We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa in a lovely location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Ria Formosa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Living room
Living room
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
BBQ
Balcony
River front (200m)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mrsblair8...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa in a lovely location.”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed from the 26th Aug to 5th sept, Fiona met us at the apartment and showed us around and how to use things. Overall look of the villa is lovely even better it has an intergrated garage to keep the car out of the sun. Anything we needed Fiona sorted immediately. Due to a member of our family being taken very ill, we were left feeling rather lost and confused with the Portuguese health system however Fiona and Eddie did everything possible to help us through the situation. I can't recommend this villa enough the actual place is lovely, big rooms a lovely pool and a secure feeling to it. I would definitely stay here again. Four adults and two children under 5 were in our party and we were more then comfortable. Anyone hesitating about this villa, don't! Just book it you won't regret it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CyclopsFa...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect villa in a perfect location”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

With two double bedrooms, two twin bedrooms and three bathrooms this villa comfortably accommodated our family holiday of eight ranging from age 11 to 70. We arranged transfers via the owners and had a very entertaining and informative trip from the airport. We were met by Fiona at the villa and had both her and Eddie's number if we needed anything. The villa is very well equipped, clean and well looked after. There is good air conditioning in the living/dining room and all bedrooms; providing a blissful retreat from the afternoon heat. Plug in mosquito repellent gadgets were also provided but we didn't need to use them. The pool is small but big enough to swim in and was very well used by all of us. Had to leave our inflatable unicorn behind - so have fun with that! The pool/terrace/barbecue area was very secluded with high walls. Although we could hear neighbouring families, we couldn't see each other so nice and private.
On a personal note, this villa and location is ideal if, like me, you have restricted mobility. There is a downstairs double bedroom with an adjoining shower room and the location is a very short walk to the shops, restaurants and beach taxi boats.
Although tempting to just chill out by the pool, the short (€1.50 return) trip across the lagoon to the beautiful beach is well worth it as the sea breeze means it is much cooler. We also took a boat trip to the pretty town of Tavira, returning by taxi at our leisure.
Cabanas is small but has everything you need for a relaxing, family friendly holiday. Probably not for you if you are after wild nightlife though.

We will definitely return to Cabanas and Casa Ria Formosa would be our first choice for accommodation.

Although pretty perfect, there are some minor issues that would make it absolutely perfect:

- The beds had waterproof mattress covers which made for a rather sweaty night despite the air con.
- although spare pillows were provided, there were no spare pillowcases
- Some spare outdoor chairs would be useful as there were only six in the outdoor dining area so we had to borrow the rather nice indoor ones.
- some general info re. use of things like the TV and the oven and other items around the villa would be useful
- some local information on cabanas or even a small map would be helpful for flinding local amenities e.g. shops, recycling etc.

Don't let any of that put you off though. We had a fantastic holiday and it was one of the best locations and accommodation any of us have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Over all quality and condition of the villa
Liked least: mattress protectors
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roro2015
Castledermot, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Our Second time to stay in this villa and we had another great 2 week holiday..We brought my mother in law this time and she loved the location...the villa is so well located so near to everything spar chemist and boats to the beach just around the corner and resturants all within a few minutes walk.. the villa is well maintained and has everthing a family would need. The pool was ample size for our group of 7 and it has a lovely outside seating area. Thanks to fiona and eddie for waiting with the keys on our late arrival..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion S
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectation”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely modern very well equiped villa. We expected a plunge pool but it was bigger than expected which was a bonus. We booked this villa due to its location (as we know the area). It is a few hundred yards from the beach, with a local well equipped Spar shop, bars and resturants and pharmacy, so no need for a car if you just want to relax. The position couldn't have been better.
There was air conditioning through out. The kitchen had a new washing machine and a dishwasher. The sitting room had a TV, plenty of books to borrow and a nice seating area.
For the ladies and some men, there is a hairdryer!
The local agent Eddie was English speaking and was there to meet us on arrival, left his phone number in case of problems. The kettle gave up the ghost and he replaced it the same day. Also a small problem with the pool but he had the pool people there the same day.
On the down side if we were being picky, advert says sleeps 10 realistically 8 adults and 2 cots although I didn't look to see if there was a sofa bed.
Also the plants were in a sorry state, 3 very dry dead plant pots on the patio, but I think this is really down to the pool people who describe themselves as pool and gardening services!
All in all an excellent stay, helped by superb weather!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and the Villa
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roro2015
Castledermot, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal villa so close to everything in cabanas”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this villa two years ago and had a great holiday with family and friends..It is so close to everything within a minute you were walking on the boardwalk with all the resturant's
shop's and boat to the beach..The villa is spacious, very clean and has everything in it that you would need for a perfect holiday..I would reccomend this villa to anyone who wants to be near everything to not have the hassle of driving and having your own pool is a bonus with young kids..looking forward to our return holiday this year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location near everything
Liked least: no complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie K
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing