We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, good value for money”
Review of Pedras da Rainha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pedras da Rainha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful, good value for money”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This park is gorgeous! Very spacious and green, well kept, no highrise. The apartments are a bit basic, but have everything you need and are kept very clean. Great place if you want to get away from the crowd and get some rest. Supermarket nearby. You can rent bikes at the park - 50 euros for an entire week, no deposit necessary. The surroundings are wonderful and easy to explore via bike. Tip: cycle to Tavira - appr 15 min. through beautiful nature reserve Rio Formosa. First thing you see when entering Tavira is a new 3 story shopping mall (airco!) that includes a very large supermarket. Tavira itself is beautiful and worth a visit. Cabanas is small and quiet but friendly, well kept, and with enough restaurants to dine out at a different place each night.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    101
    51
    17
    4
See reviews for
95
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

This was our first visit to Portugal but after staying in Pedras da Rainha, we would definately go back! All of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and all spoke excellent English. We stayed half board and this was definately worth the money- we had 3 delicious courses every night and breakfast included a full English and continental options. I am not sure whether the table service which we were given (by waiters who were lovely, would try and accomodate any requests including making us a new batch of fruit salad because there was none left at the buffet and made mealtimes something to look forward to) was due to us going so late on in the season and I think at busier times, meals may be buffet style? The gardens which the apartments are set in are very well kept, colourful and pretty, the pool is large and clean with a kids pool aswell, there are numerous cocktail bars and 2 supermarkets a short walk from the complex, the traditionally decorated rooms are extremely well equipped (even though we were half board we still had a kettle, fridge, mini hob and microwave in our room) with large balconies or terraces overlooking the gardens and frequent cleaning service and there are a number of leisure facilities including tennis courts, volleyball pitch and boules green (there was a boules team on tour staying there at the same time as us). For a deposit of 20 euros, you are given the remotes for the tv and the air conditioning in the rooms (which was a godsend in the hot weather) and you get the money back when you return the remotes. It was about a 10 minute walk to the boat crossing for the beach but the boardwalk makes a nice walk (I would do this walk quite early on in the day because as it got hotter, the walk got harder). The boat crossing is free for hotel guests and they have their own boat which means we never had to wait. The beach is lovely and there was plenty of room. 2 sunbeds and a hut cost 12 euros to hire for the whole day, so we took advantage of those. Drinks at the complex's bar were very cheap- 3 euros for a large glass of wine and most cocktails in Cabanas bar were 5 euros. If you are after a lively holiday, I wouldn't recommend the area because there are no clubs etc and it isn't particularly touristy but it is perfect for a relaxing holiday. Tavira is nice for a day visit but I wouldn't say there was enough there to warrant numerous visits. Reception offers bike hire at very cheap prices and most people seemed to use this as a way to get around, especially with children to get to the boat crossing. We really enjoyed our week of great food, sunbathing and cheap wine and wish we had stayed for longer!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is the second time in two years we've stayed here and it's been excellent both times.
The accommodation is self catering apartments and villas of different sizes, all set in well kept gardens.
The facilities on site are very good. The reception are open 24/7 and are very helpful, and speak excellent English. There is a well kept pool, bowling green, tennis courts, something for kids (I don't have any so I don't know much about it!), and a bar/restaurant.
The town of Cabanas is only a few minutes walk away, and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars there.
The beach is on an island, and the ferry (small motorboat) runs frequently and is free for guests. The ferry point is a 10-15 minute amble but there is a free mini train thing provided for guests if you don't want to walk.
All in all, a lovely place to stay, probably more suited to couples and families. Very relaxing and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This is the second time in two years we've stayed here and it's been excellent both times.
The accommodation is self catering apartments and villas of different sizes, all set in well kept gardens.
The facilities on site are very good. The reception are open 24/7 and are very helpful, and speak excellent English. There is a well kept pool, bowling green, tennis courts, something for kids (I don't have any so I don't know much about it!), and a bar/restaurant.
The town of Cabanas is only a few minutes walk away, and there are plenty of good restaurants and bars there.
The beach is on an island, and the ferry (small motorboat) runs frequently and is free for guests. The ferry point is a 10-15 minute amble but there is a free mini train thing provided for guests if you don't want to walk.
All in all, a lovely place to stay, probably more suited to couples and families. Very relaxing and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was about the 7th time that my husband, my daughter and I have stayed at Pedras da Rhaina for our annual summer holiday. Once again this lived up to our expectations and proved to be the perfect choice for us. The beautiful grounds and the lovely relaxed atmosphere in the complex ensures that it is a place that we always love to return to. It was well maintained and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The appartment was wellequiped and had everything we needed. The whole experience there once again was a very enjoyable one and as always left us a little sad leaving there. We look forward to returning to this complex again for our next holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in Pedras da Rainha about 8 or 9 years ago and loved it but I was slightly nervous booking it for holidays this year as that length of time can change everything but it was still as lovely as I remembered it.

We were travelling with a 6 month old and requested ground floor accommodation which we got - it was one of the apartments at the front of the complex overlooking the pool. It was perfect for a baby as everything was on the flat & we could easily get the buggy in and out and also had no worries about steps while carrying him. They provided a beautifully made up travel cot. I had thought that maybe the bedroom would be very noisy as it was facing on to the road and there were parking spaces outside but it wasn't at all. Nor was the pool an issue, either noise wise or privacy wise when sitting on the terrace. Both might be an issue in the very busy months though, I'm not sure.

The apartment was spotless with loads of towels, blankets etc. The kitchen was very well equipped with lots of pots and pans, delph, cutlery etc. We didn't spend any time at the pool but it was quiet at this time of year, as you would expect...also cold!! We didn't eat there either, but the coffee at the poolside cafe was good. The staff were extremely helpful, allowing us to check out late so we had facility to make bottles etc. right up until we left for the airport. IT was also very comfortable and the mattresses seemed to be really decent quality and not the lumpy, thin things you can sometimes get!

The complex is really well laid out. Some of the properties look better maintained than others but overall the impression is very good. The flowers around the place are really spectacular. I know the pool probably gets very busy in high season but I would imagine that the complex never feels very crowded, even when very busy as it is very well laid out and there are lots of open spaces.

We would definitely go back! I would also recommend Cabanas in general for people looking for a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank olok11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We spent a week here and had a realy great time. Our accomodation was a studio apartment which was spotlessly clean, spacious and well equiped.

The pool area was well maintained. The resort which is made up of lots of 1&2 storey buildings well spread out comprising small villa's and apartments is predeominetly used by portugese, a lot of the accomadation is prively owned.

Reception staff were very helpful and had lots of usful info - bus times, maps of area, etc etc.

We walked into Tavira one morning along the cycle route (unfortunately past the sewage works for some of the way), which was not as well signposted as it should have been and took us slightly longer than it should becuase of a cuple of detours!

Cabanas it self is a quiet resort with some good restaurants and bars, but not a place for a folks looking for an exciting night life.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
632 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#11 of 15 in Tavira
111 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
822 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras da Rainha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras da Rainha

Property: Pedras da Rainha
Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras da Rainha 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small fishing village of Cabanas - Tavira, next to Ria Formosa, Pedras da Rainha is a known tourist complex of the Eastern Algarve. It offers a varied type of accommodation and large green areas, with apartments and villas (capacity of 2 to 8 people), equipped to provide a pleasant stay in a familiar and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pedras da Rainha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Hotel Tavira
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Tavira
Pedras Da Rainha Cabanas, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing