We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Is What It Is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Clube Cabanas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Clube Cabanas
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It Is What It Is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have just returned from a week's holiday at 'Golden Clube Cabanas' and I have to say first of all, that it isn't as bad as I have read on here. The hotel has free wifi in the reception and bar area and the drinks measures are exceptional (make sure you avoid the firewater if you don't want a burnt throat!). As for the evening entertainment, the Parrot Show we saw was fairly entertaining, if not a bit organised (not the hotel's fault). Due to the world cup being on that was the only event we saw, but according to other people the entertainment was good.
The service in the main bar was good, apart from the occasional unexplained closures with just a sign. The service in the pool bar was very slow, even with six staff working at once. That being said the bar staff were friendly and polite enough. However it was the reception staff, with one man in particular, were quite unhelpful, as they spoke barely any english. this was a reoccurring theme for most staff, who clearly need to learn more than just Portuguese/Spanish.
The room itself was fairly basic, which was too be expected. They really need modernising, especially the room my mother stayed in, which looked very Moroccan-esque. she suffered more problems than I, with the hot water not working on two occasions, no electricity one day, and even the boiler falling off the wall. yet these problems were dealt with on the day which was pleasing.
The only thing I was truly disappointed with was the food. The off-complex canteen offered just two choices for main evening meals, with the other options being the leftovers from lunch. This was a reoccurring theme, as some dishes went through various incarnations as something else, so you have to be careful with what you ate. They eventually put labels on the food, but did not include what the food contains, which led to a close encounter with eating peanuts - which I happen to be allergic to. they did offer to cook me another, but everything should be labelled as they could get into serious trouble if somebody falls ill.
If the canteen does not take your fancy, there is a selection of restaurants and a few bars down the promenade. there is also a selection of gift shops and one or two bars. The view is nice but it does seem very secluded. Head to Tavira if you want a more town-y experience as its a lovely little city only a short taxi/ bus ride away.
Overall then I would probably not come back here, not because it was bad, it was just not what I am looking for personally. Some people had a really great time, and others had a miserable time. If you go into it with low expectations you will enjoy yourself a lot more than if you have high hopes. It is what it is, so if you're looking for a quiet/ family getaway this is ideal - just enjoy yourself and don't worry about the imperfections too much!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    263
    195
    90
    62
See reviews for
262
342
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is very cheap and we were surprised at just how much you get. the food / drink is ..ok... ish but hey its all inclusive and theres always bread chips and salad if your a picky person... failing that the restaurants along the front are very nice and the food is so fresh in those....the town 'Cabanas' is beautiful, really nice and so clean! the boat trips are good value and the treasure island is well worth a visit. the room we got 'after making a fuss' with the jobsworth behind reception (who kept us for 3 hours waiting in lobby, 4 adults 1 baby) was out of this world. I mean 3 sofas, kettle, coffee machine, washing mashine, cooker, microwave, air con, 2 bathrooms (bath and shower) 1 ensuit.... Huge balcony .... I could go on... .like I said 4 adults and we were put in a maisonette. The only real negative is that we were in H block I think which is a long walk to the hotel/restaurant (well haha 5 mins? but after doing it 3 times a day for a week it gets longer I assure you ;) )
Really would recommend this hotel for a quiet break. train station is 15 mins walk too and takes you right across Portugal. Faro is worth a walk round and Alberfura has dolphins you can swim with hope I helped! =)

Room Tip: go for one of the apartments. theres an upgrade cost but you wont regret it =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just spent 5 days at this delightful little seaside town in southeast Portugal. Our accommodation in the reception building while clean was a somewhat dated and very much in need of a makeover. The staff however were fabulous, efficient and friendly a real credit to this complex. The newer accommodation is of a high standard. The leisure pool and adjacent swimming pool are of a high standard, with lot's of sunbeds many of which are little tired, didn't use the indoor pool so can't comment. The food is pretty standard fare but the restaurant is clean and well run although the self service can be a bit chaotic. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained although the seated terrace areas can get very crowded. The adjacent beach is stunningly beautiful and reached from the hotel by a short boat ride over a narrow river and 500 metre stroll through a conservation area. The beach has a limited number of sunbeds and parasols and only water available to buy. Access times to the beach are limited so some sensible planning is required for a day out with drinks food and shade, there is no natural shade, that said this a superb beach and must for a visit. Two sunbeds and a parasol will set you back 6 Euros for a morning, not sure about a full day rate. The town of Cabanas is a sleepy little gem with a mixture traditional Portuguese architecture and New build tourist accommodation. The timber promenade along the waterfront is great for an evening stroll with a good selection of bars a cafe's both on the front and pretty narrow backstreets all just a few minutes stroll from the complex. The beautiful town of Tavira is a 15 minute bus ride away just over 2Euros and well worth a visit. With a little redecorating to the reception building and some more imaginative cuisine this resort would be truly worthy of my 5stars. All in all I loved my stay in Cabanas and would definitely go back. One tip the mosquitos with close proximity to the river and adjacent wetlands can be a problem when the air is still, take good quality repellent and bite treatment. Nearby pharmacies can help you out here with good local advice.

Room Tip: Ask for G block and up for best accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IainJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived 18/062014.
We had a really lovely time at this hotel.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.
Room was fabulous clean airy really modern with TV, fridge, microwave, hob, all the utensils you need and even a coffee peculator.
The highlight for my self in the room was the modern air-con which we set on auto and left it all week at a perfect temperature.
It did say that the bedding was to be changed once a week (which wasn't a problem) but ours was changed every other day.
We stayed in G block which had no lift but stunning views of the pool, sea and the mountains to the north. It also had a nice pond at the back which you could hear the frogs singing at night but not in the room thanks to the double glazing.
Also not a cockroach in sight like some of the reviews we read before we went.
The food was very good might not be to every ones taste (we are in Portugal, not Blackpool) but plenty of choice and varied every day.
The entertainment was quite basic while we were there but it was still early in the season saying that to arrange a music quiz for about 6 different nationalities must be hard.
There was entertainment all day around the pool for both kids and adults.
We were there not for entertainment but to relax which was exactly what we did whether around the pool or on the beach via the free boat trip on to Cabanas Island which is really worth doing.
The all inclusive was the usual local fare but to tell the truth the local fare was really good, especially the local lager and obviously the Port.
There might not be a rep based in the Hotel but we had Hilde who visited twice a week but left a contact number and she was great organised a rental car almost half the price of the local company and we rang 11pm the night before leaving due to French air controllers strike and she got us all the info we needed so really couldn't fault her.
Over all for the money we paid we are very happy with the Hotel and local town which is a short walk away with quite a few bars and shops but not to busy or pushy.

Room Tip: Email before hand to ask for one of the new blocks G,P or Q. G is closest to most of the amenities o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our apartment was a little old and tired, but we had no intention of staying in it other than to shower and sleep.The view from our balcony was overlooking the Ria Formosa and the conservation area, so it was truly delightful to see all the wildlife and we regretted forgetting binoculars. My husband a mad keen fisherman caught plenty of fish, mainly sea bass, which were practically hurling themselves at him. Don't tell him that as he thinks it is a skill.
The hotel was fine for our needs and we were not disappointed for the price we payed for a 4 night stay. The food wasn't the best but again reflected the price - there was certainly something for everyone and it was very fresh. The pool areas got a little crowded and noisy.
There were a lot of children which we hadn't anticipated being off season but they were mainly
Portuguese and extremely nice and very well behaved in the restaurant and they had fun in the
pool areas and kids club which so they should. I think it would be great for families mainly.
It was a birthday present for my husband and it was a perfect choice and ticked all our boxes
anyway. Don't expect a 5 star for a 3 star price and you will be happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knaresborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Myself and 2 little girls,my friend and her 2 children stayed here for a week 8/4/14 to 15/4/14 all inclusive.The hotel is ok but has a really weird damp smell throughout especially in the very small rooms.The fire alarm went off several times late at night and nobody was told what was going on.The fire doors locked shut on our corridor and we had to force them open to get out of the building with our terrified children.The guy who works on the main desk (joaquim) was unbelievably rude and unhelpful.When we first got to our room there were only 2 single beds even though there were 3 of us and we had no electric.It took around 6 hours to get either sorted.My youngest daughter did'nt have a pillow for 4 days and we were told the towels only got changed once a week.After 3 days of soaking wet towels we took matters into our hands and found the cleaners trolley and liberated some.Our room was'nt cleaned the whole time we were there.The kitchenette was a cupboard and the fridge did'nt work which we complained about but Joaquim just shrugged his shoulders.The food in the resteraunt was quite nice but ran out on a daily basis.It was fairly quiet when we were there so i can't imagine what it would be like peak season.The swimming pool was ok but the bottom was falling to pieces and sections were roped off.The main bar was tiny and for some strange reason was in the main reception and there was'nt enough seats.Even though we were all inc.water was'nt provided and it's a hell of a walk to the nearest shops.The snacks are very limited,bowls of crips mid morning,and snacks in the resteraunt for 1 hour in the afternoon and on a first come first served basis.A lot of people went in with big bags and filled them.There was no entertainment on an evening at all and no where to go with kids so we walked along the sea front and sat at one of the lovely cafes for a few hours.I would never go here again and we left feeling angry and totally ripped off.

Room Tip: Don't go here.There are no good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nikkybKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabanas hotels

Downpatrick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What a disappointing stay.
We had asked for accommodation in one of the new blocks (following reviews on trip advisor}.
We were allocated one in the old block,actually antiquated would be a better description.We asked for a change of room on a few occasions but were only offered rooms in the same block. The corridors were what I would imagine a prison to look like and unfortunately on a few occasions there was an odour which was like cats pee. Bad Start. Not only did the room appear old and dark we were not impressed with the cleanliness. As others had stated, to get a towel change usually took a couple of trips to reception. Beds were very hard.
Meals were another issue. No matter how early we got there the flies beat us to it. The dining room was like a staff canteen. Meals were sometimes named, other times it was guess work. Because of the language barrier some staff had difficulty explaining what some of the dishes were. The salads were good.
The pool area was lovely, clean and plenty of sun beds.
I do not take pleasure in writing a bad report but if I had taken heed of some of the reviews I had read I would not have booked it. Unfortunately some of the reviews were good, these were from people in the newer blocks and on a self catering basis so they would not have had our experience.
Cabanas is a lovely village with some lovely restaurants.
A trip into Tavira was also very pleasant. Bus just outside hotel.

Room Tip: AVOID the older block where reception is. Great food in Vert In and Pizzeria in Cabanas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#3 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#2 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#5 of 15 in Tavira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
6.6 mi away
Eurotel Altura
Eurotel Altura
#1 of 4 in Altura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Clube Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Clube Cabanas

Property: Golden Clube Cabanas
Address: Golden Clube Cabanas | Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cabanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Clube Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portugal and the Algarve still have much to be discovered.Imagine an Algarve with pristine beaches, an ocean as far as the eye can see, and a simply amazing light.Imagine an Algarve with unspoilt locations, unmatched natural landscapes and a feeling of total tranquility - this is the Sotavento (Eastern Algarve).The Golden Clube Resort encompasses in one single location comfortable apartments, outside pools, indoor pool (heated October to May), jacuzzi, steam baths, sauna, tennis, gym, workout room, childrens clubs, restaurants, bars and plenty of entertainment.With the Ria Formosa embracing the Atlantic Ocean and a beach that stretches all the way to neighbouring Spain - what better place to have your holiday?Discover Portugal in a dream beach resort. Welcome to the Algarve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Golden Clube Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Club Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Golden Clube Cabanas Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing