We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic peace and quiet in a national park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Forte de Sao Joao da Barra
Ranked #1 of 2 Cabanas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I first visited this fort when it was derelict and though 'what a great place to convert to a hotel, thankfully someone else had this idea and the result is a stunning mix of contemporary and historic. Cecilia, the manager is great, very warm and welcoming - I injured my knee on the second day and she couldn't have done more to help. We watched a chameleon walk across the terrace, flamingos fly past as well as a variety of other wildlife. The peace inside the fort is unbelievable, with only 10 rooms it isn't busy even when full. There are several very good restaurants in Cabanas, a few minutes walk and the Forte has its own boat to allow you to go to the main beach or explore the national park. Will definitely be going again. The only things I would say are that all the rooms could do with air conditioning and this may not be the place to stay if you have mobility problems.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

This old fort, has a perfect location.
We allways had breakfast at a balcony with a view to the Ria, in the morning the place was perfect.
The food was great, namely the orange juice and the croissants but allways the same, every day.
No expresso machine available.
Our room was at the old house, had a very good bathroom, no window, only a door to the garden, no air conditioning, an amaising old closet, the bed was average.
It's worth to go but overall a little expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TETE988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Forte is at it says, an Old Fortress, most of it has been reformed to a high standard, however, they have stumbled at the last hurdle with various furnishings from Ikea which is a great shame. Some rooms have lovely natural stone bathrooms but ours had basic white square tiles, glass square tiles, which again is a shame that they did not finish the refurb with consistency . The breakfast is basic but that is soon forgotten once you are sat with that amazing view. Pillows were like cardboard and the matress was about 10cm thick which was disappointing as the room was €200 per night. Definately worth a visit, with the restaurants nearby serving the freshest crab, langostines, oysters, prawns etc for absolutely no money, it felt like they had stood still in time for the last 30 years, but in a nice way :)) By the way, this is a bed and breakfast not much else going on there which suited us.

Room Tip: For authenticity book a room in the original buildings not in the new build.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PartyHardLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

One of the best places to have perfect holidays in the south of Portugal, is Tavira, a little town in the Algarve.
It's a really quiet place and at night there's always something in the streets to amuse the tourists, like little concerts.
Tavira has little traditional shops but a mall too where we can buy traditional pordutcs like sweets and things about the ocean, for example.
If you have kids, Tavira is a wonderful place with a lot of green places where you can walk and have fun with your kids.
By the river, there are a lot of restaurants with amazing, traditional food.
Tavira is perfect for relaxing, with a beautiful view and nice weather.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We have just spent 4 wonderful days ( sad to leave ) at this Oasis of peace and tranquility.On arrival from a 5 star Hotel it is a bit different but the whole place grows on you day by day. The views are spectacular the rooms very good ( suggest one of the new build rooms ) but be warned aside from breakfast your on your own in respect of food .We ate out a few times which was OK but we really enjoyed making our own meals ( simple ) and eating out on the varanda watching the sun go down.Cecelia who looks after the place is charming and nothing is too much trouble.I think we chose a quiet period ie the beach bars only open from June 1st but we jsut enjoyed the peace and quiet...go its stunning.

Room Tip: Go for the modern new build rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reginald8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel was beautiful provided us with a sunny, tranquil getaway! The rooms were very modern and clean, with an artistic twist. As soon as we got there we felt so relaxed, the grounds are large. We stayed in September 2011 and the weather was still lovely and hot, we were lucky to get the pool to ourselves many days. Whilst the pool is not large enough for laps, it is great for a recreational swim and I really enjoyed it! Our host Cecilia was very nice, and welcoming. There are plenty of Restaurants around, and the beach is a 2 minute boat road with the boats arriving every 5 minutes or so. We had such a brilliant and relaxing time, if you are after a relaxing beach holiday this is the one! Bring a small torch as entrance path a little bumpy/dark at night!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bellya80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Truly class in spectacular scenic property.
Portugal should be represented by this type of hotel.
Cecilia is great.She is simply great.
She prepared for us a gorgeous gin and tonic and i should say in a magic sunset wich gave us a endless moment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marado12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
2.4 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
899 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,103 reviews
6.7 mi away
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
Praia Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Marim
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
Robinson Club Quinta da Ria
#1 of 2 in Vila Nova de Cacela
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forte de Sao Joao da Barra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forte de Sao Joao da Barra

Address: Sitio da Fortaleza | Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabanas
Price Range: £154 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Forte de Sao Joao da Barra 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A guesthouse for nature-loving people. Set in the magical scenario of the Ria Formosa Natural Park and lost between sky and sea, this 17th-century fortress that is now a family owned B&B that welcomes nature-loving people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Forte de Sao Joao da Barra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte De Sao Joao Da Barra Hotel Cabanas De Tavira
Forte Algarve
Tavira Forte
Forte De Sao Joao Da Barra Cabanas, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing