We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in a fantastic location”
Review of Karystion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karystion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karystos
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding in a fantastic location”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is one of the friendliest hotels my wife and I have ever stayed in. The owner and his staff cant't do enough for you. The restaurant serves first class food at a good price. The location is right at the edge of the bay with fantastic views across the bay and the hilly region inland. We would definetly go back. The town of Karystos is also very friendly with lots of restaurants along the front by the harbour. The whole area is beautiful

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19571960Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    36
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We (mum, dad, our 6 year old daughter and our 1 year old baby) stayed from 4-25 August 2011. As you would expect with four of us the room was a bit cramped but we managed OK and the hotel provided a (good) cot as promised. Stunning views from the balcony. The room was cleaned every day and to a good standard. Breakfast was really good - more then enough to eat (for us anyway) but you could pay for extras like omelettes if you wanted. The breakfast area was very nice indeed. The staff who served were very friendly and efficient and really made an effort with the children. So as you will have gathered we were happy. However it was other things that made the hotel stand out. For example when we hired a car the local travel agency, South Evia Travel (gasp) could not provide a car seat for the baby. I mentioned this to reception and within a couple of hours they had managed to get one for us - really great.
The hotel was adjacent to the beach and also an excellent taverna, the Anna-Marina I think it was called - anyway the one with the orange tablecloths - great for lunch The hotel had a safety deposit box which was free to use as was access to the Internet. No lift though (there are two floors) but the staff are happy to help with heavy luggage.
For what we paid for the hotel it was great value although we may have got a discount because we stayed so long.

Room Tip: All have a view of the sea but ask for a south facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaddyTiptonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charis M, Owner at Karystion Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Shaddy
We have read your nice comments in TripAdvisor and we thank you. We are really gland to find out that you were satisfied while here. We wish you all the best.
Kind regards
Charis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chios, Greece
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

It is a clean hotel with an excellent service. There is a nice balcony that guides to a park with trees where you can take the breakfast. The products of breakfast was great but I' m not sure if that would be enough for a man.
Our room was on the first floor. It was ok and the balcony had sea view. I heard there is no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Excellent attentive service with check in and departure both respectful and personal. One felt like a guest.
Room was small but typical for Greece , not the latest style but i the arrangement of furniture and facilites available was one of the most practical and comfortable we have experienced.
Pleasent views and setting through the trees over the bay to hte mainland.
Breakfast on the verandah was a delight, typical menue but beautifully presented and served.
Absence of a lift was daunting but the staff did the heavy lifting. Another reminder to travel light.!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarvinPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
269 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We booked this hotel at a very good rate by telephoning them direct. We had a job finding it first of all as the front sign says "Leisure and Serenity Hotel" and the name itself is on the door mat so not easy to spot from a vehicle. Nicely situated overllooking the sea and a nice beach. It was beautifully done out in the communal areas with verandahs on 3 sides and the rooms themselves were comfy and very clean and tidy. The staff are friendly and speak excellent English. Email was free in the lobby. We had a rear corner room with a balcony overlooking the sea to the left and the park to the front. The birds gathering in the park at dusk and dawn made a frightful din so we kept our windows closed after the first early awakening. As for the air con - ours had a cover over it but we adjusted it by using a key to reach it and in our friends' room the cover easily slipped off - the traveller has to be ever resourceful!! Beach towels were available and it was nice to pop to the beach and back without any hassle. The town itself was pretty and we ate out on the harbour and then in a back street where the tables were put out in front of the shops on the alleyway - this was the Cave D'Or by the Evia Travel agency and worth a visit - traditional food and you could go in an pick from the pot. We were delighted with the hotel and the area and would return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

I stayed in the Karystion for 1 night and I thought that it will be a nice hotel from the previous reviews. the hotel is old and the rooms are very small. There is no elevator! The only good thing is the patio they have and the people that run the hotel are very friendly. Also the chef had prepared nice dishes that we ordered. The beach was nice eventhough the weather wasn't good.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gesthimania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

When we walked up the stairs we thought that we were in the local hospital! Later we realized that the patients are gone so we stayed. The air-conditioner remote control was set to 23 degrees and during the night we were frozen. Great location, nice beach, friendly stuff except from the owner of the hospital-hotel Mr. Harris that he refused to let us eat our own food outside the closed restaurant hotel. Bravo Mr. Harris!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socsxiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karystos
0.6 mi away
Anastasia Hotel Karystos
Anastasia Hotel Karystos
#1 of 3 in Karystos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
18.0 mi away
Saint George Hotel & Rooms
Saint George Hotel & Rooms
#1 of 3 in Nea Styra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
6.9 mi away
Evia Hotel & Suites
Evia Hotel & Suites
#2 of 5 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Marmari Bay Hotel
Marmari Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Marmari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apollon Suites Hotel
Apollon Suites Hotel
#3 of 3 in Karystos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
15.6 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karystion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karystion Hotel

Property: Karystion Hotel
Address: 3 Kriezotou Street | Bournia Sq, Karystos 340 01, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Karystos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Karystos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Karystion Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Karystion Hotel is located on a tree-lined, park promontory overlooking the sea. A wide, canopied, wraparound sitting-and-dining verandah accents the park's idyllic beauty, as well as the hotel's serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Karystion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing