We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish it was closer to home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fleece Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fleece Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Bretforton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I wish it was closer to home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Eight of us had dinner on Sunday 18th March 2012 at this delightful pub. We had booked earlier in the week but arrived late after getting lost (allow time it's not easy to find in the dark). We were though still warmly welcomed by the publican. The menu is varied and interesting and the food was generous and tasty. We certainly hope to get back soon, in my case for the traditional 'meat balls' and mash and the beautifully kept beer. I can, however, sympathise with reviewer kushtibok. Our table for eight was in the very small back room which was fine as there was nobody at the other tables. I assume that's where they were and a couple would find it very oppressive if there was also a large party in the room. Best to check when booking perhaps but try not to miss the Fleece!

PS They are not called meat balls on the menu but Trip Advisor has take exception to the traditional description on the menu!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley42London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    44
    21
    11
    17
See reviews for
51
97
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our 10th Wedding Anniversary and I made that point clear when booking the table. We were very much looking forward to our meal at the Fleece as we had heard good things about it. Upon arrival, we found our reserved table - it was the smallest round table you could imagine (4 of us dining at a table for 2!) The food was of a high standard and at least one of the staff managed to smile. However this is very much "a local pub for local people" - we felt most unwelcome.
To top it all, the tables next to ours had all been pushed together - despite knowing it was our wedding anniversary the Landlord had decided to put 9 VERY NOISY children with their equally noisy and rude parents and grandparents next to us in this small snug area. We couldnt' hear ourselves think let alone talk. My husband and I couldn't eat our meals quick enough, 37 minutes after arriving we were back in our car. I was in tears. The older man behind the bar was incredibly rude and grumpy, there was no way we felt we could ask to be moved (I believe he was the Landlord). Never again and I will NOT be recommending the pub to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kushtibok111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I have just come back from a short break in the Cotswolds and went to this Pub for an evening meal. We found it in the National Trust Handbook and as it is steeped in history fancied a visit. It is very old and is full of Cromwellian artefacts including a large collection of pewter plates. The pub is divided in to 2 rooms connected by the bar and each with a log fire. We found on arrival that the chef and barmaid were both off sick , leaving the landlord very short staffed. This didn't affect the service or quality of food and we had a great evening. If it's refined eating in a posh bistro type place then this is not for you but if you want good hearty food in a friendly, cosy environment then give it a go - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTripper21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Having travelled 50 miles to this much vaunted pub for lunch the let down was significant.
Although picturesque the food is third rate and expensive. The service matches this standard.
The fish & chips were OK but the mushy peas looked & tasted as though they came out of a tin!
The steak with kidney pie was served with vegetables that were almost raw & the roasted new potatoes never arrived. On querying this we were offered a slice of bread & butter instead.
We shall never go again and advise anyone thinking of visiting that much better value can be found not to far away.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

I just loved this place.If you want a uniform chain this is not the place for you. However, if like me you like the fact that the Fleece is steeped in history no two tables are a like and the floor is wobbly you will not be disappointed! Around every corner there is something interesting to see like the three witches circles by the fireplace.
The staff are friendly and helpful. The veggie chilli I had to eat was so tasty and very good value.
I can recommend the Fleece's own scrumpy cider which is very strong!
The toilets were spotless as was the rest of the pub.
The Fleece is quite a small building so it would be best to book a table if you intend to eat.
I have every faith that the National Trust will not change this ancient, incredible pub.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purplebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Half timber, wattle and daub and exterior, thatched roof, flagstone floors, low ceilings with great wooden beams, inglenook fireplaces, an eclectic mix of rustic and 18th century furniture. This pub is probably as near to what a denizen of the seventeenth century was use to as you can find in today's England. It's an irrestible experience for those who like to try to immerse themselves in an earlier time. On the down side, we visited three times during a week trying to get a meal and were not successful. On the first try, we arrived at 2:35PM and were told that the kitchen was closed. The second time, we arrived at about 6:00PM and were told that the kitchen was closing early because it was a banking holiday (January 2). The third time we arrived at 5:00PM and were told that the pub opened at 6:00PM. When we returned at 6:00PM, we were told that no meals were being served because the kitchen was devoted to catering the annual staff party that evening. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but we couldn't recommend a visit for a meal without first confirming that service would be available. Great ambiance; questionable management.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

It's 30 odd years since I first visited The Fleece although this was my first return for some years . It's still great and the things I have always loved about it remain whilst it now has good food as well.

But it's a first and foremost a pub. Not a cutesy , Disney-reproduction of an old building or a National Trust exit-through-the-bar museum but a centuries old , warts and all pub - open to all as pubs are. If you want low beams , uneven stone floors , real fires , quirky rooms and old furniture then you'll love it. It has an excellent range of well kept beers and ciders along with fruit wines. In summer - or surprisingly warm November days - there are tables outside , a barn and an orchard to add to the setting. Dogs welcome and water dish provided!

We met old friends on a Sunday lunchtime and got a table inside without making a reservation - although I'd book if you are travelling any distance. Our food was good , freshly prepared and arrived promptly with a bowl of fresh vegetables and a smile. The menus are on the website and include several vegetarian choices - generous portions and reasonable prices.

I enjoyed it so much that I am already planning a winter's night return when it will be quieter and an even more traditional atmosphere will no doubt be in evidence.

Room Tip: There is only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flynn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bretforton
3.2 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
9.9 mi away
Redesdale Arms Hotel
Redesdale Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fleece Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fleece Inn

Property: The Fleece Inn
Address: The Cross | Bretforton, Bretforton WR11 7JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bretforton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bretforton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fleece Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fleece Inn is the perfect rural retreat just a stone's throw from the beautiful Cotswold's boasting roaring open fires for the winter months, open garden and apple orchard for the summer sun and a friendly welcome all year round. With real ales and traditional ciders aplenty this historical pub is a favourite with CAMRA members and the welcoming atmosphere and good food attract visitors from all over the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Fleece Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fleece Hotel Bretforton
The Fleece Inn Bretforton, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing