We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the life-saving soup!”
Review of Kinlochewe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kinlochewe Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we rather overstretched ourselves walking up lots of Munros and camping over three days and arrived smelly and exhausted looking for food at 5.15pm. The food was not ready yet but we were duly booked in, given tea and spread our maps on a table in the bar until 6.30pm. We only managed starters and pudding but the soup was fantastic, the portion was enormous, it was hot, creamy and served with the most delicious home made potato bread. Will certainly be back for more food!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 339Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Those Munros are quite challenging, aren't they? As many of our guests are walkers and climbers we are well used to people arriving feeling rather dishevelled and weary.
We are so pleased to hear that the soup and pudding hit the spot and you enjoyed them. Our special potato bread rolls are baked for us by the artisan "Isle of Skye Bakery" (fondly know as Barry the Bun !) who produce some amazing, tasty bread and bakery items (well worth a visit if you are in Portree).

We look forward to your return visit - maybe you will manage a main course?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We were not guests at the hotel but we were staying in Kinlochewe and were keen to find somewhere to eat each of the 5 nights of our visit. We were extremely pleased to discover that our very well behaved 6 year old son and our quite well behaved 7 year old dog were both allowed into the hotel. We had a quick look at the menu and immediately thought, that's us sorted! My husband then went to ask about food for our son, he was 'promptly' told it's only what's on that menu. Taken aback by the brusque tone he asked, could you not make some chicken and chips? The reply was, we don't do chips, ok then, some potato? Alas, no, it was only the full menu on offer. We would love to have eaten there but then perhaps it was for the best, as a chef who cannot rustle up a small portion of pasta or some sausage and mash (I'm assuming sausages are served at breakfast) is perhaps not as capable as the menu suggests. I feel this unfriendly approach to children is a very narrow minded approach to hospitality as many children know exactly how to behave in a restaurant, often more so than the adults!

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank VMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

We would firstly like to point out that you actually asked our member of staff for "Chicken Nuggets" with chips - and we make absolutely NO apologies for not cooking, serving - or even having a chicken nugget on the premises!

The staff member who was on duty at the time of your visit was extremely upset by your comment that she was "brusque". Having worked with us for many years, she is one of the sweetest, most gentle, helpful, thoughtful and kindest people, i know and I have never known her to be anything other than utterly charming and obliging.. Your comment distressed her immensely.

We are more than happy to prepare, where possible, smaller portions of what we have on our quite extensive menu, including pasta, potato with home-made (we know what goes in it!) casserole/ fish/ chicken (real chicken, that is - not reconstituted mush) and much more. Our chef is extremely capable, and we resent your implication to the contrary. Her skills are evident in the delicious home-cooked dishes we serve – and acknowledged in the many fabulous comments and compliments she receives. In Kinlochewe Hotel, we embrace the "slow food" ethos and use the highest quality ingredients - locally sourced whenever possible, prepared, cooked and served with great care and pride.

We have never had a problem before not having a specific menu for children. In many places the "children's menu" consists of overly processed "fast food" – chicken nuggets, turkey twizzlers, pink sausages … we do not believe it appropriate that children should have to endure low quality junk food full of e-numbers and additives. Indeed only recently we had a delightful family eating with us several times during their holiday and the two young boys heartily tucked into fresh mussels, casseroles, salmon fillet etc.. It was a joy to see children enjoying “proper” food with such relish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June as part of the Celtman Extreme Triathlon weekend. The location was perfect for getting to Shieldaig, Torridon, Achnasheen and Gairloch, which are key points along the triathlon route. The scenery is amazing.
We had the double room with en-suite and it had everything we needed; lovely BIG bed, kettle, tea, coffee and biscuits that were re-stocked every day, bathroom with toiletries, massive fluffy white towels and lots of hot water. There was lots to choose from at Breakfast.
We ate twice in the restaurant and the food was delicious.
Would recommend this location for outdoorsy people who would appreciate the home comforts of the hotel at the end of a long day.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have their own bathroom - Room 8 has its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilySnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Wasn't that a great weekend? We really enjoy the Celtman event and there was a wonderful buzz around the area. We are very much in awe of all the competitors and their teams for the effort and dedication they put in to training and competing in extreme events such as this. It is set in such beautiful scenery and I hope that eases the pain somewhat!
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.I am sure the big beds and there being loads of hot water for everyone at the end of it all was very welcome. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food we serve too and appreciated the "home comforts" we try so hard to provide our guests with.
Thank you for sharing your views and, if you plan to compete again next year, do please book with us early as we do get very busy for these events.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have visited the hotel a few times before and really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and the friendly dogs (!). We had a late exit from the hill after an adventurous walk up Beinn Dearg in the Torridon range and were a little tired and threadbare by the time we reached the hotel. It was a little past 8.30pm (when we knew they stopped serving food) but we asked at the bar whether they could do anything for us. We were told they could provide us with a limited choice from the main menu. We were very thankful that the hotel was able to pull out the stops for us. We do understand that many people think that 8.30pm is early for last orders for food but most hill walkers want to get an early night after a day in the hills. Also it's not easy for kitchen staff to get home easily when the location is remote and, like the diners, they have family and social lives too.
The food was excellent and, pricewise, easily as good as any other food we tried at other establishments. Plus there was a great selection of beers and whiskys......
Thank you for accommodating my new husband and I at the last minute!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenny_orme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

You are very welcome - we are glad we could save the day! It's great that you enjoyed your meal and the Real Ales and whiskies - we have plenty of those to refresh tired walkers after a weary day on the hills.
We hope you will come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in June. We had a £75 economy room with separate Bathroom shared with one other room. The Victorian looking Bath I have only ever seen before in National Trust historic houses. It had a combined plug & overflow tube about 50 cm long. The surface of the Bath was very badly chipped The dormer roof/celing came very low over part of the Bath. There was no privacy through the window with the light on at night. The bed was fairly comfortable; the room rather small. Breakfast was very good with a wide choice. There was a large lounge on the Ground floor with many books available to read. No TVs anywhere; many people like the peace & quiet this affords. The Hotel seems to cater mainly for Walkers, climbers & Fishermen etc. We didn't see any children there. We didn't try the restaurant, which we thought a bit expensive; also the room. The location is wonderful for exploring the Highlands round about. On site parking is provided.

Room Tip: If you like more comfort, try the en-suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Soundsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you for taking the rime to post a review and we are pleased to hear that you liked the location, our comfortable lounge and the breakfasts.
We would like to point out that you chose to book one or our economy rooms which gives bed and breakfast for only £37.50 per person - a rate that is hard to beat even in a B&B establishment, let alone a quality hotel. You were made very aware that the room you booked shared a bathroom with another room.
The bath is, in fact, an original - and huge - Victorian bath with the original (albeit rather quirky!) plug. One of the downsides of the unusual metal-tube plug is that guests do have a tendency to drop it into the bath and cause the enamel to chip. We do repair this often and will do so again.The bath is huge and there is plenty of hot water for guests to enjoy a long, hot soak. Many regular guests specifically book this room BECAUSE of the large bath and have begged us not to get rid of it. So you cannot please all the people all the time - as ever!
The bathroom is not overlooked by any other rooms so I do not understand your concerns about lack of privacy. The only window that is nearby is from the owners flat and I can assure you that you cannot see in to the bathroom, even at night with the light on. Of course we take privacy seriously and there is no such issue here at all!
I find your comment regarding the fact that you did not try the restaurant because you thought it "looked expensive" rather sad., What a shame! I am sure you would have enjoyed the high quality local fish, seafood and meats all cooked on the premises. Yes, we could buy cheaper, lesser quality ingredients, or buy ready made meals from food companies - like many places who offer cheaper food - but we find that our discerning guests really enjoy the quality of the food we offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My Friends and I stayed for 2 nights in early June this year, using at as a base for hiking exploits in the Letterewe Wilderness. The hotel literature highlighted they were on a journey in terms of updating the hotel. We found the hotel to be really lovely. The rooms are comfortable, but as the journey suggests, in need of some upgrading here and there. We all had a good sleep in their quality beds and bedding which was a treat for our weary bones after a slog in the wilderness!! A really pleasant surprise was the attached bar and restaurant. The menu was well thought out and the food was very good, albeit a little more veg with the tatties would have been appreciated. The centre piece of the hotel is the large living room with comfy leather sofas and chairs where we sat each night chatting away to fellow guests and the landlady who is lovely. We would recommend the hotel for walkers and tourists alike and would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks for a good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

What a lovely review. Thank you.
It is always nice to hear positive comments and reactions to what we are doing with the hotel and the ambience we have created. As the majority of our guests are walkers, climbers, cyclists etc. we have concentrated on making the hotel as comfortable and "home from home" as possible. The comfy leather sofas are always a hit with guests who have had a tiring day and want good, home-cooked food and real ales then to relax in the lounge and chat to fellow guests.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Myself and a friend were staying in the bunkhouse for two nights , the bunkhouse consists of twelve beds in one room . On the first night we had a very uncomfortable sleep caused by a major amount of snoring !!!! The problem is that the room is very compact for the amount of beds . The other major problem was that the mattresses were past their sell by date a long time ago , the springs were nearly coming through the top of the mattresses . When you are a seasoned hill walker all you really care about is a good shower and a good sleep . The good points were that the beer was exceptional and the food was excellent and also what a great selection of whisky . The other little disappointment was the last orders at 10.50 !!!!! Which is very unusual. The kitchen in the bunkhouse had everything that you could want , I just feel the the owner is letting himself down by penny pinching by not replacing the mattresses .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikedevlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJStaddon, Owner at Kinlochewe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

**Please note that this review is for the budget BUNKHOUSE and NOT for the 3* hotel**

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinions of your stay in our budget bunkhouse accommodation.
First of all: I am asked to sort out many things - and can usually rise to the challenge but controlling snoring is one that has defeated me for 36 years of being married to someone who is known to have an occasional snore ! If only I could solve the problem, I am sure I would be very rich indeed. However, the best thing - and an essential item when staying in any shared accommodation - is EARPLUGS !! Absolutely vital equipment to my mind.

The bunkroom itself is actually quite spacious and far exceeds the requirements laid down by the regulatory bodies. We also provide a very well equipped kitchen, ample locker space, central heating, sports showers, toilets, washbasins and a drying room with dehumidifier - not bad for only £15.50 per person. We do have a rolling programme of upgrading the mattresses and have recently changed all the covers. You are the first person to comment about the mattresses being uncomfortable and we will certainly investigate and ask other bunkhouse users for their thoughts - but most people really appreciate the facility.

I am surprised that you would consider an 11pm closing time as being unusual - we are not in the city centre here! Most rural bars in the area close at 11pm (with last orders at 1045). On busy evenings we do stay open until midnight but, in general, most of our guests have been on the hills all day and have gone to bed well before then anyway! Kinlochewe is not exactly renowned for its bustling nightlife.

We are pleased, however, that hear that you found our food, beers and whiskies to your satisfaction - indeed "exceptional".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochewe
16.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
355 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
620 reviews
15.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
216 reviews
8.8 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
16.7 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinlochewe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinlochewe Hotel

Address: Garve | Wester Ross, Kinlochewe IV22 2PA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ross and Cromarty > Kinlochewe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochewe
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinlochewe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highland Hotel and bunkhouse with bar serving lunch and dinner to non residents. Open daily 12-11pm. Lunch 12-3. Dinner 6.30-8.30. Serving only freshly cooked locally sourced food. Dinner reservations advised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and LateRooms so you can book your Kinlochewe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinlochewe Hotel Torridon
Kinlochewe Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing