We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brush up on skills on reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Club Cabanas
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brush up on skills on reception”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Lovely hotel, restaurant good, bar good, animation team excellent, kids club very good, pools very good and staff around the pool very attentive and efficient, apartments lovely, great location.
Hotel bedrooms need to be thrashed, they are in a desperate state and in need of total refurbish. Do not stay there.

The reception staff are most inflexible but in essence if you stay away from the desk you can get by nicely. They are not helpful but you don't need them, the Animation team and one or two of the lads that maintain the pool area have excellent English, and are most helpful with anything to do with the hotel facilities, or any activities around Cabanas/Tavira
Bar is poor in service, be sure not to be thirsty before you get there. When you do get to order order to cover for some time, they are not too friendly and you will have to wait for some time even if there is no one there.

Very good Animation team who work extremely hard, Simon in particular worthy of a mention, very friendly, children love him and he was just great, excellent English also and very helpful.

Room Tip: Definitely do not stay in the hotel rooms, they are in exceptionally poor repair, they are on the dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodlebug_604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    307
    208
    96
    66
See reviews for
306
379
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just came back , well where do i start , room bad , cleaners bad , canteen sorry resterant ??, and only one place to eat or you get charged ? , two very small bars , staff bad,
grounds very nice , entrtanment bad , walk to village ? walk up and down in 15min then thats it ?
the two bars ? both shut at 7 pm when pool shuts tthen opens again when they like, food only eat there one time at night would not go back again after that i could go on and on please dont stay there , if your a chav and have lots of kids great , had poeple crying want to move shouting to be moved , Only stayed there because of the good rev god noses what you poeple are used to am just a plumber and no axe to grind picture of the place when it was first build 20 years ago , no air con no english tv channels

Room Tip: DO not stay in D block they said that j block was very nice but did not see ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rjbplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cabanas hotels

Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have just returned from a week's holiday at 'Golden Clube Cabanas' and I have to say first of all, that it isn't as bad as I have read on here. The hotel has free wifi in the reception and bar area and the drinks measures are exceptional (make sure you avoid the firewater if you don't want a burnt throat!). As for the evening entertainment, the Parrot Show we saw was fairly entertaining, if not a bit organised (not the hotel's fault). Due to the world cup being on that was the only event we saw, but according to other people the entertainment was good.
The service in the main bar was good, apart from the occasional unexplained closures with just a sign. The service in the pool bar was very slow, even with six staff working at once. That being said the bar staff were friendly and polite enough. However it was the reception staff, with one man in particular, were quite unhelpful, as they spoke barely any english. this was a reoccurring theme for most staff, who clearly need to learn more than just Portuguese/Spanish.
The room itself was fairly basic, which was too be expected. They really need modernising, especially the room my mother stayed in, which looked very Moroccan-esque. she suffered more problems than I, with the hot water not working on two occasions, no electricity one day, and even the boiler falling off the wall. yet these problems were dealt with on the day which was pleasing.
The only thing I was truly disappointed with was the food. The off-complex canteen offered just two choices for main evening meals, with the other options being the leftovers from lunch. This was a reoccurring theme, as some dishes went through various incarnations as something else, so you have to be careful with what you ate. They eventually put labels on the food, but did not include what the food contains, which led to a close encounter with eating peanuts - which I happen to be allergic to. they did offer to cook me another, but everything should be labelled as they could get into serious trouble if somebody falls ill.
If the canteen does not take your fancy, there is a selection of restaurants and a few bars down the promenade. there is also a selection of gift shops and one or two bars. The view is nice but it does seem very secluded. Head to Tavira if you want a more town-y experience as its a lovely little city only a short taxi/ bus ride away.
Overall then I would probably not come back here, not because it was bad, it was just not what I am looking for personally. Some people had a really great time, and others had a miserable time. If you go into it with low expectations you will enjoy yourself a lot more than if you have high hopes. It is what it is, so if you're looking for a quiet/ family getaway this is ideal - just enjoy yourself and don't worry about the imperfections too much!

Room Tip: Don't get a room in the main block
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is very cheap and we were surprised at just how much you get. the food / drink is ..ok... ish but hey its all inclusive and theres always bread chips and salad if your a picky person... failing that the restaurants along the front are very nice and the food is so fresh in those....the town 'Cabanas' is beautiful, really nice and so clean! the boat trips are good value and the treasure island is well worth a visit. the room we got 'after making a fuss' with the jobsworth behind reception (who kept us for 3 hours waiting in lobby, 4 adults 1 baby) was out of this world. I mean 3 sofas, kettle, coffee machine, washing mashine, cooker, microwave, air con, 2 bathrooms (bath and shower) 1 ensuit.... Huge balcony .... I could go on... .like I said 4 adults and we were put in a maisonette. The only real negative is that we were in H block I think which is a long walk to the hotel/restaurant (well haha 5 mins? but after doing it 3 times a day for a week it gets longer I assure you ;) )
Really would recommend this hotel for a quiet break. train station is 15 mins walk too and takes you right across Portugal. Faro is worth a walk round and Alberfura has dolphins you can swim with hope I helped! =)

Room Tip: go for one of the apartments. theres an upgrade cost but you wont regret it =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Just spent 5 days at this delightful little seaside town in southeast Portugal. Our accommodation in the reception building while clean was a somewhat dated and very much in need of a makeover. The staff however were fabulous, efficient and friendly a real credit to this complex. The newer accommodation is of a high standard. The leisure pool and adjacent swimming pool are of a high standard, with lot's of sunbeds many of which are little tired, didn't use the indoor pool so can't comment. The food is pretty standard fare but the restaurant is clean and well run although the self service can be a bit chaotic. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained although the seated terrace areas can get very crowded. The adjacent beach is stunningly beautiful and reached from the hotel by a short boat ride over a narrow river and 500 metre stroll through a conservation area. The beach has a limited number of sunbeds and parasols and only water available to buy. Access times to the beach are limited so some sensible planning is required for a day out with drinks food and shade, there is no natural shade, that said this a superb beach and must for a visit. Two sunbeds and a parasol will set you back 6 Euros for a morning, not sure about a full day rate. The town of Cabanas is a sleepy little gem with a mixture traditional Portuguese architecture and New build tourist accommodation. The timber promenade along the waterfront is great for an evening stroll with a good selection of bars a cafe's both on the front and pretty narrow backstreets all just a few minutes stroll from the complex. The beautiful town of Tavira is a 15 minute bus ride away just over 2Euros and well worth a visit. With a little redecorating to the reception building and some more imaginative cuisine this resort would be truly worthy of my 5stars. All in all I loved my stay in Cabanas and would definitely go back. One tip the mosquitos with close proximity to the river and adjacent wetlands can be a problem when the air is still, take good quality repellent and bite treatment. Nearby pharmacies can help you out here with good local advice.

Room Tip: Ask for G block and up for best accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IainJ1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhondda Cynon Taff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We arrived 18/062014.
We had a really lovely time at this hotel.
The staff were really friendly and helpful.
Room was fabulous clean airy really modern with TV, fridge, microwave, hob, all the utensils you need and even a coffee peculator.
The highlight for my self in the room was the modern air-con which we set on auto and left it all week at a perfect temperature.
It did say that the bedding was to be changed once a week (which wasn't a problem) but ours was changed every other day.
We stayed in G block which had no lift but stunning views of the pool, sea and the mountains to the north. It also had a nice pond at the back which you could hear the frogs singing at night but not in the room thanks to the double glazing.
Also not a cockroach in sight like some of the reviews we read before we went.
The food was very good might not be to every ones taste (we are in Portugal, not Blackpool) but plenty of choice and varied every day.
The entertainment was quite basic while we were there but it was still early in the season saying that to arrange a music quiz for about 6 different nationalities must be hard.
There was entertainment all day around the pool for both kids and adults.
We were there not for entertainment but to relax which was exactly what we did whether around the pool or on the beach via the free boat trip on to Cabanas Island which is really worth doing.
The all inclusive was the usual local fare but to tell the truth the local fare was really good, especially the local lager and obviously the Port.
There might not be a rep based in the Hotel but we had Hilde who visited twice a week but left a contact number and she was great organised a rental car almost half the price of the local company and we rang 11pm the night before leaving due to French air controllers strike and she got us all the info we needed so really couldn't fault her.
Over all for the money we paid we are very happy with the Hotel and local town which is a short walk away with quite a few bars and shops but not to busy or pushy.

Room Tip: Email before hand to ask for one of the new blocks G,P or Q. G is closest to most of the amenities o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Our apartment was a little old and tired, but we had no intention of staying in it other than to shower and sleep.The view from our balcony was overlooking the Ria Formosa and the conservation area, so it was truly delightful to see all the wildlife and we regretted forgetting binoculars. My husband a mad keen fisherman caught plenty of fish, mainly sea bass, which were practically hurling themselves at him. Don't tell him that as he thinks it is a skill.
The hotel was fine for our needs and we were not disappointed for the price we payed for a 4 night stay. The food wasn't the best but again reflected the price - there was certainly something for everyone and it was very fresh. The pool areas got a little crowded and noisy.
There were a lot of children which we hadn't anticipated being off season but they were mainly
Portuguese and extremely nice and very well behaved in the restaurant and they had fun in the
pool areas and kids club which so they should. I think it would be great for families mainly.
It was a birthday present for my husband and it was a perfect choice and ticked all our boxes
anyway. Don't expect a 5 star for a 3 star price and you will be happy with this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
641 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#4 of 15 in Tavira
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,066 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
853 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Club Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Club Cabanas

Property: Golden Club Cabanas
Address: Golden Clube Cabanas | Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Cabanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Club Cabanas 2*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Club Cabanas is located on the waterfront, at the heart of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, close to the historical town of Tavira and to six golf courses, and 40 km away from the international airport of Faro. This is the best protected region in the Algarve, hosting the warmest bathing waters in Portugal. Our resort provides three swimming pools, sauna, Turkish baths, Jacuzzi, exercise room, beach volleyball and multisport courts, boat to the beach, restaurant, bars, Children’s Club, sports and evening entertainment. We offer a great base for walking, hiking, cycling and boat trips exploring the Eastern reaches of the Algarve, for active holidays in the midst of nature. Our holiday apartments include studios and 1-bedroom units, with a clean, simple and functional style. All have a veranda or terrace, a fully-equipped kitchen or kitchenette, air-conditioning and TV. Our restaurant provides a healthy, flavoursome and varied buffet (self-service) in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Club Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Club Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Golden Club Cabanas Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing