We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great apartment and a great little village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Vista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
StephenBo...
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great apartment and a great little village”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

the apartment was everything we hoped for. Very well equipped with the most comfortable beds. The outside balcony (great for alfresco dining) and the roof top for sun bathing and great views make this a very desirable place to stay.
The village of Cabanas has many excellent restaurants, all within walking distance of the apartment. The bus to Travira and the train to Vila Real St Antonio mean you can leave the car and have an enjoyable lunch while quaffing the local wine!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyn D
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well-situated, spacious apartment”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We enjoyed 3 weeks relaxing in this very well appointed apartment. The views from the balcony were very good and the balcony was mostly sheltered from the wind so we were able to sit out quite a lot.

Cabanas itself is a pleasant resort and the beach on the island is wonderful. Being out of season we had it almost to ourselves and loved collecting shells for the grandchildren. We found it easy to travel by hire car around the Algarve and into Spain (we spent a night in Seville - only a couple of hours drive away) and also took the train into Faro.

Thank you to Jeff and Wendy who helped us settle in and quickly got a new microwave when the existing one wasn't working.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Mar 2016
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time at Ocean Vista. Cabanas and Tavira have a lot to offer but great to see that you also did some travelling around as well, by car and train. We often cycle to Vila Real de Santo Antonio and put the bikes on the train to get back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 16 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Have just returned from this delightful apartment in Cabanas. Probably the best Apartment my wife & I have ever stayed in.
On arriving we Instantly felt very at home. The apartment itself is bright, clean, beautifully fitted out & has a lovely balcony & sun terrace with good views out to sea.

We were picked up at the airport by a lovely lady called Wendy who showed us round & gave us a heads up on all the local places to eat , drink & obtain provisions etc..

Good places to eat & drink, lots of nice affordable restaurants & an absolutely charming sandy beach. ( Shame the bar was shut, but hey it's out of season ) at this time of year the beach is empty & unspoilt.

Thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and am definitely looking to return.

Thank you Martin, Wendy & all the rest of the guys who made our stay a truly fab week !!

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princessa...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Miss”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I had a truly delightful stay in the lovely village of Cabanas. The apartment was perfect, better than I had hoped. The pictures do not show the fabulous feel that the apartment has. I have stayed in many holiday apartments before, but never have I felt such a homely feel. The people who take care of the apartment were lovely and advised they were available at a moments notice if needed, not that they were as the apartment is beautifully maintained. The pool and amenities were also of a wonderful standard. Cabanas is so peaceful and quiet, and all residents reflected that in these apartments. This is the best holiday I have ever had in Portugal and I have been many times before. I have already booked to stay there again and cannot wait to go back. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley O
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment and Excellent Location”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Ocean Vista, it certain has everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. The apartment has all the home comforts you need, even though we ate out every night the kitchen comes with everything you need to eat in and the added benefit of a gas barbeque on the roof terrace.

With lovely views from the roof and the balcony, the apartment has a very spacious feel to it. We used the pool everyday and like the apartment this was very clean and to a very high standard. With other facilities such as a gym (which we did not use) a foosball and table tennis table, there's lots to keep you busy but if you just want to relax there are many sunbeds and parasols to relax in the sun.

Cabanas is a lovely place for a relaxing holiday with a large variety of restaurants to suit all needs and a beautiful clean beach.

I would definitely recommend Ocean Vista as a place to stay and will be returning in hopefully the not too distant future.

WARNING: Watch out for the cocktails at Quasi's, they are deceptively strong :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHM101
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a truly wonderful stay at Ocean Vista. The apartment is clean, modern and has everything you need whilst there.
The balcony has a great view over the pool and the roof terrace is perfect for enjoying a drink in the early evening sun.
The apartment is in a great location, close proximity to all the restaurants of Cabanas and just a short walk to the little boat that ferries you across to the beautiful beach.
We ate out every night as Cabanas has such a varied choice of restaurants (every meal was enjoyable) but having a supermarket just at the end of the road and a well stocked kitchen at the apartment gives you the option to do both.
The pool area was clean with plenty of sun beds and parasoles.
Overall, our holiday was very chilled and relaxation was the order of the day. Cabanas & the great apartment made this the perfect place to do just that!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed H
Belleville, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located apartment with great views”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have just returned from a six week stay in this apartment. It is a well equipped, comfortable "home". The location is great, only short walk to all the amenities of Cabanas, a delightful small non-touristy village. The weather was cool at times but blue skies and sunshine prevailed for most of the time we were there. Warm enough to sometimes sit on the balcony or down at the waterfront to enjoy a coffee or glass of wine. Conveniently situated for the local bus to Tavira and plenty of parking on the street. The new management team of Jeff and Wendy Gwilliam are excellent. Airport pickup and key arrangements worked well, minor hiccups with internet connection were resolved immediately.
Downsides: Both of which were advised by the owners before we booked.
Elevator not working so bit of a climb, but need the exercise after a great meal out at one of the local restaurants. A long winter stay with no TV we thought we could not survive, but with computer links and video player it was not missed. Thanks Martin for a great apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A light bright apartment with great views
Liked least: No elevator
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing