We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Gletsch”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gletsch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Glacier du Rhone
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gletsch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Also probably the only restaurant in Gletsch.

Pleasant place to have lunch or a quick snack when riding the Furka train or driving in the area. Prices slightly high, but not at all bad. Quality of all items we have tried was good, nice dining area both outside (great view of the glacier) and inside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Electroburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Glacier du Rhone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

You feel the history, but don't expect that in the past everything was better. Very friendly staff and nothing wrong with the beds. It gives the feeling of what traveling must have been like in the past.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonko B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We stayed in the hotel "Glacier du Rhone" in Gletsch in August 2009 with 3 adults and 2 children (6 and 11). We booked on the phone, and were given three adjacent rooms (no connecting door) for 120 CHF for a double and 70 CHF for a single. Toilets and showers were in the corridor. And we had a GREAT stay.
The rather large hotel reminds you of the olden days, and corridors look a bit "lived". But that is the charm of the hotel. Wooden floors. Rooms spacious enough, with wash bassin, but no TV nor telephone, which was perfect. All was EXTREMELY clean: from the rooms, the sheets, to the showers and toilets. Beds very comfortable.
The hotel is located just across the street where you can take the steam train that goes across the Furka Pass (www.dfb.ch), which in itself is a very nice experience. The Gletcher of the Rhone (start of Rhone river) is also just up the mountain.
In summary: if you do NOT want a 5 star impersonal hotel, but appreciate going back in time, while at the same time being sure you have clean sheets and showers: this is it!
Food in the hotel's restaurant was disappointing (is a self service over lunch).

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank onbekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The Hotel Glacier du Rhone at Gletsch was one of the first hotels built in Switzerland as a reaction to the growing vogue in a touristic 'Tour de Suisse'. It is Grand Hotel which was, when built in the 1850s, situated a the foot of the Rhone Glacier. Nowadays the Glacier is almost out of view, and has receded quite a distance up mountain and left a waterfall behind. Gletsch is not more than a crossroads, where, coming from Oberwald, the roads leading to the Grimsel-Pass and th Furka-Pass diverge. And it is (at the moment) the endpoint of the Historic Steam railway which travels on the old Furka Mountain railroad tracks (as opposed to the quick tunnel tracks which are in mainline use today). So: No real public transport (except a couple of busses a day passing Gletsch on their way to the passes), no attraction, since the Rhone Glacier is long gone, Gletsch as fallen into a kind of slumber.
The Hotel which had had many secondary buildings is reduced to a main building, and, besides a tourist information on the (really very beautiful) newly formed part of the Rhone River upstream from Gletsch and the 'historic site' of Gletsch and its steam railroad terminal there is nothing (really nothing) in Gletsch (like shops etc.). The Hotel has been 'renovated' recently, but remaines a historic site: The room we had was quite large, had an empty feeling to it (two beds, table, two chairs, a settee, large rustic cupboard, still an almost empty room) - and it was the one shown in photos at the lobby, so it was probably one of the best at the hotel. The room had an en suite bathroom (with a huge bathtub - no shower curtains, though; and not all of the rooms have an adjacent bathroom) and in addition a large double wash basin in the room (with renovated, but period faucets). An electric heater (which we needed in August) was also supplied. All this has faded and dated charm (extremely creaky floor-boards, for instance), which can also be found at the lobby, whith a large fire-place, always on at the evenings. But forget about modern things like tv, internet access (or escalators) etc. The Restaurant at the hotel is, however, a completely modern self service cafeteria, which is highly incongruent with the faded charme of the rest of the hotel, the dining area has the atmosphere of a large railway station restaurant. The food is freshly prepared and quite good, though, also the breakfast. The staff is very apologetic about the missing ameneties, but does nothing about it. Reactions to the hotel we heard during our two nights stay there (we took a one-day train ride on the steam railway, which is quite worth the stay) where either sheer disbelief (and even horror) at the missing comfort and ameneties or fascination at the possibility of this kind of touristic time travel. Certainly it helps to have a car to feel less claustrophobic there...

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Z5731YCpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank saschab963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur le glacier
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronanrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tobias und Mark W, Manager at Hotel Glacier du Rhone, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gletsch
2.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#1 of 4 in Oberwald
68 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Furka
Hotel Furka
#2 of 4 in Oberwald
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz
Hotel Grimsel Hospiz
#1 of 2 in Guttannen
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ahorni
Hotel Ahorni
#3 of 4 in Oberwald
25 reviews
4.3 mi away
Handeck - Hotel and Naturresort
14.1 mi away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#1 of 10 in Meiringen
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glacier du Rhone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glacier du Rhone

Address: Furkastrasse, Gletsch, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Gletsch
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gletsch
Price Range: £50 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing