We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage, friendly staff and a lovely...”

Review of Hillsover

Hillsover Cottage, Ainthorpe
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hillsover Cottage, Ainthorpe
Twin bedroom, second floor Single bedroom, first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Hillsover Cottage, Ainthorpe
Twin bedroom, second floor
Single bedroom, first floor
Double bedroom, first fllor
Hillsover cottage, Ainthorpe
View from cottage
Danby Dale
Cycling on the moors
Runswick Bay beach
En-suite double bedroom, first floor
Sitting room with open fire and beamed ceiling
Kitchen dining room
Walking in the countryside
Duck Bridge, Danby
Winter scene, Ainthorpe. Great snowballing and sledging!
Cliff walks to fabulous beach at Sandsend and Whitby beyond.
The magnificent Castle Howard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Danby, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Han240228...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, friendly staff and a lovely location!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I recently stayed here with a group of friends. We arrived on the Friday and were welcomed by the friendly staff. The cottage was spacious and spotless. Set in a lovely picturesque location close to Whitby it really was perfect for what we wanted. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this cottage to anyone. Thanks for the great stay, I'm sure we'll be back again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnton
1 review
“Book with confidence”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just stayed at The Hillsover for two nights and just wish we had more time to extend our stay!
It is warm,comfortable,clean,tidy and superbly situated.
Everything you need for a stay is provided including coal and logs for those cosy nights in around the fire.
There are great views over The Moors from most windows and being next door to a fine pub is a real bonus!
My wife and I enjoyed a quiet drink whilst the kids played on the Wii in the games room.
There is also a sauna at the pub which we didn"t use but am very sure we will on our next visit.
20 mins from Whitby this place is ideal as a base to travel or just to get away from it all and do some walking like we did.
Book this cottage with confidence.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
macymo
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Overall I would recommend this cottage and to summarise here are my pros/cons

Things I really liked:

location - although not in Danby, it's in a hamlet called ainthorpe, but it's fine, next to the pub, and only 2 mins walk out on the moors, 15 minutes to the coast or 5 mins to the wild moors.

Clean- it was clean, and tidy,

Rooms- the bedrooms all have tv's and ensuite, beds are comfortable

Heating- always nice and warm from central heating, and open fire for added warmth.

the price- I stayed out of season so got a good price



things I did'nt like so much:

pillows: if you are fussy about having a good pillow, take your own
cosy ness- it wasn't very cosy or homely , I think that's because it's an overflow for the hotel next for, but the sofa's are not that comfy, there isn't a homely feel, they could do with so e nice art or photos on the walls.

Kitchen - small and if there are more than two of you it wouldn't be very practical.
Smell- there was a really over powering smell , I think it was from the industrial strength cleaning products, I had to go and buy air freshener and scented candles, but it went wore off after a few days.

into- there was a lack of any info for around the area, no walks or anything, they could do with a simple file of local walks , pubs etc.

Also a final picky point, but the welcome letter in the cottage tells you about the services available but every paragraph ends with...there is a charge ...I know this cottage is part of a business but I don't want to feel like it.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Pillows, sofa's and cleaning product smell
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Reviewed 9 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: bedrooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing