in use. This was a disappointment, but of course the resort staff has no control over weather.

We used the spa and gym a lot. I like to jog, so I jogged around Katinkulta and Vuokatti, which is the local village. Downhill skiing resort near (about 5 km) was open, so we also visited that. Skiing tracks around the hill were open, but we needed a car to get there. We had our own car, so this was not a problem.

We had an apartment in one of the cottages. The apartment was tidy and nice. It had washing machine and dish washing machine, and a sauna, of course. It is a small sauna, but still enough for three people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arto_Maatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

wonderful, well kept facility with excellent choice of activities both in winter and summer, you want to avoid late fall months (dark) and late spring (muddy) due to the northern climate. You need a car to move around.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmp187309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

In love with this beautiful located property Holiday Club Katinkulta, Vuokatti, Finland, very serene place, close to nature, pure air to breath in, lake is located in the property very scenic, amazing time I had with my family for 2 weeks. Trails through woods are quite an experience.... friendly staff at the resort. Cycling within the huge property was some experience, loved the time we were visiting between August 15 to 30 Aug 2013. Temperature was between 15- 22 degrees. The Holiday club had indoor swimming pool sauna, steam in the main centre. Each unit depending on the membership and time band is equipped with steam area...There is a large supermarket from the resort about 1.5 km away and can cycle around the place. Kaajani Airport is the nearest airport, would love to go there again...
Some of the units are located in front of the sea and some by the lake. The units are also equipped with Fire place,Full Kitchen, barbaque, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, DVD Player, A computer, everything to be comforatable with...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roopsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The Hotel built in the middle of nowhere about 30yrs ago with megalomanic ideas... It has full size spa with three different kind of saunas, fitness and beauty-center, badminton fields, a small bowling center and several restaurants under the same roof. It works, believe or not. Outside are terrific landscapes and full size golf court! Nearby you find fantastic views from Vuokatinvaara -mountain. Of course u can see the age of the structures in the spa and carpets of the hotel rooms are a bit worn off, but they are clean still. Worth trying if you want to either just relax or be sporty. Restaurants are not very good, except the private pizzeria in the second floor (Classic Pizza). Due to location, a car is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpheus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vuokatti
1.9 mi away
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
15.8 mi away
Scandic Kajanus
Scandic Kajanus
#1 of 3 in Kajaani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vuokatti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rokua Health & Spa
Rokua Health & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ahmas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel Kajaani
Hotel Kajaani
#3 of 3 in Kajaani
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotelli Vuokatti & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Club Katinkulta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Club Katinkulta

Property: Holiday Club Katinkulta
Address: Katinkullantie 15, Vuokatti 88610, Finland
Region: Finland > Kainuu > Vuokatti
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vuokatti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Club Katinkulta 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Holiday Club Katinkulta, you can choose your accommodation between the spa hotel and high-quality holiday homes. The most versatile holiday resort in the Nordic Countries, Holiday Club Katinkulta provides you with the opportunities to enjoy practically any kind of recreation, from golf to fitness training and even bowling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Club Katinkulta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Club Katinkulta Hotel Vuokatti
Holiday Club Katinkulta Finland/Vuokatti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing