We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing in an unspoilt resort”
Review of Pedras da Rainha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pedras da Rainha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic family holiday here for 10 days. The large green, grassy and leafy park is immaculately maintained, very quiet and ideal for relaxation and families with young children, even in peak season.

All of the staff from the cleaners to the reception were very friendly and always helpful. The reservations team were very accommodating and met all requests we made for a quiet location, high chair etc. The accommodations are what I think of as 'Portuguese rustic'. Simple, but very clean, spacious and well equipped.

Very popular with families with a wide range of nationalities, and there were a lot of children but all families seemed well behaved with careful parents.

Cabanas is pleasantly under-developed with a seemingly equal mix of locals and tourist. A few shops and very pleasant and great value restaurants... Great if you prefer more genuine Portuguese food and family run restaurants rather than the typical tourist burgers and chips.

All heartily recommended...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank NeilLeiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have recently stayed in Pedras da Rainha Resort in Cabanas, Tavira and the experience was quite good. The apartments are very well equipped, (note that they are prepared for "accommodation only" stays, although the resort has a Restaurant for those who don´t want to prepare their meals), the furniture and the apartment itself are in very well conditions and it is cleaned in almost a daily basis.
The resort is very pleasant, with bright green and fresh gardens, the pool area is nice and clean, although it can be a bit crowded at the end of the day, and you can do a lot of outdoor activities such as tennis, bowling or bicycle rides. The resort is located in the center of the village (a calm and relaxing place in Algarve, not good if you are looking for nightlife) so you can easily go on foot to the piers (the beach is only accessible by small boats), but you can also use a small train that takes you to the pier in 2 or 3 minutes. A very good place to stay, if you have a family with small children.
The beach is huge and very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Myself and my friend styed in a small studio apartment.for 9 nights in early July. The village and beach of cabanas is lovely, very relaxing, beautiful reastaurants especially if you like fish and some nice bars. It is not a party town so maybe not for 20 somethings who are looking for the clubbing scene. if youre a family, couple or lloking for some tranquil relaxation I would recommend Cabanas.

pedras de rainha is a lovely area with low rise traditional bulidings, the decor is a little dated but the room was adequate for 2 people. we had a balcony/terrrace but unfortunately where we were there was not much of a view(no 87). The bathroom was big and there was a stand in shower in the bath with hot water always available. There were plenty of cutlery/pots/ plates etc but only a 2 ring cooker a toaster and a microwave so not great for cooking. Eating out is cheap in cabanas.

To get to the beach in Cabanas you have to take a little boat which takes about two minutes and then walk to the island. Pedras guests have tow boats they can get free of charge which run till 8pm. the beach is lovley, clear ocean, soft sand, no stones or shingle. The sun loungers and parasols are expensive..€15 for 2 for the day..however there is plenty of space for your own if ou dont wnat to fork out. The beach is a blue flag beach and is guarded. I loved it..the nicest beach Ive been on in Europe!

The resort is a great location for the restauarants, bars and the beach 5/10 minutes walk form everything but yet its very quiet at night. there is a Spar shop a few minutes walk away and a bus to Tavira across the road. (15 minutes away) The train staion is about a 15 minute walk and will take you to Faro or Villa San Antonio on the Spanish Border. The train staion is in the village of Conceiao..you buy the tickets on the train.

the staff in Pedras were very helpful, we even got a late checkout on the day we were leaving till 2 free of charge.There is a nice pool complex in the resort as well..we only used it on the last day but it was very nice and good for children.I would recommend Pedras..its not fancy..but its relaed and comfortable and great value. I will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank maggiemooDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in a studio for a week on a room only basis.The studio was basically equipped but as it was only to be used as a base was ideal for the 2 of us,If you wished to prepare meals then the 2 ring cooker may well present a challenge,although there are plenty of pots,pans,plates,cutlery etc one of the apartments may be a better choice to self cater.The room was cleaned and towels changed every day apart from on a Sunday .The air conditioning was very efficient and very welcome due to the hot weather.The complex is clean and tidy and well maintained and the staff were very pleasant.The pool area is very popular with families and when we stayed(12-19June)there were plenty of sunbeds available.We had a very relaxing week at the complex and would not hesitate to return to Pedras da Rainha and Cabanas

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank torquaykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I visited Pedras twice now, and both times had a wonderful stay. The park is amazing - lots of green, spacious, and plenty of privacy. The apartments are fairly basic, rustic even, but they are clean and do have a nice atmosphere. There is free WIFI around the restaurant and pool area. The service of the reception is really quite good. For example, I arrived early in the morning, but my room was ready and I could move straight in. Likewise, a late checkout on the day of departure was no problem and came at no extra costs. Pedras da Rainha is right in the middle of Cabanas, which means that shops, restaurants and the beach are all within easy walking distance. I recommend renting a bike while there - it's a wonderful bike ride to Tavira, only 15-20 minutes right through the nature reserve Ria Formosa. There are good bicycle routes along both the east and west coast, and it's a nice way to explore the area. Don't rent a bike from the shop next to the reception (very expensive) - go to one of the two newspapershops on the boulevard, they have good quality bikes that cost you 35 euros for an entire week.

Room Tip: The reception is very helpful - as long as the park isn't fully booked, they are very willing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

we hired four of the bungalows and all of our party were very pleased with the complex my brother had stayed there before and it was on his recommendation that we all booked none of us was disappointed our bungalow must have been owned private as the bathroom was finished to a much higher spec to the other three the others just having a shower over the bath and ours wonderful walk in shower which made the others seem dated
we found all of the staff very helpful and friendly and would not hesitate to go back very good value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harry209968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The apartments are nice, the staff are very friendly, we had lunch in a restaurant at the sea front and the food was great. The breakfast at the hotel was not very good, the orange juice was either orange squash or orange juice mixed with water, one slice of bacon, one fried egg and the bread rolls where very dry, one slice of tin pineapple, and half of tin peach. We paid for the breakfast for 4 days for 3 persons 24 euros per day.. on the last day we had full lovely breakfast somewhere else and it was lovely. The matresses in the beds very uncomfortable also.

Room Tip: We stayed in house No 153 ground floor and very easy to offload your suitcases with the parking jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 156Dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
1.2 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#5 of 15 in Tavira
399 reviews
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#7 of 15 in Tavira
1,119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#6 of 15 in Tavira
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#3 of 15 in Tavira
906 reviews
2.7 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras da Rainha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras da Rainha

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Price Range: £33 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras da Rainha 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small fishing village of Cabanas - Tavira, next to Ria Formosa, Pedras da Rainha is a known tourist complex of the Eastern Algarve. It offers a varied type of accommodation and large green areas, with apartments and villas (capacity of 2 to 8 people), equipped to provide a pleasant stay in a familiar and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedras da Rainha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Hotel Tavira
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Tavira
Pedras Da Rainha Cabanas, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing