We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and staff”
Review of Whistle Stop Cafe

Whistle Stop Cafe
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kinlochewe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Visited twice in 5 days while staying at the Caravan Club site just around the corner. Great menu and great cooking. Owner and staff very pleasant and helpful. Place is full of character and open throughout the day, but it advisable to book for the evening as it was full both evenings we were there and had to turn people away. Will visit again when we are in the area as I wanted to try the Haggis, Neeps and Tatties pie which had sold out. I hear from others that it is amazing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herdy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    39
    7
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The cafe looks a bit basic from the outside, although the fresh paint helps. But the charm is on the inside. Characters all, the staff and the food was not just better than expected (given the wriggly tin exterior), it was perfectly prepared, imaginative food. Be careful with the mocha it's a trap...you'll need a second one.

Prices are good and service was excellent. I would recommend this place to any and all passers by and if I lived close enough I would visit regularly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rogspogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gairloch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We will be back (again and again).”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Ready for a guilt-free lunch and not disappointed, the warmth of the wood stove was equalled by the warmth of the welcome. Service was cheerful, with just the right measure of attention.
Food was freshly cooked and worth waiting for. A veritable, veggie heaven-not the usual, Highland offering of macaroni cheese-but several choices, made it difficult to decide and behoves a return to try the other options. A tart of courgette ribbons, roasted cherry tomatoes, black olives and goat's cheese, on a bed of leaves was the perfect antidote to a 14 mile run in the rain. Hubby's steak sandwich replaced some of his spent calories, though he too was spoiled for choice and needs to go back to try the venison patties.
Couldn't manage a sweet, but surrounded by others enjoying huge, portions of strawberry gateaux, scones or cakes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Highlandlassie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Bring your own wine.”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We went there for dinner the week after Easter. The food was beautifully cooked and the menu interesting: vastly superior in quality to the nearby Torridon Inn. The service was friendly and efficient, the decor quirky but pleasant. It's unlicensed, but they only charge one pound corkage on a bottle of wine. Overall amazing value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Shame it was Only a Coffee”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

A real quirky and quaint little place. Had we not made plans to meet friends for lunch in Lochcarron we would have stayed for lunch as the menu looked great. The coffee and scone we had were excellent though. Great staff too. A place with a real homely vibe in the highlands.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pluto83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whistle Stop Cafe also viewed

Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
Shieldaig, Ross and Cromarty
 
Achnasheen, Ross and Cromarty
 
Poolewe, Ross and Cromarty
 

Been to Whistle Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing