We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent traditional pub and Food”
Review of Kinlochewe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinlochewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stopped here for a beer and a meal one evening recently whilst staying in nearby a Torridon. The owner has obviously worked hard on many aspects to make this pub restaurant and hotel such a delight to visit.

CAMERA real ale pub and full of Character well situated for enjoying the truly magnificent surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and for taking the time to share your experience here.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and the selection of Real Ales we have on offer - I hope you will come again - the beers change constantly and we often have some unusual guest ales on offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Kinlochewe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Myself and 5 guys stayed in the bunkhouse on Friday 23rd May to attend the Bealach Beag cycle race on the Saturday. The hotel is handily placed on the Achnasheen to Gairloch road and was easily found.
The bunkhouse consists of 1 room with 12 bunk beds and is shared by all, as is the bathroom and 2 electric showers. Own sleeping bags and towels were brought along and if anyone likes a nice high pillow then they need to bring one along too. Good enough place to get your head down and a laugh is guaranteed if you are with mates.
Had a nice meal in the hotel in the evening, lovely food and choice.
Had our own cereal, porridge and poached eggs in the morning, in the adjoining kitchen, with plenty plates and cutlery available. Washed up all our stuff before leaving.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Great to hear you had a good time taking part in the Bealach Beag challenge - will you be going for the more demanding Bealach Mhor event at the end of August, I wonder? Our 12 bed bunkhouse is very popular with many groups and individuals who come to this wonderful area to walk, climb, cycle, kayak, take part in the Celtman extreme triathlon ...etc. It can be great fun sharing stories of derring do with fellow bunkhouse users in the evenings. We really appreciate you leaving the bunkhouse clean and tidy too - thank you.

Maybe see you in August ??? (if you are coming do please phone us early to book a meal in the evening - it is a VERY busy weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a friendly owner operated hotel with great food, breakfast and especially dinner,, a friendly nice bar,,, in a great location near some of Scotland's greatest walks and scenery. Plenty of advice on where to go. within walking distance of hotel there are great places to explore. and within a short drive, cycle ride, or jog , you find the magnificent Loch Maree.
Rooms are simple , nothing luxurious, but comfortable place all the same. The dinner was really a surprise considering some of the less than great food we'd experienced in some highland hotels. Its mostly locally sourced, of high quality and well prepared.
we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrydeluxe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and, in particular, the food. We are very proud of the food we serve and try to take best advantage of the fantastic local produce we have on offer in the area. (Our chefs are pretty fantastic too!)
Thank you for reviewing us and sharing your comments with others. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Great friendly atmosphere staff very polite owner gail is a scream . Couldn't do enough to help us .rooms top class food is excellent will deffo be visiting again oh for the male visitors take lynnx africa deodorant lol gail loves the smell lol

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

So my secret is out ... I am easily swayed by nice smellies! ha ha !!!

Thank you for your lovely comments - I really enjoyed your visit too, it is good to have a laugh with fun-loving guests. We are so pleased to her you had a good time and enjoyed the rooms, the food and the atmosphere in general. We are lucky to have amazing staff who work hard to give guests an enjoyable experience.
We are looking forward to your return visit - hopefully soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A very comfortable and friendly small hotel. Excellent range of real ales.

My only comments is that, given that it is a magnet for serious hill-walkers, I might have preferred slightly simpler food, with larger portions, plus the opportunity to have breakfast earlier than 8am might have helped with some of the longer hill-walks in the area (e.g. Beinn Eighe), but these are minor points and just my personal preference.

A really good hotel with good food. I'd be happy to go back any time.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Matthew44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

What a lovely review - thank you. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel comfortable and friendly, and enjoyed the home-cooked food too. We are, as you probable know, members of CAMRA and appear in the Good Beer Guide - we enjoy being able to offer a range of good beers - with some unusual guest beers from time to time.

We try to offer a range of meal choices to cater for all our guests - and always have hearty soups and casseroles on offer as well as more adventurous dishes - all home cooked, of course.
We are happy to leave out a substantial continental breakfast for guests wanting to get out on the hills early - please do ask next time you visit and we will do what we can for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a review of the food only - we ate in the busy bar but didn't stay in the hotel. The menu is interesting, draws on local suppliers, who are named, and our choices were delicious,well cooked and nicely presented. It claims to be "Slow food" which means it is cooked to order and not pre-prepared and frozen. Although it was a busy bank holiday Sunday evening the kitchen coped well and the waiting staff were attentive. But they and we were frustrated by the fact that the bar became swamped trying to cope with competing demands - customers just in for drinks, drinks to the tables and even the totalling of the food bills and payment taking. It meant that for me the meal was less relaxed than it could have been.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Greylag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We are very lucky having great local produce and artisan suppliers who keep us well stocked with great ingredients - our chefs really enjoy creating dishes that showcase the wonderful meats, fish, shellfish etc. that we source but keeping it simple so the great tastes are what shine through.
It certainly was a busy evening when you were here - and of course the bar is open to drinkers as well as diners. If you are in that situation again we are happy to seat you through in our breakfast room which is much quieter - but does not have the buzz of our busy bar. If you are looking for peace and quiet perhaps that is the answer for you. If you are here again during a busy time, please just ask and we will happily arrange for you to sit through there .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed here after a days walking in Torridon. Our room was spacious and warm with a huge comfy bed. Lovely bath and shower. Ate in the bar and both enjoyed the special of the day which was a delicious beef casserole. A good selection of real ales and whiskies finished the job off well. Breakfast was tasty and cheerfully served.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to post your lovely review. Thank you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, the food, ale and whiskies. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochewe
16.4 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
337 reviews
8.8 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
205 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
212 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
166 reviews
15.9 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Price Range: £66 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinlochewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Hotel and bunkhouse with bar serving lunch and dinner to non residents. Open daily 12-11pm. Lunch 12-3. Dinner 6.30-8.30. Serving only freshly cooked locally sourced food. Dinner reservations advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kinlochewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing